Reading as a gift: Who has read, will read!

The Literacy Foundation's Gift of Reading program is celebrating its 15th anniversary this year. The main activity, in November and December, consists in the purchase of new children's books intended for disadvantaged children in his region.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

The program Reading as a gift of the Literacy Foundation is celebrating its 15e anniversary. The main activity, in November and December, consists in the purchase of new children's books intended for disadvantaged children in his region.

The actress Marie Turgeon will act for an eighth year as spokesperson for the program.

This concept calls for the responsibility of adults in the discovery of books and reading in children, from an early age. By endorsing this cause, they help transmit the magic of reading to children living in families where the connection to books is often non-existent. The Foundation is betting that a child introduced to the pleasure of reading early will later become an enthusiastic reader!

Book donations can be made in November and December at any of the 145 bookstores and 100 libraries participants across Quebec. You can ask for the donation kit Reading as a gift and use the bookmark included in it to write a personalized word of encouragement to the child who will receive the book.

For full details, see lalectureencadeau.org.

You can also download and display the poster in your community.

The testimony of a teacher

“I have a student who has great difficulty reading. Despite the fact that she is finishing her second year, her reading level is that of a first year student. She received a funny mini-novel from Reading as a gift. I thought then that she would not be able to read it. She came to see me the next day with shining little eyes, to share with me her joy at having read the first two pages alone. After that, she would come to see me every day to share the story or to ask me for help with a word. She managed to read her entire book, which I didn't think was possible for her. Having a book that belongs to her motivated her a lot to persevere in reading it! Thank you for this moving moment! »JL, teacher at the school Louis-Joseph-Martel.

 

Did you know that… A program born out of the 1998 ice storm

Reading as a gift was born during the famous ice storm of 1998. Seeking a way to allow the public to make an annual gesture to reach the target audience of the Foundation, Sophie Labrecque, then President and CEO, had the original idea of the program , in collaboration with teacher friends. So far, more than 323,000 children and their families have benefited from the program.

 

Source: press release from the organization

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

La lecture en cadeau : Qui a lu, lira!

Le programme La lecture en cadeau de la Fondation pour l'alphabétisation célèbre cette année son 15e anniversaire. L’activité principale, en novembre et décembre, consiste en l’achat de livres jeunesse neufs destinés aux enfants défavorisés de sa région.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Le programme La lecture en cadeau de la Fondation pour l’alphabétisation célèbre cette année son 15e anniversaire. L’activité principale, en novembre et décembre, consiste en l’achat de livres jeunesse neufs destinés aux enfants défavorisés de sa région.

La comédienne Marie Turgeon agira pour une huitième année comme porte-parole du programme.

Ce concept fait appel à la responsabilité des adultes dans la découverte du livre et de la lecture chez les enfants, et ce, dès le plus jeune âge. En endossant cette cause, ils contribuent à transmettre la magie de la lecture à des enfants vivant dans des familles où le rapport aux livres est bien souvent inexistant. La Fondation fait le pari qu’un enfant initié tôt au plaisir de la lecture deviendra plus tard un lecteur enthousiaste!

Les dons de livres peuvent être faits en novembre et décembre dans l’une des 145 librairies et 100 bibliothèques participantes à travers le Québec. On peut y demander la trousse de don de La lecture en cadeau et utiliser le signet inclus dans cette dernière pour rédiger un mot d’encouragement personnalisé à l’enfant qui recevra le livre.

Pour tous les détails, consultez lalectureencadeau.org.

Vous pouvez aussi télécharger et afficher le poster dans votre milieu.

Le témoignage d’une enseignante

« J’ai une élève qui éprouve de grandes difficultés en lecture. Malgré le fait qu’elle termine sa deuxième année, son niveau de lecture est celui d’une élève de première année. Elle a reçu un miniroman rigolo de La lecture en cadeau. J’ai cru alors qu’elle ne réussirait pas à le lire. Elle est venue me voir le lendemain les petits yeux brillants, pour me partager sa joie d’avoir lu les deux premières pages toute seule. Par la suite, elle venait me voir tous les jours pour partager l’histoire ou pour me demander de l’aide avec un mot. Elle a réussi à lire tout son livre, chose que je ne croyais pas possible pour elle. Le fait d’avoir un livre qui lui appartient l’a beaucoup motivée à persévérer dans sa lecture! Merci pour ce moment émouvant! » J. L., enseignante à l’école Louis-Joseph-Martel.

 

Saviez-vous que… Un programme né de la crise du verglas de 1998

La lecture en cadeau est née lors de la fameuse tempête de verglas de 1998. Cherchant un moyen de permettre au public de poser annuellement un geste pour atteindre le public cible de la Fondation, Sophie Labrecque, alors présidente-directrice générale, a eu l’idée originale du programme, en collaboration avec des amis enseignants. Jusqu’à présent, plus de 323 000 enfants et leur famille ont pu bénéficier du programme.

 

Source : communiqué de l’organisme

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :