ADVERTISEMENT

On November 12, 2016, the girls learn to code!

On National Girls Learning Code Day, here is a fascinating activity for the girls in your class and their parents!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

On National Girls Learning Code Day, here is a fascinating activity for the girls in your class and their parents!

Learn programming ... Something tells you that this is a way forward for your students? Here is a great parent-child activity to suggest to them, at least for the girls!

With the organization Ladies Learning Code, women take the bull by the horns and learn about computer language. Moreover, on November 12, the national day Girls Learning Code, during which activities specially designed for young girls will be offered.

The non-profit organization explains: “During the 3e Day Girls Learning Code, hundreds of girls and their parents will come together in communities across Canada to learn a new skill together: how to create video games! "

Young girls invited to Quebec and Montreal

For example, in Quebec City and Montreal, on a Saturday afternoon, young ladies aged 8 to 13 who are new to programming will learn to build a video game using the Scratch language.

You can register until November 11. The suggested amount per participant (including the accompanying person) is 30 $, but it is possible to offer more. Also, one can also simply send a donation to show support for the initiative.

Girls Learning Code is a movement initiated by Heather Payne, the founder of Ladies Learning Code  in 2011. The youth component, less focused on learning the code itself, focuses more on the desire to change the world through teamwork, creativity and, of course, technology.

To follow on Instagram: #glcCodeDay

[fac_icon icon = "arrow-circle-right"] Note: LLC is currently looking for a coordinator for Quebec City activities for the youth component, Kids Learning Code and Girls Learning Code. For more information, contact: quebeccity @ ladieslearningcode.com

 

 

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le 12 novembre 2016, les filles apprennent à coder!

À l’occasion de la journée nationale « Girls Learning Code », voici une activité fascinante à proposer aux filles de votre classe et à leurs parents!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

À l’occasion de la journée nationale « Girls Learning Code », voici une activité fascinante à proposer aux filles de votre classe et à leurs parents!

Apprendre la programmation… Quelque chose vous dit que c’est une voie d’avenir pour vos élèves? Voici une belle activité parent-enfant en ce sens à leur suggérer, à tout le moins pour les filles!

Avec l’organisme Ladies Learning Code, les femmes prennent le taureau par les cornes et s’instruisent à propos de langage informatique. D’ailleurs, le 12 novembre prochain se tiendra la journée nationale Girls Learning Code, pendant laquelle des activités spécialement pensées pour les jeunes filles seront offertes.

L’organisme à but non lucratif explique : « Lors de la 3e Journée Girls Learning Code, des centaines de filles et leur parents vont s’assembler dans des communautés à travers le Canada pour apprendre ensemble une nouvelle compétence : comment créer des jeux vidéos! »

Les jeunes filles conviées à Québec et à Montréal

Par exemple, à Québec et à Montréal, le temps d’un samedi après-midi, les demoiselles de 8 à 13 ans débutantes en programmation apprendront à construire un jeu vidéo à l’aide du langage Scratch.

On peut s’inscrire jusqu’au 11 novembre. Le montant suggéré par participante (incluant la personne qui l’accompagne) est de 30 $, mais il est possible d’offrir plus. Aussi, on peut également simplement envoyer un don pour manifester son soutien à l’initiative.

Girls Learning Code est un mouvement initié par Heather Payne, celle qui a fondé Ladies Learning Code  en 2011. Le volet jeunesse, moins axé sur l’apprentissage du code comme tel, se concentre davantage sur l’envie de changer le monde grâce au travail d’équipe, à la créativité et, bien sûr, la technologie.

À suivre sur Instagram : #glcCodeDay

[fac_icon icon= »arrow-circle-right »] À noter : LLC est présentement à la recherche d’un coordonnateur ou d’une coordonnatrice pour les activités de la ville de Québec pour le volet jeunesse, Kids Learning Code et Girls Learning Code. Pour en savoir plus, communiquez avec : quebeccity@ladieslearningcode.com

 

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :