ADVERTISEMENT

Day 10 of the Quebec - Finland Expedition: vocational school

The Finnish vocational school ... a hybrid model between vocational training and Quebec CEGEPs, where digital technology plays a major role as much for the teacher as for the student who is at the gates of the job market.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and documents it here!

(co-written with Marie-Andrée Croteau)

As written in a previous article, at the end of theinclusive school, the pupils choose a course: secondary school (general pre-university program) or vocational school. Today we visited two vocational schools.

First of all, this type of school must be demystified, because it is often perceived, even in Finland, that only pupils aged 16 to 19 can enroll in the vocational section. However, this is false; students aged 16 to 66 attend these schools. The youngest do it in the pursuit of their studies, after inclusive school. The others return to it as part of a professional reorientation or at the request of their employer to develop new skills as part of a professional development process. Also, part-time course offers are also possible. Note that in Finland, at the end of inclusive school, the half of the students chooses to continue his career in the vocational sector to enroll in programs such as those in practical nursing, electricity, plumbing, commerce, the arts, etc. For Quebec, this would correspond to a hybrid version between vocational training and technical training at CEGEP.

As in the general sector, teachers in vocational schools must have studies in pedagogy in addition to others related to their field of applied training. However, they are not required to hold a master's degree. In short, the teacher who teaches students to drive a dump truck is an experienced driver himself, and he has studied pedagogy in a university applied education program. Note that in Finland, as in other countries, there is a distinction between classical universities and other so-called "applied" (" University of applied science“), Offering more concrete and more applied programs.

These students leave the vocational course with a diploma in their pocket after three years of study (some do, however, in four years) and the possibility of joining the job market from then on. Those who wish can continue their studies in applied university programs.

According to the teachers we met, the pedagogical approach offered to students in this type of school corresponds to a proportion of approximately 20% of theory and 80% of practice and application in different ways. It should also be noted that these pupils continue to follow the basic curriculum of their colleagues in general secondary, such as mathematics, Finnish, physical education and a second language such as English or Swedish. However, they do not have to undergo a ministerial test at the end of the course.

Our first visit was to the vocational school Pohjoisen Keski-Suomen Ammattiopisto, also simply nicknamed POKE. The latter accommodates 2,500 students in six buildings scattered throughout the north-central part of the country. POKE enjoys a pan-Finnish reputation in the field of educational technologies. We were able to visit their 3D lab which looks like all makerspaces of this world with scanners and 3D printers. However, they are in the process of developing virtual reality environments that not only allow simulation for apprenticeship in skilled trades, but other environments that allow exchanges and collaborations between students and staff members. For example, they faithfully reproduced the small cozy living room located at the reception of building G (see the photo above). For Pekka Ouli, member of the school administration and former teacher, the applied training allows the learning not only of technical skills, but above all the adaptation, creativity and resolution of complex problems. Failure is unavoidable and is the basis of learning. Indeed, when students practice technical gestures, they regularly make mistakes and must practice regularly. This is the heart of practical training and failure is the starting point to propel them to professional heights.

Our second visit was to the vocational school Jyväskylän koulutuskuntayhtymä Gradia. It welcomes 10,000 full-time and 7,000 part-time students. In addition, it also contains a general secondary school with 3,000 students. In total, 750 teachers work there. The campus is huge, one of the largest in Finland. We met a team of seven pedagogical advisers there who are hard at work supporting teachers in their changes in practices, in their specialties and in respecting their expertise. For this team, pedagogical flexibility is essential, because the school welcomes students at any time of the year and, also, since a reform dating from a few years ago, 16-year-old students regularly rub shoulders with students from over 50 who are returning to school. It is therefore necessary to know how to adapt your teaching to the realities of each one: the youngest who does not know anything about welding, for example and the adult at the end of their career, who possibly has experience in the field or, at the very least, a history. life which means that certain concepts or practices could be accelerated.

According to the team members, without any hidden pride, Gradia students have missed absolutely no teaching day since the start of the pandemic in March 2020. Teachers more or less ready to take the leap. distance education, however, were used to teaching in environments that stood out from the classroom: workshops, garages, hairdressing salons, etc. The virtual was nothing very scary for them!

To track the shipment:

Facebook page : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

You can also contribute to the financing of the Expedition (until December 22): https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(Editor's note: The École branchée is happy to be a media partner of this expedition! Note that we are not, however, associated with the fundraising campaign.)

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in social studies education (1999), a master's degree in history education (2003), a master's degree in education management (2013) and a doctorate in education (2022). He specializes in school-based change management and educational leadership. He is also interested in the 21st century competencies to be developed in education. He is a principal in a public high school and gives conferences on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in schools and the professionalization of teaching. He has participated in educational expeditions in France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book "Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois" with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the 21st century school with the same publisher. He is a frequent contributor to L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and principals as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement. He is a recipient of the Régent-Fortin 2022 scholarship awarded by ADERAE for the significant contribution of his doctoral studies to the development of practice and knowledge in educational administration.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Jour 10 de l’Expédition Québec – Finlande : l’école vocationnelle

L'école vocationnelle finlandaise... un modèle hybride entre la formation professionnelle et les cégeps québécois, où le numérique joue un rôle prépondérant autant pour l'enseignant que pour l'étudiant qui est aux portes du marché du travail.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici!

(co-écrit avec Marie-Andrée Croteau)

Comme écrit dans un article précédent, dès la fin de l’école inclusive, les élèves choisissent un parcours : l’école secondaire (programme général préuniversitaire) ou l’école vocationnelle. Aujourd’hui, nous avons visité deux écoles vocationnelles.

En premier lieu, il faut démystifier ce type d’école, car il est souvent perçu, même en Finlande, que seuls les élèves de 16 à 19 ans peuvent s’inscrire au volet vocationnel. Or, c’est faux; des étudiants de 16 à 66 ans fréquentent ces écoles. Les plus jeunes le font dans la poursuite de leurs études, après l’école inclusive. Les autres y reviennent dans le cadre d’une réorientation professionnelle ou à la demande de leur employeur pour y développer de nouvelles compétences dans une démarche de développement professionnel. Également, des offres de cours à temps partiel sont aussi possibles. Notons qu’en Finlande, à la fin de l’école inclusive, la moitié des élèves choisit de poursuivre son parcours au secteur vocationnel pour s’inscrire dans des programmes comme ceux de soins infirmiers auxiliaires, l’électricité, la plomberie, le commerce, les arts, etc. Pour le Québec, cela correspondrait à une version hybride entre la formation professionnelle et celle technique du cégep.

Comme au secteur général, les enseignants des écoles vocationnelles doivent détenir des études en pédagogie en plus d’autres en lien avec leur domaine de formation appliquée. Toutefois, ils ne sont pas tenus de détenir une maîtrise. Bref, l’enseignant qui apprend aux étudiants à conduire un fardier est un conducteur expérimenté lui-même, et il a suivi des études en pédagogie dans un programme universitaire appliqué en éducation. Notons qu’en Finlande, comme dans d’autres pays, il y a une distinction entre des universités classiques et les autres dites « appliquées » (« University of applied science« ), offrant des programmes plus concrets, justement, plus appliqués.

Ces élèves quittent le parcours vocationnel avec un diplôme en poche après trois années d’études (certains le font toutefois en quatre ans) et la possibilité de rejoindre dès lors le marché du travail. Ceux qui le souhaitent peuvent poursuivre leurs études dans des programmes universitaires appliqués.

Selon les enseignants rencontrés, l’approche pédagogique offerte aux élèves de ce type d’établissement scolaire correspond à une proportion d’environ 20% de théorie et 80% de pratique et de mise en application de différentes façons. Notons aussi que ces élèves continuent à suivre le programme de base de leurs confrères du secondaire général, tels que les mathématiques, le finnois, l’éducation physique et une langue seconde comme l’anglais ou le suédois. Ils n’ont toutefois pas d’épreuve ministérielle à subir en fin de parcours.

Notre première visite a été à l’école vocationnelle Pohjoisen Keski-Suomen Ammattiopisto, aussi simplement surnommée POKE. Cette dernière accueille 2 500 élèves répartis dans six bâtiments disséminés dans le centre-nord du pays. POKE jouit d’une renommée panfinlandaise sur le plan des technologies en éducation. Nous avons pu visiter leur laboratoire 3D qui ressemble à tous les makerspaces de ce monde avec des numériseurs et des imprimantes 3D. Toutefois, ils sont en train de développer des environnements de réalité virtuelle qui permettent non seulement la simulation pour l’apprentissage de métiers spécialisés, mais d’autres environnements permettant les échanges et les collaborations entre les étudiants et les membres du personnel. À titre d’exemple, ils ont reproduit fidèlement le petit salon feutré situé à l’accueil du bâtiment G (voir la photo plus haut). Pour Pekka Ouli, membre de la direction de l’école et ancien enseignant, la formation appliquée permet l’apprentissage non seulement de compétences techniques, mais surtout l’adaptation, la créativité et la résolution de problématiques complexes. L’échec y est incontournable et est à la base de l’apprentissage. En effet, lorsque les élèves pratiquent des gestes techniques, ils se trompent régulièrement et doivent pratiquer régulièrement. C’est le coeur de la formation pratique et l’échec est le point de départ pour propulser ces derniers vers des sommets professionnels.

Notre seconde visite a été à l’école vocationnelle Jyväskylän koulutuskuntayhtymä Gradia. Celle-ci accueille 10 000 étudiants à temps plein et 7 000 à temps partiel. De plus, elle renferme aussi une école secondaire générale de 3 000 élèves. Au total, 750 enseignants y travaillent. Le campus est immense, un des plus grands de Finlande. Nous y avons rencontré une équipe de sept conseillers pédagonumériques qui sont à pied d’oeuvre pour épauler les enseignants dans leurs changements de pratiques, dans leurs spécialités et au respect de leur expertise. Pour cette équipe, la flexibilité pédagogique est incontournable, car l’école accueille des élèves à tout moment de l’année et, aussi, depuis une réforme datant d’il y a quelques années, des élèves de 16 ans côtoient régulièrement des étudiants de plus de 50 ans qui font un retour aux études. Il faut donc savoir adapter son enseignement aux réalités de chacun : le plus jeune qui ne connaît rien en soudure, par exemple et l’adulte en fin de carrière, qui détient possiblement une expérience dans le domaine ou, à tout le moins, un historique de vie qui fait en sorte que certaines notions ou pratiques pourraient être accélérées.

Selon les dires des membres de l’équipe, sans aucune fierté dissimulée, les élèves de Gradia n’ont manqué absolument aucune journée d’enseignement depuis le début de la pandémie en mars 2020. Les enseignants plus ou moins prêts à faire le saut en enseignement à distance, étaient toutefois habitués à enseigner dans des environnements qui détonnent de la salle de classe : ateliers, garages, salons de coiffure, etc. Le virtuel n’avait rien de bien effrayant pour eux!

Pour suivre l’expédition :

Page Facebook : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok : https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

Il vous est aussi possible de contribuer au financement de l’Expédition (jusqu’au 22 décembre) : https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(NDLR : L’École branchée est heureuse d’être partenaire média de cette expédition! Notez que nous ne sommes toutefois pas associés à la campagne de financement.)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée

L'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!