ADVERTISEMENT

Day 1 of the Québec-Finland educational expedition: going outside to learn

The Finns are particularly close to nature and this is also true in the educational activities offered to the pupils. Learning outdoors means first of all arousing the pupil's curiosity and making him an actor in his discoveries. It is learning that begins informally and then, thanks to the teacher, is linked to the training program.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and the documents here!

I had already met Saara Nissinen four years ago, during my first visit to Savonlinna. She had hosted me at the University of Eastern Finland. For the start of our journey, we chose to start on familiar ground and we saw Saara again.

If you are an avid École branchée reader, you have already met this elementary school teacher and doctoral student in education. She and I had do a podcast on the importance Finns place on nature, especially the forest as a learning environment.

This time, despite the fact that Finland vibrates to the rhythm of her national holiday, Saara made herself available to us and she made an appointment with us in one of the Finnish experimental forests, at the National Institute of Natural Resources. , in Punkaharju. We walked a few minutes before arriving in a superb log shelter whose facade overlooks the immense Saimaa lake. We made a fire and Saara served us a glass of glögi (hot and sweet drink) very hot. In short, we had not even started our discussion that we were living the Finnish experience to the full!

Go outside to learn? It's simple!

We know that the Finns are very close to nature. This necessarily influences their pedagogical approaches. Indeed, for them, going outside is natural (bad pun)! I questioned Saara between two sips of glögi : "Yes, but going out to do math, how is it"? His answer: it's simple. We guide the students, they find something in their environment that interests them and we give the necessary meaning to the educational activity. It is up to the teacher to make the links with the program and to orient the students' discoveries so that they are contextualized and circumscribed in the program imposed by the ministry and the city (we will come back to this in another article later) .

According to Saara, going into the forest is allowing teachers to feed on the wonder of students to build their own course. This opens the door wide to educational differentiation, where the course is built according to the interest of the students to converge on the teaching intention of the teacher. During this time, the young people discover their environment, understand its complexity in order, in the long term, to learn to respect the environment better.

Take a typical Finnish example: shoeing a reindeer. Unlike a horse, it is undesirable to do this. It hurts the beast and makes it suffer. Young people go to meet these animals, but this is not to learn that shoeing a reindeer can be dangerous in itself. Indeed, shoeing a reindeer is not on the program (!). However, speaking of this specific theme, it is about animals as a whole, biomes and ecosystems while also addressing global warming. These last themes are on the program.

In other words, going outside doesn't require a lot of planning. We must trust the students to bring questions and objects that will allow us, as educators, to nourish the lesson and ensure that they learn informally first and then formalize this learning. . Saara's face lights up: for her, it is a real pleasure to hear young people marveling in nature and seeing them having fun with what it offers them.

A school naturally open to its community

Finally, leaving school in the open fosters networking with the community on two levels. First, it makes it possible to make contact with experts related to the visit, in this case those from forestry. These experts contribute to the students' learning process thanks to cutting-edge knowledge. Second, the community also means the sustained participation of parents. As in Quebec, they can accompany the students and act in support of the teacher. As the Finnish school is naturally open (which we will happily take advantage of in the coming days), parents are always welcome. Saara, smirking, recounted that parents participate, among other things, in school trips in a natural environment and that when they have an impediment or an unforeseen event, they apologize and appoint a replacement: a neighbor, a grandparent. or a family friend. After all, it takes a whole village to raise a child, right?

To track the shipment:

Facebook page : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

You can also contribute to the financing of the Expedition (until December 22): https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(Editor's note: The École branchée is happy to be a media partner of this expedition! Note that we are not, however, associated with the fundraising campaign.)

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Jour 1 de l’Expédition pédagogique Québec-Finlande : aller apprendre dehors

Les Finlandais sont particulièrement près de la nature et cela est aussi vrai dans les activités pédagogiques proposées aux élèves. Apprendre dehors, c'est d'abord aiguiser la curiosité de l'élève et le rendre acteur de ses découvertes. C'est un apprentissage qui débute de façon informelle pour ensuite, grâce à l'enseignant, être relié au programme de formation.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici!

J’avais déjà rencontré Saara Nissinen il y a quatre ans, lors de ma première visite à Savonlinna. Elle m’avait accueilli à l’Université de la Finlande orientale. Pour le début de notre périple, nous avons choisi de débuter en terrain connu et nous avons revu Saara.

Si vous êtes un lecteur assidu de l’École branchée, vous avez déjà fait la connaissance de cette enseignante au primaire et doctorante en éducation. Elle et moi avions fait un balado sur l’importance que les Finlandais accordent à la nature, en particulier à la forêt en tant qu’environnement d’apprentissage.

Cette fois-ci, malgré le fait que la Finlande vibre au rythme de sa fête nationale, Saara s’est rendue disponible pour nous et elle nous a donné rendez-vous dans une des forêts expérimentales finlandaises, à l’Institut national de ressources naturelles, à Punkaharju. Nous avons marché quelques minutes avant d’arriver dans un superbe abri de bois rond dont la façade donne sur l’immense lac Saimaa. Nous avons fait un feu et Saara nous a servi un verre de glögi (boisson chaude et sucrée) bien chaud. Bref, nous n’avions même pas commencé notre discussion que nous vivions l’expérience finlandaise à plein!

Aller dehors pour apprendre? C’est simple!

On le sait : les Finlandais sont très près de la nature. Cela influence nécessairement leurs approches pédagogiques. En effet, pour eux, aller dehors, c’est naturel (mauvais jeu de mots)! J’ai questionné Saara entre deux gorgées de glögi : « oui, mais sortir pour faire des maths, c’est comment »? Sa réponse : c’est simple. Nous guidons les élèves, ils trouvent quelque chose dans leur environnement qui les intéresse et nous donnons le sens nécessaire à l’activité pédagogique. C’est à l’enseignant de faire les liens avec le programme et d’orienter les découvertes des élèves pour qu’elles soient contextualisées et circonscrites dans le programme imposé par le ministère et la ville (nous y reviendrons dans un autre article ultérieurement).

Selon Saara, aller dans la forêt, c’est permettre aux enseignants de se nourrir de l’émerveillement des élèves pour construire leur propre cours. Cela ouvre la porte toute grande à la différenciation pédagogique, où le cours se construit en fonction de l’intérêt des élèves pour converger vers l’intention pédagogique de l’enseignant. Pendant ce temps, les jeunes découvrent leur milieu, en comprennent la complexité pour, à terme, apprendre à mieux respecter l’environnement.

Prenons un exemple finlandais typique : ferrer un renne. Contrairement à un cheval, il n’est pas souhaitable de le faire. Cela blesse la bête et la fait souffrir. Les jeunes vont à la rencontre de ces animaux, mais ce n’est pas pour apprendre que ferrer un renne peut être dangereux en soi. En effet, ferrer un renne ne figure pas au programme (!). Toutefois en parlant de cette thématique précise, il est question des animaux dans leur globalité, des biomes et des écosystèmes en abordant aussi le réchauffement climatique. Ces dernières thématiques, elles, sont au programme.

Autrement dit, aller dehors ne nécessite pas une grande planification. Il faut faire confiance aux élèves pour qu’ils apportent des questions et des objets qui nous permettrons, en tant qu’éducateurs, de nourrir la leçon et de faire en sorte qu’ils apprennent de façon informelle d’abord pour ensuite formaliser cet apprentissage. Le visage de Saara s’éclaire : pour elle, c’est un véritable plaisir que d’entendre les jeunes s’émerveiller dans la nature et les voir avoir du plaisir avec ce qu’elle leur offre.

Une école naturellement ouverte sur sa communauté

Enfin, sortir de l’école en plein air favorise le maillage avec la communauté sur deux plans. Premièrement, cela permet de prendre contact avec des experts en lien avec la visite, dans ce cas-ci ceux de la foresterie. Ces experts contribuent à la démarche d’apprentissage des élèves grâce à des connaissances de pointe. En second lieu, la communauté, c’est aussi la participation soutenue des parents. Comme au Québec, ils peuvent accompagner les élèves et agir en soutien à l’enseignant. L’école finlandaise étant naturellement ouverte (ce dont nous profiterons allègrement dans les prochains jours), les parents y sont toujours les bienvenus. Saara, sourire en coin, relatait que les parents participent, entre autres, aux sorties scolaires en milieu naturel et que lorsqu’ils ont un empêchement ou un imprévu, ils se confondent en excuses et mandatent un remplaçant : un voisin, un grand-parent ou un ami de la famille. Après tout, ça prend tout un village pour élever un enfant, non?

Pour suivre l’expédition :

Page Facebook : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok : https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

Il vous est aussi possible de contribuer au financement de l’Expédition (jusqu’au 22 décembre) : https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(NDLR : L’École branchée est heureuse d’être partenaire média de cette expédition! Notez que nous ne sommes toutefois pas associés à la campagne de financement.)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :