The challenges of distance education in Nord-du-Québec

Since the summer of 2020, the educational team of the adult education and vocational training sector of the Kativik School Services Center has shown solidarity and ingenuity to organize online education for registered students. The École branchée spoke with Isabelle Bertolotti, in charge of the project, who tells us about the challenges and successes of recent months.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Since the summer of 2020, the educational team of the adult education and vocational training sector of the Kativik School Services Center has shown solidarity and ingenuity to organize online education for registered students. The École branchée spoke with Isabelle Bertolotti, in charge of the project, who tells us about the challenges and successes of recent months.

Needless to say, education in Nord-du-Québec has its share of challenges, even in “normal” times: communities far apart from each other, very small schools, school calendars different from the rest of the province, necessity. to give courses in French and English, etc. With the pandemic, the difficult access to the Internet and its instability due to the weather have added to the challenges.

As of spring 2020, schools had closed and had never been reopened. “In distance education, we had nothing. We had to start from scratch, ”says Isabelle Bertolotti, who took up her post in the summer of 2020 to build a distance education service for the adult education and vocational training sectors of the Service Center. Kativik school. “You had to have something to offer for the start of the school year in September. "

Ms. Bertolotti is surrounded by a team of ten people. “We're all at a distance, but the teamwork is amazing. Everyone is committed to the project and wants to offer quality courses to students. "

Downloadable courses

The choice of the team stopped on Moodle as a platform to host and deliver distance learning courses. Why? Quite simply because Moodle allows lessons to be downloaded to the student's computer. He does not need to be connected to the Internet at all times to have access to it. “This is one of the things to consider in the North. You have to adapt to reality and you have to be as easy as possible for the students to avoid dropping out. "

Ms. Bertolotti's team also wishes to make life easier for the teachers who offer the courses. “Distance education requires a lot more preparation. We aim to build complete courses that will be offered turnkey to teachers. Obviously, they can adapt them later. It becomes real collaborative work ”.

The team is working as a priority on the creation of compulsory courses for obtaining a high school diploma, both in French and in English. Several of them are already available on the platform. “Obtaining the DES is decisive for moving to other levels of education and enabling our clientele to progress. A recognition of prior learning component is also in preparation. »Tailor-made optional courses will then be prepared.

A distance course bank?

Ms. Bertolotti dreams of the day when a bank of distance learning courses for adult education will be available online. “I am sure that at the moment other school service centers are adapting the same content as us for online education. Why not share them? ".

It is still too early to know the real impact of this digital shift. The CSS Kativik adult sector currently has 370 registrants. “This is a long-term project that will certainly open up new possibilities for our students. They already have more flexibility to complete their course. Some courses even have a self-registration feature, allowing students to register themselves.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les défis de l’enseignement à distance dans le Nord-du-Québec

Depuis l’été 2020, l’équipe pédagogique du secteur de l’éducation des adultes et de la formation professionnelle du Centre de services scolaire Kativik a fait preuve de solidarité et d’ingéniosité pour organiser l’enseignement en ligne aux étudiants inscrits. L’École branchée a discuté avec Isabelle Bertolotti, en charge du projet, qui nous parle des défis et succès des derniers mois.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Depuis l’été 2020, l’équipe pédagogique du secteur de l’éducation des adultes et de la formation professionnelle du Centre de services scolaire Kativik a fait preuve de solidarité et d’ingéniosité pour organiser l’enseignement en ligne aux étudiants inscrits. L’École branchée a discuté avec Isabelle Bertolotti, en charge du projet, qui nous parle des défis et succès des derniers mois.

Nul besoin de le rappeler, l’enseignement dans le Nord-du-Québec comporte son lot de défis, même en temps « normal » : communautés éloignées les unes des autres, très petites écoles, calendriers scolaires différents du reste de la province, nécessité de dispenser des cours en français et en anglais, etc. Avec la pandémie, le difficile accès à Internet et son instabilité en raison de la météo se sont ajoutés aux enjeux.

Au printemps 2020, les écoles avaient fermé et n’avaient jamais été rouvertes. « En matière d’enseignement à distance, nous n’avions rien. Nous avons dû partir de zéro », indique Isabelle Bertolotti, qui est entrée en poste à l’été 2020 afin de bâtir un service d’enseignement à distance pour les secteurs de l’éducation des adultes et de la formation professionnelle du Centre de services scolaire Kativik. « Il fallait avoir quelque chose à offrir pour la rentrée de septembre. »

Mme Bertolotti est entourée d’une équipe d’une dizaine de personnes. « Nous sommes tous à distance, mais le travail d’équipe est incroyable. Tout le monde est engagé dans le projet et souhaite offrir des cours de qualité aux étudiants. »

Des cours téléchargeables

Le choix de l’équipe s’est arrêté sur Moodle comme plateforme pour héberger et dispenser les cours à distance. Pourquoi? Tout simplement parce que Moodle permet le téléchargement des cours sur l’ordinateur de l’élève. Il n’a pas besoin d’être connecté à Internet en tout temps pour y avoir accès. « Cela fait partie des éléments à prendre en considération dans le Nord. Il faut s’adapter à la réalité et il faut être le plus facilitant possible pour les élèves pour éviter les abandons. »

L’équipe de Mme Bertolotti souhaite aussi faciliter la vie des enseignants qui offrent les cours. « L’enseignement à distance demande beaucoup plus de préparation. Nous visons à construire des cours complets qui seront offerts clé en main aux enseignants. Évidemment, ceux-ci pourront les adapter par la suite. Cela devient un véritable travail collaboratif ».

L’équipe travaille en priorité à la création des cours obligatoires à l’obtention d’un diplôme d’études secondaires, à la fois en français et en anglais. Plusieurs d’entre eux sont d’ailleurs déjà disponibles sur la plateforme. « L’obtention du DES est déterminant pour le passage à d’autres niveaux d’éducation et permettre à notre clientèle de progresser. Un volet Reconnaissance des acquis est aussi en préparation. » Des cours à option sur mesure seront ensuite préparés.

Une banque de cours à distance?

Mme Bertolotti rêve du jour où une banque de cours à distance pour l’éducation des adultes sera disponible en ligne. « Je suis certaine qu’en ce moment, d’autres centres de services scolaires sont en train d’adapter les mêmes contenus que nous pour l’enseignement en ligne. Pourquoi ne pas les partager? ».

Il est encore trop tôt pour connaître les véritables retombées de ce virage numérique. Le secteur des adultes du CSS Kativik compte actuellement 370 inscrits. « C’est un projet à long terme qui ouvrira certainement de nouvelles possibilités pour nos étudiants. Ils ont déjà plus de flexibilité pour compléter leur cours. » Certains cours disposent même d’une fonction d’auto-inscription, permettant aux étudiants de s’inscrire eux-mêmes.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!