ADVERTISEMENT

#DevProf - Teacher agency: the importance of taking action

In the context of teaching staff, agency refers to the ability to act in the school system. Our collaborator, Michelle Deschênes, presents the concept to you and invites you to share the initiatives that you will undertake during the next school year.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Michelle Deschênes, professor of educational psychology in vocational education, Université du Québec à Rimouski

Generally speaking, agency is the capacity of individuals to initiate intentional acts, to undertake actions that go beyond accepted habits (Bandura, 2006; Engeström and Sannino, 2013). Agency also refers to the interaction between this capacity and the conditions in which individuals find themselves (Biesta and Tedder, 2007). 

In the specific context of teaching staff, agency therefore refers to the ability to put into action in the school system in which one practices. We can think of teachers who innovate in the use of digital technology or in the evaluation of learning, of those who position themselves as critical cultural mediators, of those who are actively involved in the school team or in the within their community, etc. They have taken the initiative to take actions that go beyond what is expected.

A year under the theme of agency

The 2020-2021 school year allowed us to appreciate manifestations of agency. The teachers had to adapt their practice according to the social and health instructions, according to the classes or the students in confinement. In many settings, teachers have been propelled into situations where they have had to learn to use digital technology to teach and to teach people. Some teachers have known the urgency to adapt, to learn to use digital tools and resources; others took advantage of this situation to innovate, collaborate with colleagues, and mobilize families and communities. 

What should be left of this special year? Despite all the pitfalls and disappointments associated with the pandemic, if we had to remember only one thing, it is probably the agency shown by these teachers. 

Take action to ensure professional development

From a professional development perspective, agency is when a teacher sets a goal and puts in place what is needed to achieve it. He identifies and uses the resources likely to allow him to improve himself. He enters into communication with people who can help him progress (to learn two) or who share a similar goal (to learn with them). He chooses and implements the appropriate strategies and he evaluates the consequences. He compares the situation in which he finds himself with that in which he wishes to be, he examines and adjusts his approach. In doing so, he becomes the main actor in his professional development. 

And you, what will you do this year to become the main player in your professional development? 

Do not hesitate to share your objective with your colleagues, educational advisers, your administration, the teachers you meet on social networks, etc.

By cultivating these connections, you will be able to access the human and material resources allowing you to ensure your own professional development and who knows, you may even inspire some of your colleagues!

— 

To go further with the École branchée ...

  • Discover the CréaCamp Découverte, the continuing education formula that is spread over the whole year and allows you to discover different ways of putting digital skills into practice in the service of student success - directly or on demand. 
  • Subscribe to the École branchée magazine. The theme of fall 2021 issue is precisely professional development.

— 

References 

Bandura, A. (2006). Toward a psychology of human agency. Perspectives on Psychological Science, 1(2), 164–180 https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1745-6916.2006.00011.x 

Biesta, G. and Tedder, M. (2007). Agency and learning in the lifecourse: Towards an ecological perspective. Studies in the Education of Adults, 39(2), 132-149. https://doi.org/10.1080/02660830.2007.11661545 

Engeström, Y. and Sannino, A. (2013). Volition and transformative agency: theoretical perspective of activity. International Review of CRIRES: innovating in the tradition of Vygotsky, 1(1), p. 4-19. http://ojs.crires.ulaval.ca/index.php/ric/article/view/7/7 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

#DevProf – L’agentivité des enseignants : de l’importance de se mettre en action

Dans le contexte du personnel enseignant, l’agentivité fait référence à la capacité à se mettre en action dans le système scolaire. Notre collaboratrice, Michelle Deschênes, vous présente le concept et vous invite à partager les initiatives que vous entreprendrez au cours de la prochaine année scolaire.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Michelle Deschênes, professeure en psychopédagogie de l’enseignement professionnel, Université du Québec à Rimouski

De façon générale, l’agentivité est la capacité des individus à initier des actes intentionnels, à entreprendre des actions qui vont au-delà des habitudes acceptées (Bandura, 2006; Engeström et Sannino, 2013). L’agentivité réfère aussi à l’interaction entre cette capacité et les conditions dans lesquelles les individus se trouvent (Biesta et Tedder, 2007). 

Dans le contexte particulier du personnel enseignant, l’agentivité fait donc référence à la capacité à se mettre en action dans le système scolaire dans lequel on exerce. On peut penser aux enseignants qui innovent en matière d’utilisation du numérique ou d’évaluation des apprentissages, à ceux qui se positionnent en tant que médiateurs culturels critiques, à ceux qui s’impliquent activement au sein de l’équipe-école ou au sein de leur communauté, etc. Ils ont pris l’initiative d’entreprendre des actions qui vont au-delà de ce qui est attendu.

Une année sous le thème de l’agentivité

L’année scolaire 2020-2021 a permis d’apprécier des manifestations d’agentivité. Les enseignants ont eu à adapter leur pratique au gré des consignes sociosanitaires, selon les classes ou les élèves en confinement. Dans plusieurs milieux, les enseignants ont été propulsés dans des situations où ils ont dû apprendre à utiliser le numérique pour enseigner et faire apprendre. Certains enseignants ont connu l’urgence de s’adapter, d’apprendre à utiliser les outils et ressources numériques; d’autres ont profité de cette situation pour innover, collaborer avec des collègues, mobiliser les familles et les communautés. 

Que devrait-il rester de cette année si particulière? Malgré toutes les embûches et les déceptions liées à la pandémie, si on ne devait retenir qu’une chose, c’est probablement l’agentivité dont ont fait preuve ces enseignants. 

Se mettre en action pour assurer son développement professionnel

Dans une perspective de développement professionnel, l’agentivité se manifeste lorsqu’un enseignant se fixe un objectif et met en place ce qu’il faut pour l’atteindre. Il identifie et utilise les ressources susceptibles de lui permettre de se perfectionner. Il entre en communication avec les personnes qui pourront l’aider à progresser (pour apprendre d’eux) ou qui partagent un objectif similaire (pour apprendre avec eux). Il choisit et met en œuvre les stratégies appropriées et il en évalue les retombées. Il compare la situation dans laquelle il se trouve avec celle dans laquelle il souhaite être, il examine et ajuste sa démarche. Ce faisant, il devient l’acteur principal de son développement professionnel. 

Et vous, que ferez-vous, cette année, pour devenir l’acteur principal de votre développement professionnel? 

N’hésitez pas à partager votre objectif avec vos collègues, des conseillers pédagogiques, votre direction, les enseignants que vous côtoyez sur les réseaux sociaux, etc.

En cultivant ces connexions, vous pourrez accéder aux ressources humaines et matérielles vous permettant d’assurer votre propre développement professionnel et qui sait, vous pourrez même inspirer certains de vos collègues!

— 

Pour aller plus loin avec l’École branchée…

  • Découvrez le CréaCamp Découverte, la formule de formation continue qui s’étale sur toute l’année et permet de découvrir différentes façons de mettre en pratique la compétence numérique au service de la réussite des élèves – en direct ou à la demande. 
  • Abonnez-vous au magazine École branchée. Le thème du numéro de l’automne 2021 est justement le développement professionnel.

— 

Références 

Bandura, A. (2006). Toward a psychology of human agency. Perspectives on Psychological Science, 1(2), 164–180 https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1745-6916.2006.00011.x 

Biesta, G. et Tedder, M. (2007). Agency and learning in the lifecourse: Towards an ecological perspective. Studies in the Education of Adults, 39(2), 132-149. https://doi.org/10.1080/02660830.2007.11661545 

Engeström, Y. et Sannino, A. (2013). La volition et l’agentivité transformatrice: perspective théorique de l’activité. Revue internationale du CRIRES: innover dans la tradition de Vygotsky, 1(1), p. 4-19. http://ojs.crires.ulaval.ca/index.php/ric/article/view/7/7 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct