Evaluating from a distance: breaking the circle of cheating and plagiarism

When we think of the evaluation of learning at a distance, we can wonder about the possibilities of plagiarism and cheating: is there more falsification in the presence or at a distance? Discussion with Serge Gérin-Lajoie, professor at TÉLUQ University, who offers some tips to implement.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

When we think of the evaluation of learning in a distance course, we can wonder about the possibilities of plagiarism and cheating: is there more falsification in the presence or at a distance? Discussion with Serge Gérin-Lajoie, professor at TELUQ University.

According to Mr. Gérin-Lajoie, the issues associated with plagiarism and cheating are sources of concern both in face-to-face and remote courses. “Currently, there are no studies showing that there is more plagiarism in distance education. We just know that the copy / paste phenomenon is growing, in all teaching methods. “Regarding the cases reported in spring 2020, it should be remembered that the teachers had to do their assessments remotely when this was not initially planned. This was also the case for the students.

“Evaluating distance learning is an important issue, it goes beyond the question of success or failure. Questions linked to the credibility of diplomas are sometimes associated with it, ”he recalls. In fact, in establishments that provide distance education, students are generally asked to come to a room where their identity is verified before proceeding with the assessment.

Evaluate otherwise

For the teacher, it is time to consider other ways of evaluating, of putting evaluation at the service of the learning and the progression of the pupils more than of checking whether they have learned. “Why not provide formative evaluation opportunities to give feedback and measure whether they are ready to do the summative evaluations, the ones that matter? ".

Mr. Gérin-Lajoie also suggests offering students choices in the types of assessment: choice of subjects, choice between a presentation or a written assignment, produce a video or a text, etc. He also mentions evaluating how they arrived at a product (work, examination, presentation) by asking them to complete a logbook, progress reports, provide a drafting plan, traces of calculations, etc. “Let us ask the students to explain themselves, to justify themselves and to be critical of what they have produced. "

Still according to him, by evaluating various elements associated with the learning to be achieved, the risks of plagiarism and cheating decrease. “And you get the elements necessary to create evaluation contexts in authentic situations that promote motivation, commitment and success. "

And you, what are your best strategies for checking prior learning and using assessment for learning, even at a distance?

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Google advertising


About the Author

Maryline Barrette Dubé
A graduate of a bachelor's degree in public communication, a “marketer” for more than 15 years, Maryline has been working to promote École branchée's activities and to publicize the organization's mandate since 2018. She is a devoted mother, an assumed epicurean. and IPA lover who, in her spare time, enjoys blog.

You might also like:

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive news from École branchée

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Évaluer à distance : briser le cercle de la tricherie et du plagiat

Lorsqu’on pense à l’évaluation des apprentissages à distance, on peut se questionner sur les possibilités de plagiat et de tricherie : y’a-t-il plus de falsification en présence ou à distance? Échange avec Serge Gérin-Lajoie, professeur à l’université TÉLUQ, qui propose quelques astuces à implanter.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Lorsqu’on pense à l’évaluation des apprentissages dans un cours à distance, on peut se questionner sur les possibilités de plagiat et de tricherie : y’a-t-il plus de falsification en présence ou à distance? Échange avec Serge Gérin-Lajoie, professeur à l’Université TÉLUQ.

Selon M. Gérin-Lajoie, les enjeux associés au plagiat et à la tricherie sont sources de préoccupations autant dans les cours en présence qu’à distance. « Présentement, il n’y a pas d’études qui démontrent qu’il y a davantage de plagiat en formation distance. On sait juste que le phénomène du copier/coller est en croissance, et ce, dans tous les modes d’enseignement. » Concernant les cas rapportés au printemps 2020, il faut se rappeler que les enseignants ont dû faire leurs évaluations à distance alors que ce n’était pas prévu initialement. C’était également le cas pour les élèves.

« Évaluer les apprentissages à distance représente un enjeu important, cela dépasse la question de réussite ou d’échec. Des questions liées à la crédibilité des diplômes y sont parfois associées », rappelle-t-il. En effet, dans les établissements qui font de la formation à distance, il est généralement demandé aux étudiants de se présenter dans un local où leur identité est vérifiée avant de procéder à l’évaluation.

Évaluer autrement

Pour le professeur, il est temps d’envisager d’autres façons d’évaluer, de mettre l’évaluation au service des apprentissages et de la progression des élèves davantage que de vérifier s’ils ont appris. « Pourquoi ne pas fournir des occasions d’évaluation formative pour donner de la rétroaction et mesurer s’ils sont prêts pour faire les évaluations sommatives, celles qui comptent? ».

M. Gérin-Lajoie suggère aussi de proposer aux élèves des choix dans les types d’évaluation : choix de sujets, choix entre un exposé ou un travail écrit, produire une vidéo ou un texte, etc. Il mentionne aussi d’évaluer comment ils sont arrivés à un produit (travaux, examen, exposé) en leur demandant de compléter un journal de bord, des rapports d’étapes, de fournir un plan de rédaction, des traces des calculs, etc. « Demandons aux étudiants de s’expliquer, de se justifier et d’être critique par rapport à ce qu’ils ont produit. »

Toujours selon lui, en évaluant différents éléments associés aux apprentissages à atteindre, les risques de plagiat et de tricherie diminuent. « Et on obtient les éléments nécessaires pour créer des contextes d’évaluation dans des situations authentiques qui favorisent la motivation, l’engagement et la réussite. »

Et vous, quelles sont vos meilleures stratégies pour vérifier les acquis et mettre l’évaluation au service de l’apprentissage, même à distance?

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Maryline Barrette Dubé
Diplômée d’un baccalauréat en communication publique, « marketer » depuis plus de 15 ans, Maryline oeuvre au rayonnement des activités de l’École branchée et à faire connaître le mandat de l’organisation depuis 2018. C'est une maman dévouée, épicurienne assumée et amateure de IPA qui, dans ses temps libres, aime bloguer.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!