ADVERTISEMENT

(Discover #Edteq) Riviera Education: interactivity at the service of understanding

In 2015, Sébastien Gagnon took the plunge. He left his job as an educational advisor to embark on a new professional horizon. He will then create Riviera Éducation and his first product Sur les traces de l'Inference. Discover here the career of another proud member of the Edteq Association!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

In 2015, Sébastien Gagnon took the plunge. He left his job as an educational advisor to embark on a new professional horizon. He will then create Riviera Education and his first product In the footsteps of inference. Discover here the career of another proud member of the Edteq Association!

The big jump

About 10 years ago, Sébastien Gagnon went for a bungee jump in Chelsea, in the Outaouais. It was the most intense experience of his entire existence! Once on the catwalk, part of his brain was screaming, "Are you crazy?" You will die! The other part said to him: "Everything is going to be fine!" In his eyes, leaving his job to go into business is like the leap that often came to his mind before making his big decision. The desire for freedom and to live a different life has surpassed his need for security and his uncertainties about the future. In 2015, he therefore left his post of educational advisor to create Riviera Éducation. With the collaboration of teachers and remedial teachers, he leads the boat alone against all odds.

Interactivity for better learning

While working as a French pedagogical advisor at the Commission scolaire de Laval in 2010, Sébastien was entrusted with the mission of designing a training course on the use of TNI in reading. Although several teachers were familiar with the operation of the board and the main tools of interactive software, most found it difficult to generate educational value from them. In fact, few of them could see how IWT could have a real impact on their students' learning. For example, the use of the screen mask represents incredible advantages, but still too often overlooked in the teaching of comprehension, especially for inference and strategies.

The desire to create solutions

By giving this training to teachers and by noting the glaring lack of digital resources that make a real difference, the desire to create material became unbearable for Sébastien! For three years now, his knowledge of technology as well as his expertise in teaching reading teaching have been the solid foundations of Riviera Éducation. He feels he has no regrets about his choice of life and is happy with the progress he has made. “All the personal sacrifices and the pitfalls encountered are nothing compared to the pride I feel in thinking that teachers use with their students activities from my imagination. "

In the footsteps of inference

Sébastien says today's teachers know they have to guide the learning of understanding in their students. However, getting young people to better understand what they read is not that simple! Understanding involves the creation of inferences by uniting the clues of the text and its knowledge. In the footsteps of inference, this first interactive activity of Riviera Education, was developed to help teachers make their students more active and more flexible when they read.

Now present in hundreds of schools in Quebec, Ontario, New Brunswick and France, the product is very popular according to the comments received. Several teachers and resource teachers mentioned that the students love the activity and find it fun and engaging. What is even more gratifying for Sébastien is that many students see the direct effects on their reading skills.

A year of novelties

The year 2018 will mark the arrival of a major change at Riviera Education. Interactive activities will no longer be designed with SMART Notebook and ActivInspire software. Teachers will now have access to the material on the web through an online platform.

Also, the activity In the footsteps of inference will be offered for all elementary cycles as well as for the 1er secondary cycle. There will be two volumes for each cycle.

Finally, new products under construction, always linked to the teaching of inference, will be available at the start of the school year.

An ally for the future

Sébastien concludes: “The teachers work so hard and put so much energy into fostering the learning and success of their students. Our activities must help them to be even more effective. As a solution provider, Riviera Education wishes to establish itself for the future as a leader in the field of educational technology. So I invite you to follow our flow to make sure you don't miss a thing! "

To find out more about Riviera Education

Twitter: @RivieraEduc
Facebook :  www.facebook.com/rivieraeducation.fr
Website : rivieraeducation.com

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Association Edteq
Edteq Associationhttp://edteq.ca
The Edteq Association (Enterprises for the development of educational technologies in Quebec) brings together some fifty local businesses, small, medium and large, which have at heart school success and perseverance through the use of digital technology. Edteq members jointly pursue these objectives: to promote access to tools and digital content adapted to the Quebec educational program, to be a lever for the adoption of technologies in educational practices, to improve the learning experience and the success of students and allow our “edtech” industry to shine around the world. To know more : www.edteq.ca.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

(Découvrez #Edteq) Riviera Éducation : l’interactivité au service de la compréhension

En 2015, Sébastien Gagnon fait le grand saut. Il laisse son emploi de conseiller pédagogique pour s’élancer vers un nouvel horizon professionnel. Il créera alors Riviera Éducation et son premier produit Sur les traces de l’inférence. Découvrez ici le parcours d'un autre fier membre de l'Association Edteq!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

En 2015, Sébastien Gagnon fait le grand saut. Il laisse son emploi de conseiller pédagogique pour s’élancer vers un nouvel horizon professionnel. Il créera alors Riviera Éducation et son premier produit Sur les traces de l’inférence. Découvrez ici le parcours d’un autre fier membre de l’Association Edteq!

Le grand saut

Il y a environ 10 ans, Sébastien Gagnon est allé faire un saut de bungee à Chelsea, en Outaouais. Ce fut l’expérience la plus intense de toute son existence! Une fois sur la passerelle, une partie de son cerveau lui criait : « Es-tu fou? Tu vas mourir! » L’autre partie lui disait : « Tout va bien aller! »  À ses yeux, laisser son emploi pour se lancer en affaires se compare à ce saut qui lui est souvent revenu en tête avant de prendre sa grande décision. L’envie de liberté et de vivre une vie différente a surpassé son besoin de sécurité et ses incertitudes face à l’avenir. En 2015, il quitte donc son poste de conseiller pédagogique pour créer Riviera Éducation. Avec la collaboration d’enseignants et d’orthopédagogues, il mène la barque seul contre vents et marées.

L’interactivité pour mieux faire apprendre

Alors qu’il travaillait comme conseiller pédagogique de français à la Commission scolaire de Laval en 2010, on a confié à Sébastien la mission de concevoir une formation sur l’exploitation du TNI en lecture. Bien que plusieurs enseignants connaissaient le fonctionnement du tableau et des principaux outils des logiciels interactifs, la plupart éprouvaient des difficultés à en générer de la valeur pédagogique. En fait, peu d’entre eux arrivaient à voir comment le TNI pouvait exercer un réel impact sur l’apprentissage de leurs élèves. À titre d’exemple, l’utilisation du masque d’écran représente des avantages incroyables, mais encore trop souvent ignorés dans l’enseignement de la compréhension, particulièrement pour l’inférence et les stratégies.

L’envie de créer des solutions

En donnant cette formation aux enseignants et en constatant le manque flagrant de ressources numériques qui font une vraie différence, l’envie de créer du matériel devenait insoutenable pour Sébastien! Depuis maintenant trois ans, ses connaissances en technologie ainsi que son expertise en didactique de l’enseignement de la lecture constituent les solides fondations de Riviera Éducation. Il estime n’avoir aucun regret quant à son choix de vie et être heureux du chemin parcouru. « Tous les sacrifices personnels et les écueils rencontrés ne sont rien à côté de la fierté qui m’habite en pensant que des enseignants utilisent avec leurs élèves des activités issues de mon imagination. »

Sur les traces de l’inférence

Sébastien affirme que les enseignants d’aujourd’hui savent qu’ils doivent guider l’apprentissage de la compréhension chez leurs élèves. Toutefois, amener des jeunes à mieux comprendre ce qu’ils lisent n’est pas si simple! La compréhension implique la création des inférences en unissant les indices du texte et ses connaissances. Sur les traces de l’inférence, cette première activité interactive de Riviera Éducation, a justement été mise au point pour aider les enseignants à rendre leurs élèves plus actifs et plus flexibles quand ils lisent.

Maintenant présent dans des centaines d’écoles du Québec, de l’Ontario, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la France, le produit est très apprécié selon les commentaires reçus. Plusieurs enseignants et orthopédagogues ont mentionné que les élèves adorent l’activité et la trouvent plaisante et engageante. Ce qui est encore plus réjouissant pour Sébastien, c’est que beaucoup d’élèves en voient directement les effets sur leur compétence de lecteur.

Une année de nouveautés

L’année 2018 marquera l’arrivée d’un changement majeur chez Riviera Éducation. Les activités interactives ne seront plus conçues avec les logiciels SMART Notebook et ActivInspire. Les enseignants auront désormais accès au matériel sur le Web grâce à une plateforme en ligne.

Aussi, l’activité Sur les traces de l’inférence sera offerte pour tous les cycles du primaire ainsi que pour le 1er cycle du secondaire. Il y aura deux volumes pour chaque cycle.

Enfin, de nouveaux produits en construction, toujours liés à l’enseignement de l’inférence, seront disponibles à la rentrée.

Un allié pour le futur

Sébastien conclut : « Les enseignants travaillent si fort et déploient tant d’énergie pour favoriser l’apprentissage et la réussite de leurs élèves. Nos activités doivent les aider à être encore plus efficaces. Comme fournisseur de solutions, Riviera Éducation désire s’établir pour l’avenir comme chef de file dans le milieu de la technologie éducative. Je vous invite donc à suivre notre courant pour vous assurer de ne rien manquer! »

Pour en savoir plus sur Riviera Éducation

Twitter : @RivieraEduc
Facebook :  www.facebook.com/rivieraeducation.fr
Site Web : rivieraeducation.com

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Association Edteqhttp://edteq.ca
L’Association Edteq (Entreprises pour le développement des technologies éducatives au Québec) regroupe une cinquantaine d’entreprises de chez nous, petites, moyennes et grandes, qui ont à coeur la réussite et la persévérance scolaires par l’usage du numérique. Les membres Edteq poursuivent ensemble ces objectifs : favoriser l’accès aux outils et aux contenus numériques adaptés au programme éducatif québécois, être un levier d’adoption des technologies dans les pratiques éducatives, améliorer l’expérience d’apprentissage et le succès des élèves et permettre à notre industrie « edtech » de rayonner dans le monde. Pour en savoir plus : www.edteq.ca.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct