ADVERTISEMENT

Teacher training in Finland: a unique system

We discuss teacher training in Finland and the Future Classroom Lab project, which aims to rethink learning environments, with Sampo Forsström.

You might also like:

We discuss teacher training in Finland and the project Future Classroom Lab, which aims to rethink learning environments, with Sampo Forsström.

Sampo Forsström taught for 20 years with young people and adults, then worked in teacher training at Eastern-Finland University. Today he is responsible for teacher training schools (teacher training schools).

What are training schools?

Much like university hospitals for medical students, teacher training schools are institutions affiliated with university education departments with which they collaborate closely. Future teachers, both classroom teachers and subject teachers, complete three of the four compulsory internships in their academic career, including the final internship which emphasizes the role of the teacher as searcher. In Finland all teachers have a master's degree in education and a large number even go on to doctorate.

We are never ready, we are learning every day. In Finland, it is possible for teachers to continue their studies in various fields of education, while working in the classroom. "- Sampo Forsström

Future Classroom Lab: towards new learning environments

Sampo Forsström is ambassador to Finland for the project Future Classroom Lab, a European initiative that emerged in Brussels in 2012 and whose aim is to improve learning environments, in particular with the integration of information and communication technologies. It does this by organizing workshops and seminars and by mobilizing decision-makers, members of the European Commission and educational experts.

The strengths and challenges of the Finnish education system

In this interview, Sampo Forsström explains that he is always looking for ways to share Finland's expertise in education but also to learn from different networks around the world. Even if it is internationally recognized, the Finnish education system is also facing challenges, such as that of adapting to the cultural diversity which increasingly marks schools. Sampo Forsström also emphasizes the importance of circle of trust in Finland which facilitates the integration of changes in education, as was the case with the new curriculum.

We invite you to listen this podcast to find out more about the education system and teacher training in Finland.

Click here to listen to the podcast. Good listening!

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

La formation des enseignants en Finlande : un système unique

On discute de la formation des enseignants en Finlande et du projet Future Classroom Lab, qui vise à repenser les environnements d’apprentissage, avec Sampo Forsström.

Sampo Forsström a enseigné pendant 20 ans auprès des jeunes et des adultes, puis œuvré en formation des maîtres du côté de l’Université Eastern-Finland. Aujourd’hui, il est responsable des écoles de formation des enseignants (teacher training schools).

Qu’est-ce que les écoles de formation?

Un peu comme les hôpitaux universitaires pour les étudiants en médecine, les écoles de formation des enseignants sont des établissements affiliés aux départements d’éducation des universités avec lesquels elles collaborent étroitement. Les futurs enseignants, autant les titulaires (classroom teachers) que les enseignants du secondaire (subject teachers), y réalisent trois des quatre stages obligatoires à leur parcours académique, dont le stage final qui met l’emphase sur le rôle de l’enseignant comme chercheur. En Finlande, tous les enseignants détiennent une maîtrise en éducation et un grand nombre d’entre eux poursuivent même jusqu’au doctorat.

« Nous ne sommes jamais prêts, nous apprenons chaque jour. En Finlande, il est possible pour les enseignants de poursuivre leurs études dans des domaines variés de l’éducation, et ce tout en travaillant en salle de classe » – Sampo Forsström

Future Classroom Lab : vers de nouveaux environnements d’apprentissage

Sampo Forsström est ambassadeur en Finlande pour le projet Future Classroom Lab, une initiative européenne ayant émergé à Bruxelles en 2012 et dont le but est d’améliorer les environnements d’apprentissage, notamment avec l’intégration des technologies de l’information et des communications. Elle le fait en organisant des ateliers et séminaires et en mobilisant les décideurs, les membres de la Commission européenne et les experts éducatifs.

Les forces et les défis du système éducatif finlandais

Dans cette entrevue, Sampo Forsström explique qu’il est toujours à la recherche de moyens pour partager l’expertise de la Finlande en éducation mais également pour apprendre des différents réseaux à travers le monde. Même s’il est reconnu internationalement, le système éducatif finlandais fait lui aussi face à des défis, comme celui de s’adapter à la diversité culturelle qui marque de plus en plus les milieux scolaires. Sampo Forsström souligne également l’importance du cercle de confiance en Finlande qui facilite l’intégration de changements en éducation, comme ce fut le cas avec le nouveau curriculum.

On vous invite à écouter ce balado afin d’en découvrir plus sur le système éducatif et sur la formation des maîtres en Finlande.

Cliquez ici pour écouter le balado. Bonne écoute!


Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :



Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction au Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédago-numériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et a traduit quatre ouvrages en technologie de l'éducation chez le même éditeur. Il collabore également à L’École branchée et blogue (magirard.com) sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.