ADVERTISEMENT

Inspiring ICT projects experienced in grade 6 class

Recently, we asked volunteer teachers to tell us about their ICT successes this year. Patrick Valois agreed to tell us about the project of writing a detective novel and the virtual interaction of the students via the Edmodo platform.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Recently, we asked volunteer teachers to tell us about their ICT successes this year. Patrick Valois agreed to tell us about the project of writing a detective novel and the virtual interaction of the students via the Edmodo platform.

Patrick Valois teaches in an intensive sixth year English program at Académie Lafontaine in St-Jérôme. He has been using ICT in his classroom for over 10 years. For him, ICT democratizes the development of skills in students who would previously have required considerable equipment. “Making films, editing photos, publishing books, all of this is made so easy with today's tools,” he explains in an interview.

We asked him to tell us about his winning projects of the year. He chose to focus more particularly on one tool and two projects.

 

A striking tool in its year: Edmodo

Edmodo, it's an online tool that's often referred to as a Facebook for schools, but it's so much more than that. In fact, this tool facilitates exchanges between the pupils and the teacher, and between the pupils themselves. You can upload videos, web links, documents, etc. You can use it as a diary, to do polls, etc. It is a very complete tool that allowed me to take my first steps towards what could be called the start of a flipped class. The pupils ask questions there, other pupils answer them (often from home, often without my having asked them). "

For next year, he intends to involve the pupils more in the production of content, so that they too can contribute to the feeding of the class site. It also plans to add content produced on another platform, Didacti, when possible.

 

An interesting ICT project: writing a detective story

“We read in class this year a detective novel (Poison Red). To follow up on this reading, I asked the students to write a detective story. We worked in class on the various aspects, what was essential to include, the differences with a traditional story, etc. Obviously, he was not going to miss the opportunity to have his students use certain technologies to enrich the project. For example, to write their own story, students typed it using the free software suite Open Office.

Subsequently, they used StoryJumper, an online application, to create their own electronic book. They did the layout of their text and inserted illustrations. “It's a very easy-to-use tool,” explains Patrick Valois. " The finished product looks like a book you can flip through. After the stories were finished, they asked the grade 5 students at the school to rate their stories. “All they had to do was go to a blog created especially for the occasion. "

“I find that the learning made by the students was relevant, that they understood that they themselves could answer the questions of others, that the project was meaningful to them. In fact, he plans to relive the project next year. He is thinking of going further at the ICT level by working on improving pupils' texts with Antidote, to enrich their vocabulary, check the structure of their sentences, etc. "I would also like their texts to be disseminated on a larger scale", he explains, specifying that the reading this year by the 5e this year was probably not satisfactory enough for them. “Or they might write their story for a younger student, using information provided by that person. "

One thing is certain, he will have a great summer to think about it!

Have you experienced great ICT projects in class this year? Write to us to tell us about it! info@ecolebranchee.com

 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

D’inspirants projets TIC vécus en classe de 6e année

Récemment, nous avons demandé à des enseignants volontaires de nous parler de leurs bons coups « TIC » cette année. Patrick Valois a accepté de nous parler du projet d’écriture d’un roman policier et de l’interaction virtuelle des élèves via la plateforme Edmodo.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Récemment, nous avons demandé à des enseignants volontaires de nous parler de leurs bons coups « TIC » cette année. Patrick Valois a accepté de nous parler du projet d’écriture d’un roman policier et de l’interaction virtuelle des élèves via la plateforme Edmodo.

Patrick Valois enseigne dans un programme d’anglais intensif en sixième année à l’Académie Lafontaine, à St-Jérôme. Il utilise les TIC dans sa classe depuis plus de 10 ans. Pour lui, les TIC démocratisent le développement d’habiletés chez les élèves qui auraient autrefois demandé un équipement considérable. « La réalisation de films, les montages photo, la publication de livres, tout cela est rendu tellement facile avec les outils d’aujourd’hui.», précise-t-il en entrevue.

Nous lui avons demandé de nous parler de ses projets gagnants de l’année. Il a choisi de se concentrer plus particulièrement sur un outil et deux projets.

 

Un outil marquant dans son année : Edmodo

« Edmodo, c’est un outil en ligne qui est souvent considéré comme un Facebook pour les écoles, mais c’est tellement plus que cela. En fait, cet outil facilite les échanges entre les élèves et l’enseignant, et entre les élèves eux-mêmes. On peut y déposer des vidéos, des liens Web, des documents, etc. On peut s’en servir comme agenda, pour faire des sondages, etc. C’est un outil fort complet qui m’a permis de faire mes premiers pas vers ce qu’on pourrait appeler un début de classe inversée. Les élèves y posent des questions, d’autres élèves leur répondent (souvent de la maison, souvent sans que je ne leur aie demandé). »

Pour l’an prochain, il se propose d’impliquer davantage les élèves dans la production de contenu, afin qu’ils puissent contribuer eux aussi à l’alimentation du site de la classe. Il prévoit aussi y joindre du contenu réalisé sur une autre plateforme, Didacti, lorsque cela sera possible.

 

Un projet TIC intéressant : l’écriture d’un récit policier

« Nous avons lu en classe cette année un roman policier (Rouge Poison). Pour faire suite à cette lecture, j’ai demandé aux élèves d’écrire un récit policier. Nous avons travaillé en classe les divers aspects, ce qui était essentiel d’y inclure, les différences avec un récit traditionnel, etc. » Évidemment, il n’allait pas rater l’occasion de faire utiliser certaines technologies à ses élèves pour enrichir le projet. Par exemple, pour écrire leur propre récit, les élèves l’ont tapé à l’aide de la suite logicielle libre OpenOffice.

Par la suite, ils se sont servis de StoryJumper, une application en ligne, pour créer leur propre livre électronique. Ils y ont fait la mise en page de leur texte et y ont inséré des illustrations. « C’est un outil fort simple d’utilisation », explique Patrick Valois. « Le produit fini ressemble à un livre qu’on peut feuilleter. » Une fois les récits terminés, ils ont demandé aux élèves de 5e année de l’école d’évaluer leurs récits. « Ils n’avaient qu’à se rendre sur un blogue créé exprès pour l’occasion. »

«  Je trouve que les apprentissages faits par les élèves étaient pertinents, qu’ils ont compris qu’ils pouvaient eux-mêmes répondre aux questions des autres, que le projet était signifiant pour eux. » D’ailleurs, il prévoit revivre le projet l’an prochain. Il songe à aller plus loin au niveau TIC en travaillant l’amélioration du texte des élèves avec Antidote, pour enrichir leur vocabulaire, vérifier la structure de leurs phrases, etc. « J’aimerais aussi que leurs textes soient diffusés à plus grande échelle », explique-t-il, en précisant que la lecture cette année par les 5e année n’était probablement pas suffisamment satisfaisante pour eux. « Ou bien qu’ils écrivent leur récit pour un élève plus jeune, en se servant d’informations fournies par cette personne. »

Chose certaine, il aura un bel été pour y penser!

Vous avez vécu de beaux projets TIC en classe cette année? Écrivez-nous pour nous en parler! info@ecolebranchee.com

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :