Be informed: It doesn't change the world. Truly?

Radio-Canada's MAJ (Mon actualité du jour) platform has just posted a new series of videos on the news world. Six capsules to understand the importance of going to see what is happening behind the TV camera, the microphone of a radio or the hidden face of an algorithm.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The platform Update (My news of the day) of Radio-Canada has just put online a new series of videos on the world of information. Six capsules to allow students of 5e and 6e years of better understanding the world. Six capsules to understand the importance of going to see what is happening behind the TV camera, the microphone of a radio or the hidden face of an algorithm if we want to change this world.

“Getting informed is super important. You can do it for yourself. We can do this to better understand the world around us. And to be a more interesting person. This is what Estelle Fournier, a 16-year-old teenager, launches at the very end of the first capsule. She is the guide throughout the six episodes of An issue in the news, a series to understand the news media.

Head of content on the project, Christine Bouchard mentions that it is this idea that led to the production of these capsules which last between 4 and 8 minutes. "Young people get information on social networks and also a lot through their parents," says Ms. Bouchard. With her colleague, Isabelle Picard, director of the various digital platforms of Radio-Canada such as ARTV, Explore and Youth, the idea therefore sprouted last spring to produce visual content that would serve to better equip students at the end of primary school in terms of media education.

Full of questions

Why get informed when you're young? Where does the news come from? Information and opinion, how to navigate? Can we get information on social networks? Does my algorithm control my news? Getting informed, does it change the world? So many questions that are reviewed by Estelle and the specialists met during the reports. Informative, playful and relevant, young Estelle's comments are combined with images that are not only focused on Radio-Canada, but on other important media in Quebec.

Topical Question even goes to the National Assembly in Quebec to question the leaders of all political parties as to whether it is naive to think that by being informed, we can change the world?

The comments of young people so far about the series? Positive, of course, if we trust those mentioned by Radio-Canada. In the first capsule, a sentence said by Paul Arcand of 98.5 FM in Montreal also catches the attention of a young person, knowing that people "who do not get information well or not at all become naive and vulnerable. ".

Looking for teachers

We do not owe that Topical question to the MAJ team. The dozen people who gravitate there have also produced video series for two years such as the'ABC, the Minute Update as well as What is hiding in the St. Lawrence River?

According to Isabelle Picard, “our series can be used to nurture the skills of adopting prosocial behaviors, social engagement and managing emotions and stress. "In terms of media education, it is also important to add that every day, a daily offer of popularized information in this area is offered to young people aged 7 to 13 and" can be consulted on our various platforms " , specifies Ms. Picard.

Treating information in a serious and fun way is somewhat the mission that the MAJ team has given itself, while remaining, of course, a reliable and credible source, responding to the journalistic practices of Radio-Canada. 

Moreover, teachers' comments are always welcome, explains the director of digital platforms at Radio-Canada. These days, a pedagogical advisor is even sought after to assist the team.

Questions or requests from teachers can be forwarded to the team by the section For teachers.

Finally, new content is added every week through the following platforms:
Update on Facebook (for teachers)
Update on the web
Update on Instagram
Update on YouTube

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Être informé : Ça ne change pas le monde. Vraiment?

La plateforme MAJ (Mon actualité du jour) de Radio-Canada vient de mettre en ligne une nouvelle série de vidéos sur le monde de l’information. Six capsules pour saisir l’importance d’aller voir ce qui se passe derrière la caméra de la télé, le micro d’une radio ou la face cachée d’un algorithme.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

La plateforme MAJ (Mon actualité du jour) de Radio-Canada vient de mettre en ligne une nouvelle série de vidéos sur le monde de l’information. Six capsules pour permettre aux élèves de 5e et 6e années de mieux comprendre le monde. Six capsules pour saisir l’importance d’aller voir ce qui se passe derrière la caméra de la télé, le micro d’une radio ou la face cachée d’un algorithme si on veut justement changer ce monde.

« S’informer, c’est super important. On peut le faire pour soi. On peut le faire pour mieux comprendre le monde qui nous entoure. Et pour être une personne plus intéressante. » C’est ce que lance Estelle Fournier, ado de 16 ans, à la toute fin de la première capsule. Elle est le guide tout au long des six épisodes de Question d’actualité, une série pour comprendre les médias d’information.

Cheffe de contenu sur le projet, Christine Bouchard mentionne que c’est cette idée qui a mené à la réalisation de ces capsules qui durent entre 4 et 8 minutes. « Les jeunes s’informent sur les réseaux sociaux et aussi beaucoup par leurs parents », précise Mme Bouchard. Avec sa collègue, Isabelle Picard, directrice des différentes plateformes numériques de Radio-Canada comme ARTV, Explora et Jeunesse, l’idée a donc germé au printemps dernier de réaliser un contenu visuel qui servirait à mieux outiller les élèves de la fin du primaire en matière d’éducation aux médias.

Plein de questions

Pourquoi s’informer quand on est jeune? Les nouvelles, ça sort d’où? Information et opinion, comment s’y retrouver? Peut-on s’informer sur les réseaux sociaux? Mon algorithme contrôle-t-il mon actualité? S’informer, ça change le monde? Autant de questions qui sont passées en revue par Estelle et les spécialistes rencontrés au cours des reportages. Instructifs, enjoués et pertinents, les commentaires de la jeune Estelle sont conjugués avec des images qui ne sont pas seulement focalisées sur Radio-Canada, mais sur d’autres médias d’importance au Québec.

Question d’actualité se rend même jusqu’à l’Assemblée nationale à Québec pour interroger les chefs de tous les partis politiques à savoir si c’est naïf de penser qu’en étant informé, on peut changer le monde?

Les commentaires des jeunes jusqu’à maintenant face à la série? Positifs, bien sûr, si on se fie à ceux mentionnés par Radio-Canada. Dans la première capsule, une phrase dite par Paul Arcand du 98,5 FM à Montréal retient d’ailleurs l’attention d’un jeune à savoir que les gens « qui ne s’informent pas bien ou pas du tout deviennent naïfs et vulnérables ».

À la recherche d’enseignants

On ne doit pas que Question d’actualité à l’équipe de MAJ. La douzaine de personnes qui y gravite a aussi produit depuis deux ans des séries vidéos telles que l‘ABC, la Minute MAJ ainsi que Qu’est-ce qui se cache dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent?

Selon Isabelle Picard, « nos séries pourront servir à nourrir les compétences d’adoption de comportements prosociaux, engagement social et gestion des émotions et du stress. » En matière d’éducation aux médias, il est aussi important d’ajouter que tous les jours, une offre quotidienne d’information vulgarisée dans ce domaine est proposée aux jeunes de 7 à 13 ans et « peut être consultée sur nos différentes plateformes », précise Mme Picard.

Traiter l’information de manière sérieuse et amusante, c’est un peu la mission que s’est donnée l’équipe de MAJ, tout en demeurant, bien sûr une source fiable et crédible, répondant aux pratiques journalistiques de Radio-Canada. 

D’ailleurs les remarques des enseignants sont toujours les bienvenues, explique la directrice des plateformes numériques de Radio-Canada. Un conseiller pédagogique est même recherché par les temps qui courent pour seconder l’équipe.

Les questions ou demandes des enseignants peuvent être acheminées à l’équipe par la section Pour les profs.

Enfin, du nouveau contenu est ajouté chaque semaine à travers les plateformes suivantes :
MAJ sur Facebook (pour les enseignants)
MAJ sur le Web
MAJ sur Instagram
MAJ sur YouTube

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!