security

Cybersecurity: avenues and resources to understand and explain it

October is Cyber Security Awareness Month. This is a great opportunity to demystify the theme in order to be able to tackle it in class with the students. As a teacher, you first have to grasp the subtleties before you can explain it. We discussed it with educational advisor Julie April, from RÉCIT. 

Safer Internet Day - February 7, 2017

On this World Safer Internet Day, the Canadian Center for Child Protection (CCPE) is launching a new free resource to help parents talk about online safety with their children.

A drone to inspect from above

Drones are now part of our aerial landscape. Let's take a closer look at why this new type of aircraft worries the population in certain situations.

Social media lures and scams

Recently, columnist Patrick Lagacé announced that he had been deceived by one of his contacts on Facebook. The life of her friend Kim Laurin was invented from scratch. Let's find out about the different types of scams that social media has in store for us.

Attacks in Canada

Tragic events have claimed the lives of two Canadian servicemen in recent days. Let's see what happened and how the media dealt with these attacks.

Celebrities have their intimate photos hacked

A few days ago, private photos of naked celebrities were stolen and then posted on the internet. Let's see why such an event happened and how to avoid such situations.

The United States and guns: a debate dating back to the constitution

Following Newton's massacre last December, in addition to other cases of fatal shootings in the country, the President of the United States is proposing a plan for better gun control. However, he faces an obstacle: the right to own such a weapon is enshrined in the American Constitution ...

Companies join forces to protect children

On average, young Europeans start using the Internet at the age of seven. Despite the minimum age required to register for social networks, 38 % young people aged 9 to 12 admit to having such a profile. At the invitation of the European Commission, a coalition of 28 companies was set up to “better adapt the internet to the needs of children and make it safer”.

Danger of the Internet: parents don't talk much about it

About 80 % of parents believe that the Internet can be a source of danger when it comes to the sexual exploitation of children. However, less than 50 % address the issue with their children, according to a survey unveiled yesterday by the Marie-Vincent Foundation and Cyberaide.ca.

European agency ENISA wants to tackle cyberbullying and "grooming"

Different digital devices and the pervasiveness of the Internet in children's lives mean that they "live their lives online in both private and educational contexts." This is not without risk and ENISA, the European Network and Information Security Agency, has just published a report offering recommendations against cyberbullying and online grooming.

sécurité

La cybersécurité : pistes et ressources pour la comprendre et l’expliquer

Octobre est le mois de la sensibilisation à la cybersécurité. Il s’agit d’une belle occasion de démystifier la thématique afin de pouvoir l’aborder en classe avec les élèves. Comme enseignant, il faut d’abord en saisir les subtilités avant de pouvoir l’expliquer. Nous en avons discuté avec la conseillère pédagogique Julie April, du RÉCIT. 

Journée pour un Internet plus sûr – 7 février 2017

En cette Journée mondiale pour un Internet plus sûr, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) lance une nouvelle ressource gratuite pour aider les parents à parler de sécurité en ligne avec leurs enfants.

Un drone pour inspecter du haut des airs

Les drones font désormais partie de notre paysage aérien. Allons voir de plus près pourquoi ce nouveau type d’aéronef inquiète la population dans certaines situations.

Leurres et escroqueries sur les médias sociaux

Récemment, le chroniqueur Patrick Lagacé annonçait s’être fait leurrer par un de ses contacts sur Facebook. La vie de son amie Kim Laurin était inventée de toutes pièces. Découvrons les différents types d’escroquerie que nous réservent les médias sociaux.

Attentats au Canada

De tragiques événements ont coûté la vie à deux militaires canadiens au cours des derniers jours. Voyons ce qui s’est passé et de quelle façon les médias ont traité ces attentats.

Des vedettes se font pirater leurs photos intimes

Il y a quelques jours, des photos privées de célébrités dénudées ont été volées puis publiées sur Internet. Voyons pourquoi un tel événement est survenu et comment éviter de telles situations.

Les Etats-Unis et les armes à feu : un débat qui remonte à la constitution

Suite à la tuerie de Newton en décembre dernier, en plus des autres cas de fusillades mortelles au pays, le président des Etats-Unis propose un plan pour mieux contrôler les armes à feu. Il fait cependant face à un obstacle : le droit de posséder une telle arme est inscrit dans la Constitution américaine…

Des entreprises s’allient pour protéger les enfants

En moyenne, les jeunes Européens commencent à utiliser Internet à sept ans. Malgré le minimum d’âge requis pour l’inscription aux réseaux sociaux, 38 % des jeunes de 9 à 12 ans avouent avoir un tel profil. À l’invitation de la Commission européenne, une coalition réunissant 28 entreprises a été mise sur pied afin de « mieux adapter l’internet aux besoins des enfants et le rendre plus sûr ».

Danger de l’Internet : les parents en parlent peu

Environ 80 % des parents estiment qu’Internet peut être une source de danger en matière d’exploitation sexuelle des enfants. Pourtant, moins de 50 % abordent la question avec leurs enfants, selon un sondage dévoilé hier par la Fondation Marie-Vincent et Cyberaide.ca.

L’agence européenne ENISA veut s’attaquer à la cyberintimidation et au « grooming »

Les différents appareils numériques et l’omniprésence d’Internet dans la vie des enfants font en sorte qu’ils « mènent leur vie en ligne dans des contextes à la fois privé et éducationnel ». Cela n’est pas sans risque et l’ENISA, l’Agence européenne de la sécurité des réseaux et de l’information, vient de publier un rapport proposant des recommandations contre la cyberintimidation et le « grooming » en ligne.