ADVERTISEMENT

Passion for ICT, from Quebec to Mexico (part four)

(Fourth part) The Infobourg tells you, over the months, the extraordinary adventure of two retirees from teaching who generously offer their time to share their ICT knowledge with the 15 school in Mayo, Mexico, within the framework of of an OLPC project.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

(Fourth part) The Infobourg tells you, over the months, the extraordinary adventure of two retirees from teaching who generously offer their time to share their ICT knowledge with the 15 school in Mayo, Mexico, within the framework of of an OLPC project.

On the occasion of their annual vacation in Mexico, Louise Le Bourdais and Guy Bergeron, education retirees and partners in life as well as in their passions, have in mind to bring an ICT project to life for young people from the school of Lo De Marcos thanks to the OLPC Foundation. Here is the fourth article in the series!

Read the first part ...

Read the second part ...

Read the third part ...

On November 24, 2010, Guy and Louise meet the teachers of the 15 de Mayo school. They will have about 30 minutes during recess to convince them to take part in the project with their class. The director, who has had little success so far, hopes this will help rally his staff to the cause.

When Guy and Louise arrived at school, no one was there to welcome them. Alfonso, the manager, had to be away, and they did not know the room assigned to the presentation. However, by talking to teachers crossed in the hallways, they managed to bring them together.

The ten teachers, a little reluctant at the beginning, finally showed themselves receptive to the project. At the start of the presentation, they felt like they had more work to do. Some of them already have a task shared between two schools, and the prospect of a new project did not delight them. Next step: get their availability for a first training.

First meeting with the teachers
© Guy Bergeron

In the days that follow, Guy installs the equipment for Internet access in the school. However, there remains a concern regarding theft. “There are regularly thefts that are committed in the school. I brought the necessary to lock them, but we are still worried. The principal's office is securely locked, but the thieves break in by sawing the bars on the windows. "

To their surprise, 6 out of 10 female teachers signed up for the OLPC project. The director is also interested. Some teachers could not register because they live in villages far from the school and it is difficult for them to come back for training.

Preparation for training
© Guy Bergeron

The training begins the following week, according to the schedule they have chosen, that is, Tuesdays and Thursdays from 4:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. The first official session was therefore held on December 7. Four teachers were absent, however ...

First step: open the XO. Before even starting the explanation, everyone had opened it and looked at the reception environment. “The director brought his two daughters, one of them in sixth grade, to the training. Her teacher was not registered for the class, so we told her that she would teach him how to use the XO in her class… With our help, of course! "

As the participants understood the explanations very quickly, the material provided was quickly exhausted. The session ended with a game that everyone seemed to enjoy. “This first class was so intense that we forgot to take pictures! "

“We believe this premiere was a success. The teachers were interested. There were even children in the windows (without glass) watching. They were very curious to see what was going on. We are therefore hopeful that these XOs will be used well in this primary school. "

Story to follow ...

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

La passion des TIC, du Québec au Mexique (quatrième partie)

(Quatrième partie) L’Infobourg vous raconte, au fil des mois, l’aventure extraordinaire de deux retraités de l’enseignement qui offrent généreusement leur temps pour partager leurs connaissances TIC avec l’école 15 de Mayo, au Mexique, dans le cadre d’un projet OLPC.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

(Quatrième partie) L’Infobourg vous raconte, au fil des mois, l’aventure extraordinaire de deux retraités de l’enseignement qui offrent généreusement leur temps pour partager leurs connaissances TIC avec l’école 15 de Mayo, au Mexique, dans le cadre d’un projet OLPC.

À l’occasion de leurs vacances annuelles au Mexique, Louise Le Bourdais et Guy Bergeron, retraités de l’éducation et partenaires dans la vie comme dans leurs passions, ont en tête de faire vivre un projet TIC aux jeunes de l’école de Lo De Marcos grâce à la Fondation OLPC. Voici le quatrième article de la série!

Lire la première partie…

Lire la deuxième partie…

Lire la troisième partie…

Le 24 novembre 2010, Guy et Louise rencontrent les enseignants de l’école 15 de Mayo. Ils disposeront d’une trentaine de minutes pendant la récréation pour les convaincre de prendre part au projet avec leur classe. Le directeur, qui a eu peu de succès jusqu’à présent, espère que cela permettra de rallier son personnel à la cause.

À l’arrivée de Guy et Louise à l’école, personne n’était là pour les accueillir. Alfonso, le directeur, avait dû s’absenter, et ils ne connaissaient pas le local assigné à la présentation. Néanmoins, en discutant avec des enseignants croisés dans les corridors, ils ont réussi à les rassembler.

Les dix enseignants, un peu réticents au début, se sont finalement montrés réceptifs au projet. Au début de la présentation, ils avaient l’impression de se faire ajouter du travail. Certains d’entre eux ont déjà une tâche partagée entre deux écoles, et la perspective d’un nouveau projet ne les enchantait guère.  Prochaine étape : obtenir leurs disponibilités pour une première formation.

Première rencontre avec les enseignants
© Guy Bergeron

Dans les jours qui suivent, Guy fait l’installation du matériel pour l’accès à Internet dans l’école. Il demeure cependant une préoccupation au niveau du vol. « Il y a régulièrement des vols qui sont commis dans l’école. J’ai apporté le nécessaire pour les verrouiller, mais nous sommes inquiets quand même. Le bureau du directeur est bien fermé à clé, mais les voleurs s’introduisent en sciant les barreaux aux fenêtres. »

À leur grande surprise, 6 enseignantes sur 10 s’inscrivent au projet OLPC. Le directeur est lui aussi intéressé. Quelques enseignants n’ont pas pu s’inscrire, car ils habitent dans des villages éloignés de l’école et c’est compliqué pour eux d’y revenir pour la formation.

Préparation de la formation
© Guy Bergeron

La formation commence la semaine suivante, selon l’horaire qu’ils ont choisi, soit les mardis et jeudis de 16h30 à 17h30. C’est donc le 7 décembre qu’a eu lieu la première séance officielle. Quatre enseignantes étaient cependant absentes…

Première étape : ouvrir le XO. Avant même de commencer l’explication, tout le monde l’avait ouvert et regardait l’environnement de l’accueil. « Le directeur a amené ses deux filles, dont une en sixième année, à la formation. Son enseignant n’étant pas inscrit au cours, nous lui avons dit que c’est elle lui enseignerait comment utiliser le XO dans sa classe… Avec notre aide, bien entendu! »

Les participants comprenant très rapidement les explications, la matière prévue a vite été épuisée. La séance s’est terminée avec un jeu que tous ont semblé apprécier. « Ce premier cours a été si intense que nous avons oublié de prendre des photos! »

« Nous croyons que cette première a été une réussite. Les enseignants étaient intéressés. Il y avait même des enfants dans les fenêtres (sans vitres) qui regardaient. Ils étaient bien curieux de voir ce qui se passait. Nous avons donc bon espoir que ces XO seront bien utilisés dans cette école primaire. »

Histoire à suivre…

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :