ADVERTISEMENT

Artistic creation, at the heart of my writing workshop

A French teacher tells us about her class project produced with the agreement of the American painter Laurel Holloman.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

by Marie Soulie, French teacher and trainer in active and digital educational pedagogy

I have been a French teacher at the Daniel Argote college in Orthez for about ten years. I imagined an annual project around the paintings of the American painter Laurel Holloman. This artist lives in Los Angeles, and creates very colorful, large-format, abstract works, suggesting movement and elements (water, sky, fire…).

With the permission of the artist, I presented his creations at the beginning of the year to the 6th year students, who welcomed them with enthusiasm. The imagination revived by the colors and the movements will, in my opinion, allow them to give free rein to their creativity.

It is by taking advantage of this enthusiasm that I materialize a weekly writing workshop project. I am arranging (dimmed lights, classical music, etc.) the classroom that I occupy, initially limited to 20 people, to accommodate a group of students made up of young people from 5th and 6th grade. 

The stated objective is to create a virtual museum, inspired by the works of the American artist. 

So that the pupils “appropriate” them, they are invited first of all to give a name to each of the paintings presented, without knowing the original title, of course! Next, we created a "word wall" (data wall) grouping together in the form of "Post-it », The terms inspired by their feelings in front of the paintings. The students use this collective resource to construct a poem, dedicated to each of the works. Individually or in groups, they associate with painting, in addition to their poetry, music and a video that they create from scratch with digital tools.

The museum thus presented shows the obvious pleasure of children in creating a universe combining music, video, poetry and painting. This first step allows students to activate their creative capacity. 

I admit that I am delighted to lead this project because I am absolutely proud of the creations offered. Having the artist's approval and support is obviously incredibly empowering for the whole group. I also think that the eyes of children who do not yet have a great artistic culture are "pure". They dare and enter into the works without complex, and it is perhaps this spontaneity and this frankness that an artist seeks in particular. I see a reciprocal contribution between the adult and the students, good ideas are not reserved for one or the others.

In the second term, the writing of a fantastic short story will concentrate the energy of these young creators, with an original script adopted by the students:

An art lover loses the use of color recognition. His visit to an exhibition of Laurel Holloman upsets him, and will lead him to adventures that will allow him to recover colored vision. 

Collective work in a padlet will allow everyone to exercise their capacity for writing and collaboration. Also, the pupils will have to use tolerance, effort to understand the other, and finally negotiation to arrive at the collective work which could be printed. To be continued!

As for the American artist, how does she view this work? She admits a strong emotion, in particular considering the uncluttered look of the children on the pictorial work. The spontaneity of their reactions, the agreement between their feelings and what she initially wanted to express enthusiasm. The “digital manipulation” of her works does not shock her. She sees it as a way for students to understand and experience emotions through abstract art. 

Would an artistic wave cross the Atlantic, without fear of any virus, except perhaps that of artistic creation which does not seem to be reserved only for professionals?


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
12- Innovate and be creative with digital technology

To see the Framework.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Classé dans :

La création artistique, au coeur de mon atelier d’écriture

Une enseignante française nous parle de son projet de classe réalisé avec l'accord de la peintre américaine Laurel Holloman.
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

par Marie Soulie, professeure de français et formatrice en pédagogie active et numérique éducatif

Je suis professeure de français au collège Daniel Argote à Orthez depuis une dizaine d’années. J’ai imaginé un projet annuel autour des tableaux de la peintre américaine Laurel Holloman. Cette artiste vit à Los Angeles, et crée des œuvres très colorées, de grands formats, abstraites, suggérant le mouvement et les éléments (eau, ciel, feu…).

Avec l’accord de l’artiste, j’ai présenté ses créations en début d’année aux élèves de 6e, qui les accueillirent avec enthousiasme. L’imagination avivée par les couleurs et les mouvements va, selon moi, leur permettre de laisser libre cours à leur créativité.

C’est en profitant de cet engouement que je concrétise un projet d’atelier d’écriture hebdomadaire. J’aménage (lumières atténuées, musique classique…) quelque peu la salle de cours que j’occupe, initialement limitée à 20 personnes, pour recevoir un groupe d’élèves constitué de jeunes de 5e et de 6e. 

L’objectif énoncé est de créer un musée virtuel, inspiré par les œuvres de l’artiste américaine. 

Pour que les élèves se les « approprient », ils sont invités tout d’abord à donner un nom à chacune des toiles présentées, sans connaître le titre original, naturellement! Ensuite, nous avons créé un « mur de mots » (data wall) regroupant sous forme de « Post-it », les termes inspirés par leurs ressentis face aux toiles. Les élèves utilisent cette ressource collective pour construire un poème, dédié à chacune des œuvres. Individuellement ou en groupes, ils associent à la peinture, outre leur poésie, une musique et une vidéo qu’ils créent de toutes pièces avec des outils numériques.

Le musée ainsi présenté montre le plaisir évident des enfants à créer un univers conjuguant musique, vidéo, poésie et peinture. Cette première étape permet aux élèves d’activer leur capacité de création. 

J’avoue que je suis ravie de mener ce projet car je suis absolument fière des créations proposées. Le fait d’avoir l’approbation de l’artiste et son soutien est évidemment incroyablement stimulant pour l’ensemble du groupe. Je pense également que le regard des enfants qui n’ont pas encore une grande culture artistique est « pur ». Ils osent et entrent dans les œuvres sans complexe, et c’est peut-être cette spontanéité et cette franchise que recherche notamment un artiste. Je constate un apport réciproque entre l’adulte et les élèves, les bonnes idées n’étant pas réservées à l’une ou aux autres.

Au second trimestre, l’écriture d’une nouvelle fantastique concentrera l’énergie de ces jeunes créateurs, avec un scénario original adopté par les élèves :

Un amoureux d’art perd l’usage de reconnaissance des couleurs. Sa visite à une exposition de Laurel Holloman le bouleverse, et l’entraînera vers des aventures qui lui permettront de recouvrer la vision colorée. 

Un travail collectif dans un padlet permettra à tous d’exercer leur capacité d’écriture, de collaboration. Aussi, les élèves devront user de tolérance, d’effort de compréhension de l’autre, et enfin de négociation pour aboutir à l’œuvre collective qui pourrait être imprimée. À suivre!

Quant à l’artiste américaine, quel regard porte-t-elle sur ce travail? Elle avoue une vive émotion, notamment en considérant le regard épuré des enfants sur l’œuvre picturale. La spontanéité de leurs réactions, l’accord entre leur ressenti et ce qu’elle souhaitait exprimer initialement l’enthousiasment. La « manipulation numérique » de ses oeuvres ne la choque pas. Elle y voit un moyen pour les élèves de comprendre et de vivre des émotions grâce à l’art abstrait. 

Une onde artistique traverserait-elle l’Atlantique, sans crainte d’un quelconque virus, hormis peut-être celui de la création artistique qui ne semble pas réservé uniquement aux professionnels?

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Quelques annonces

Publiez un texte vous aussi!

Nos lecteurs adorent lire sur ce qui se passe dans la vie des enseignant(e)s (et nous aussi!)! Prenez le clavier et faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées, trucs et astuces via nos sections Opinion et Témoignages! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!



À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Nos prochaines formations en direct