Les #Édubrèves - December 19, 2021 edition

Good Sunday! Here is the last edition of the #Édubrèves for the year 2021. You will be back in 2022. In this edition: the climate concerns of adolescents in Quebec, digital literacy for better living together, a new self-study on collaborative work, the algorithm of pancake batter, the Essor Recognition Award winners, a community of practice for teachers who want to teach outdoors, Education Canada's new podcast and more.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Good Sunday! Here I am with the #Édubrèves of the week. Do not hesitate to share them or write to me if you have any news to circulate.

In this edition: the climate concerns of adolescents in Quebec, digital literacy to live better together, a new self-study on collaborative work, the pancake batter algorithm, the winners of the Essor recognition awards, a community of practice for teachers who want to teach outdoors, the new Education Canada podcast and more.

Good reading.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this short news digest is for entertainment purposes only!


Climate concerns of adolescents in Quebec

The Monique-Fitz-Back Foundation and the National Council of Young Ministers of the Environment (CNJME) present the results of a survey of 1,100 young people aged 12 to 18 from across Quebec about their concerns and priorities in the fight and adaptation to climate change. Unsurprisingly, we learn that 90 % of young people say they are concerned about climate change. Fortunately, a very large majority also believe that there is still time to take action to reverse the trends.

The entire analysis report as well as the infographic of the highlights are available on the Foundation website.


Ditch that textbook Summit 

The educator Matt Miller has been holding since December 13 a virtual digital summit, the “Ditch That Textbook Summit”. These are in fact emails that are sent every day with suggestions for video clips to watch about different digital educational resources. A small social media distribution challenge is also offered to participants in order to share the event online.

All videos are available until January 7, but it is still possible to subscribe to receive future emails. Yes, all the content is in English, but we wanted to share the event with you since we like Matt Miller and he contributed to the fall 2021 issue of École branchée magazine: Start your continuing education on the right foot.


Essor Recognition Award Winners

The 2019-2021 Essor recognition prizes were awarded last week to nineteen laureates from various regions of Quebec. The Essor awards recognize the excellence and originality of artistic and cultural projects carried out in Quebec schools. They recognize the commitment of teachers, school personnel and their partners in the cultural sector, in addition to promoting the quality of their work and highlighting the talent and creativity of students.

École de la Ruche at the Sommets School Service Center won the National Grand Prize for the Mission Thumbs Up Project, in which 118 young people put their cinematographic talents at the service of the community.

For more information on the winning projects and the Essor awards.


Education Canada now has its podcast in French

The Education Canada podcast will provide tools and opportunities for the education community to answer big questions about the education system. Simple, but complex questions inviting different perspectives to confront each other will be addressed. In the first episode, a big question is asked of two education experts: How to teach in a (post) pandemic Canada?

Listen to the podcast episode.


Digital literacy to live better together 

In the context where students were arrested last week for making threats against schools, Benoît Petit, resource person for RÉCIT for the development of the person (RÉCIT DP) granted an interview on Radio-Canada, as part of the program Le 15-18

Mr. Petit reminds that the phenomenon is not new but that it can be amplified by the use of social networks. Above all, it recalls the importance of digital education and of taking into account the socio-emotional dimensions associated with the use of digital technology. Digital education means in particular learning to enter into dialogue with others, to take into account the points of view of others and to take a step back from our perspectives. An interview to absolutely listen to!

In the same vein, a grouping of education unions signs a striking text in the daily La Tribune. “School must be a caring and safe environment. But, for different reasons, the situation is slipping and we are witnessing a crescendo of violence in our circles, in different forms. […] The call that we are making today must be heard and become a driving force for collective action, to ensure for our young people a climate free from violence, in school as elsewhere, as much as possible. "


How to support your child in his school career

This resource includes 12 video clips revolving around three main themes, namely support for the child, well-being as well as motivation and perseverance in school. The content presented is based on research and was produced with the collaboration of SOFAD. To see and share with the parents of your students.


Self-study on collaborative work 

Knowing how to collaborate is not innate. However, collaboration is required everywhere in our daily lives, whether in family, at work or at school. Having become an individual and societal skill, the ability to collaborate (interact, communicate, solve problems, negotiate, find compromises, etc.) is decisive. A new self-study course on collaborative work was developed by the CADRE21 and the School team in a network.

To find out more about the content covered, see this video.


Fun routes to explore with the family

This winter, the Playful courses offer routes across Quebec. All family members are invited to participate through puzzles and games throughout the experience. 

With the mission of making all forms of walking and movement fun, the different concepts bring a story to life, in real life, through a quest filled with puzzles, challenges and games. Playgrounds are just as accessible on developed forest trails, in neighborhood parks or even in town centers. 


The pancake batter algorithm

How to explain what an algorithm is in a simple way? Easy! Use a pancake batter recipe as an example and organize the information into a Genial.ly. The result is here and will allow the most neophyte to understand. 


ACELF is looking for members for its Strategic Orientation Committee

The mandate of this committee is to support the board of directors with regard to the strategic vision of the Association canadienne d'études de langue française (ACELF) and to remain on the lookout for emerging educational needs with a view to constantly improving the organization's service offer.

For more information or to apply


To put on the agenda 

January 21, 2022: Launch of the Promérique platform - This new platform will provide access to learning resources to develop the written digital production skills of secondary 4 and 5 students, in general and vocational training as well as in adult education.


Community of practice Teaching outdoors Outdoor mission (Winter - Primary)

The School in a Network proposes to bring together teachers who want to try out outside or share their experience. The group will be able to discuss, share their successes, their challenges, share or develop tools on how to organize outdoor teaching sessions.

Registrations are open until January 19, 2022.


A picture is worth a thousand words

Spotted in the Facebook group Schools closed, parents solicited! (school support group)


In closing, let's take advantage of the holiday season to recharge our batteries.

See you soon! Until then, don't hesitate to “tag” us (in good French…) on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so that we can talk about your project / resource in a future review of the week! Have a great week.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les #Édubrèves – édition du 19 décembre 2021

Bon dimanche! Voici la dernière édition des #Édubrèves de l'année 2021. On vous retrouve en 2022. Dans cette édition : les préoccupations climatiques des adolescents du Québec, la littératie numérique pour mieux vivre ensemble, une nouvelle autoformation sur le travail collaboratif, l’algorithme de la pâte à crêpe, les lauréats des prix de reconnaissance Essor, une communauté de pratique pour les enseignants qui veulent enseigner à l’extérieur, le nouveau balado d’Éducation Canada et bien plus.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Bon dimanche! Me voici avec les #Édubrèves de la semaine. N’hésitez pas à les partager ou à m’écrire si vous avez des nouvelles à faire circuler.

Dans cette édition : les préoccupations climatiques des adolescents du Québec, la littératie numérique pour mieux vivre ensemble, une nouvelle autoformation sur le travail collaboratif, l’algorithme de la pâte à crêpe, les lauréats des prix de reconnaissance Essor, une communauté de pratique pour les enseignants qui veulent enseigner à l’extérieur, le nouveau balado d’Éducation Canada et bien plus.

Bonne lecture.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement!


Préoccupations climatiques des adolescents du Québec

La Fondation Monique-Fitz-Back et le Conseil national des jeunes ministres de l’environnement (CNJME) présentent les résultats d’un sondage réalisé auprès de 1 100 jeunes de 12 à 18 ans de partout au Québec au sujet de leurs préoccupations et priorités en matière de lutte et d’adaptation aux changements climatiques. Sans surprise, on apprend que 90 % des jeunes se disent préoccupés par les changements climatiques. Heureusement, une très forte majorité estime également qu’il est encore temps de poser des gestes pour renverser les tendances.

L’ensemble du rapport d’analyse ainsi que l’infographie des faits saillants sont disponibles sur le site de la Fondation.


Ditch that textbook Summit 

Le pédagogue Matt Miller tient depuis le 13 décembre un sommet du numérique virtuel, le « Ditch That Textbook Summit ». Il s’agit en fait de courriels qui sont envoyés chaque jour avec des suggestions de capsules vidéos à regarder au sujet de différentes ressources numériques pédagogiques. Un petit défi de diffusion sur les réseaux sociaux est aussi proposé aux participants afin de partager l’événement en ligne.

Toutes les vidéos sont disponibles jusqu’au 7 janvier, mais il est encore possible de vous inscrire pour recevoir les prochains courriels. Oui, tout le contenu est en anglais, mais on tenait à vous partager l’événement puisqu’on aime bien Matt Miller et qu’il a collaboré au numéro d’automne 2021 du magazine École branchée : Entreprendre sa formation continue du bon pied.


Lauréats des prix de reconnaissance Essor

Les prix de reconnaissance Essor 2019-2021 ont été décernés la semaine dernière à dix-neuf lauréats de diverses régions du Québec. Les prix Essor soulignent l’excellence et l’originalité de projets artistiques et culturels réalisés dans les écoles du Québec. Ils permettent de reconnaître l’engagement des enseignants, du personnel scolaire et de leurs partenaires du milieu culturel, en plus de faire rayonner la qualité de leur travail et de mettre en valeur le talent et la créativité des élèves.

L’école de la Ruche du Centre de services scolaire des Sommets a remporté le Grand prix national pour le projet Mission pouces en l’air, dans lequel 118 jeunes ont mis leurs talents en cinématographie au service de la communauté.

Pour plus d’information sur les projets lauréats et sur les prix Essor.


Éducation Canada a maintenant son balado en français

Le balado d’Éducation Canada offrira des outils et des occasions au monde de l’éducation pour répondre à de grandes questions en lien avec le système éducatif. Des questions simples, mais complexes invitant diverses perspectives à se confronter seront abordées. Dans le premier épisode, une grande question est posée à deux experts de l’éducation : Comment enseigner dans un Canada (post) pandémique?

Écoutez l’épisode du balado.


La littératie numérique pour mieux vivre ensemble 

Dans le contexte où des élèves ont été arrêtés la semaine dernière pour avoir proféré des menaces envers des écoles, Benoît Petit, personne-ressource du RÉCIT du développement de la personne (RÉCIT DP) a accordé une entrevue à Radio-Canada, dans le cadre de l’émission Le 15-18

M. Petit rappelle que le phénomène n’est pas nouveau mais qu’il peut être amplifié par l’usage des réseaux sociaux. Il rappelle surtout l’importance d’éduquer au numérique et de tenir compte des dimensions socio-affectives rattachées à l’usage du numérique. Éduquer au numérique veut notamment dire apprendre à entrer en dialogue avec les autres, à prendre en compte les points de vue des autres et à prendre du recul sur nos perspectives. Une entrevue à écouter absolument!

Dans la même veine, un regroupement de syndicat de l’enseignement signe un texte percutant dans le quotidien La Tribune. « L’école doit être un milieu bienveillant et sécuritaire. Mais, pour différentes raisons, la situation glisse et nous assistons à un crescendo de violence dans nos milieux, sous différentes formes. […] L’appel que nous lançons aujourd’hui doit être entendu et devenir un moteur d’action collective, pour assurer à nos jeunes un climat exempt de violence, à l’école comme ailleurs, le plus possible. »


Comment accompagner son enfant dans son parcours scolaire

Cette ressource comprend 12 capsules vidéo s’articulant autour de trois grands thèmes, soit l’accompagnement de l’enfant, le bien-être ainsi que la motivation et la persévérance scolaire. Le contenu présenté s’appuie sur la recherche et a été réalisé avec la collaboration de la SOFAD. À voir et à partager aux parents de vos élèves.


Autoformation sur le travail collaboratif 

Savoir collaborer n’est pas inné. Pourtant, la collaboration est requise partout dans notre quotidien, que ce soit en famille, au travail ou à l’école. Devenue une compétence individuelle et sociétale, la capacité à collaborer (interagir, communiquer, résoudre des problèmes, négocier, trouver des compromis, etc.) est déterminante. Une nouvelle autoformation sur le Travail collaboratif a été développée par le CADRE21 et l’équipe de l’École en réseau.

Pour en savoir plus sur les contenus abordés, consultez cette vidéo.


Des parcours ludiques à explorer en famille

Cet hiver, les Parcours Ludiques proposent des parcours à travers le Québec. Tous les membres de la famille sont invités à participer grâce à des énigmes et des jeux tout au long de l’expérience. 

Avec comme mission de rendre ludiques toutes formes de marche et de déplacement, les différents concepts font vivre une histoire, en vrai, à travers une quête remplie d’énigmes, de défis et de jeux. Les parcours de jeux sont tout autant accessibles dans des sentiers forestiers aménagés, dans des parcs de quartiers ou même des centres-villes. 


L’algorithme de la pâte à crêpe

Comment expliquer ce qu’est un algorithme de façon simple? Facile! Utilisez une recette de pâte à crêpe comme exemple et organisez l’information dans un Genial.ly. Le résultat est ici et permettra au plus néophyte de comprendre. 


L’ACELF recherche des membres pour son Comité d’orientation stratégique

Ce comité a pour mandat d’appuyer le conseil d’administration quant à la vision stratégique de l’Association canadienne d’éducation de langue française (ACELF) et de demeurer à l’affût des besoins émergents en éducation en vue d’améliorer constamment l’offre de services de l’organisation.

Pour obtenir plus d’informations ou poser votre candidature


À mettre à l’agenda 

21 janvier 2022 : Lancement de la plateforme Promérique – Cette nouvelle plateforme donnera accès à des ressources d’apprentissage pour développer les compétences de production numérique écrite des élèves de 4e et 5e secondaire, en formation générale et professionnelle ainsi qu’à l’éducation des adultes.


Communauté de pratique Enseigner dehors Mission plein air (Hiver – Primaire)

L’École en réseau propose de regrouper des enseignants qui veulent tenter des sorties extérieures ou partager leur expérience. Le groupe pourra discuter, échanger leurs bons coups, leurs défis, partager ou développer des outils sur la manière d’organiser des séances d’enseignement extérieur.

Les inscriptions sont ouvertes jusqu’au 19 janvier 2022.


Une image vaut mille mots

Repéré dans le groupe Facebook Écoles fermées, parents sollicités! (groupe d’entraide scolaire)


En terminant, profitons du temps des Fêtes pour faire le plein d’énergie.

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente semaine.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :