Concrete ideas to make better use of breakout rooms in virtual classrooms

How to advantageously use breakout rooms in distance education? Here are some examples of winning uses of these famous sub-rooms.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

We often hear that the use of discussion rooms for subgroups (breakout rooms) is a winning element to promote engagement in distance education. However, in practice, it is not that simple! Here are some examples of winning uses of these famous sub-rooms!

In a virtual classroom, the teacher typically takes up most of the conversation during a synchronous lesson. It is quite difficult for students to participate or think out loud in this environment.

However, we know that the use of discussion rooms for subgroups (breakout rooms) is a winning element in fostering engagement during distance education. We imagine ourselves creating a community of students who learn from each other and make good use of the time available to them.

This is what Marc Proulx, French teacher at 1er secondary cycle in Quebec. During the two weeks of distance school after the holidays, he enthusiastically launched his students into a small group activity in sub-rooms. After a few minutes, he noticed that absolutely nothing was happening: the young people had remained in total silence, with their cameras closed… “What a mistake on my part! », He admits today, laughing. Being the very first teacher who used the sub-rooms with these students, they had no idea how to put themselves into action, especially since they came from two different bubble classes: the link between them did not was not there.

Teacher Samantha Shane, as she explains in a recent Edutopia article, also faced closed cameras before changing strategy. She also shares five ideas that she has experimented with and which have improved the experience of the famous sub-rooms. We have also spotted other concrete ideas on the web that seem interesting to try.

We will summarize them for you.

1. Individual tasks first, group tasks then

For Samantha Shane, assigning students individual tasks before placing them in groups helps foster more meaningful discussions, centered on the work done just before and inviting everyone to share in order to synthesize ideas. Students can even be asked to record their discussion, which holds them accountable for their contributions and provides an opportunity for formative assessment.

2. Focus on team building (team building), the content will come next

Start with an activity of team building In small groups, it is possible to build relationships, share ideas and practice communication skills. “When I let the students choose their groups and limit the number of participants in the sub-rooms, they talk more and have a less stressful experience. As they get more comfortable with each other, I change the groups, ”she explains.

The need for social and emotional connection is especially great during the pandemic and in distance learning. Use strategies from SEL (social emotional learning, or social and emotional learning) in the sub-rooms promotes the gradual development of a sense of community in the classroom. Over time, Samantha Shane notes, they also become more likely to participate in content-related activities.

3. Assign roles to students

To help young people to appropriate the work in sub-rooms, one can assign roles such as group leader, document curator, time keeper, etc. The group leader will help set expectations and keep the group on track. If the discussion ceases or deviates from the task, he can bring it all back. Also, the one who has the role of curator can take notes and organize the information shared between members of the group.

4. Take walks between the virtual rooms

When separating her students into sub-groups, Ms. Shane sometimes leaves the option that students can walk from room to room (option available in Zoom, among others). She initially names some students as “presenters”. These remain in the rooms to share information with those who come to visit them (mini presentation, teaching by peers, exhibition of works, etc.). The timer function is used to indicate when it is time to change rooms so that students are always on the move. The next time, the young people change roles. They also record their findings in a Google document as they progress in the activity.

5. Establish standards and expectations with students

“At the start of the school year, my students set the standards and expectations for the class,” says Shane. Allowing students to create the basic rules of how the group works, especially online, improves their use of sub-rooms, she notes. Young people are aware of the expectations of the group and what they need to contribute, and they understand what is expected of them.

At all times, Samantha Shane recalls, it's about creating and nurturing a space for students to connect, think, grow and collaborate. Moreover, the teacher plans to continue using most of her new strategies even when returning to class: establishing standards for groups, assigning roles and responsibilities, and keeping time for individual work in preparation for classroom activities. group. She expects this to have a positive impact on the effectiveness of the collaboration.

For her part, Jennifer Brown, from EdTech Magazine, invites you to stop striving for perfection. For example, if you are worried that you may not be spending enough time in all the sub-rooms, remember that it might be the same in class ... 

Other ideas in bulk 

Rooms with "atmosphere": in a Google Slides page for example, insert images of doors, one of which will lead to a sub-room (a meeting) where you will have to be in silence, the other to a room where the reflection with an open microphone will be encouraged, another with background music, why not! Another could be the one to reach the teacher for help.

To go further with the idea of “doors”, each could also lead to a collaborative wall or a Jamboard, preparing the team members to work on the same ready-made document that the teacher can consult in real time.

Do you have the chance to teach at a distance only if a bubble-class is closed? The habits will be more difficult to install, but a simple and appreciated use of the sub-rooms by Marc Proulx is to use them as a virtual "corridor", to be able to speak to a student or to help him in private while the others are. to the job.

And you, what are your best experiences using breakout rooms? Share them with us and our readers in the comments! 


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
5- Collaborate using digital technology

To see the Framework.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Editor of École branchée magazine, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technology and a bachelor's degree in public communication. A member of the Professional Federation of Quebec Journalists (FPJQ), she is particularly interested in news related to the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education. She has been active in building bridges in the educational ecosystem since 1999. These days she is particularly involved in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, rabbits, horses, good wine and ... web programming!

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Our next live trainings

Des idées concrètes pour mieux tirer profit des sous-salles (breakout rooms) en classe virtuelle

Comment utiliser avantageusement les sous-groupes (breakout rooms) en enseignement à distance? Voici des exemples d’usages gagnants de ces fameuses sous-salles.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

On entend souvent que l’usage de salles de discussion pour sous-groupes (breakout rooms) est un élément gagnant pour favoriser l’engagement en enseignement à distance. Pourtant, dans la pratique, ce n’est pas si simple! Voici des exemples d’usages gagnants de ces fameuses sous-salles!

Dans une salle de classe virtuelle, l’enseignant occupe généralement la majeure partie de la conversation pendant une leçon synchrone. C’est assez difficile pour les élèves de participer ou de réfléchir à voix haute dans cet environnement.

On sait toutefois que l’usage de salles de discussion pour sous-groupes (breakout rooms) est un élément gagnant pour favoriser l’engagement pendant l’enseignement à distance. On s’imagine ainsi créer une communauté d’élèves qui apprennent les uns des autres et font bon usage du temps dont ils disposent.

C’est d’ailleurs ce que pensait Marc Proulx, enseignant de français au 1er cycle du secondaire, à Québec. Lors des deux semaines d’école à distance au retour des fêtes, enthousiaste, il a lancé ses élèves dans une activité en petits groupes, dans des sous-salles. Après quelques minutes, il a constaté qu’il ne se passait absolument rien : les jeunes étaient restés en silence total, avec leurs caméras fermées… « Quelle erreur de ma part! », admet-il aujourd’hui en riant. Étant le tout premier enseignant qui utilisait les sous-salles avec ces élèves, ces derniers n’avaient aucune idée de comment se mettre en action, d’autant plus qu’ils provenaient de deux classes-bulles différentes : le lien entre eux n’y était pas.

L’enseignante Samantha Shane, comme elle l’explique dans un article récent d’Edutopia, a aussi fait face à des caméras fermées avant de changer de stratégie. Elle partage d’ailleurs cinq idées qu’elle a expérimentées et qui ont amélioré l’expérience des fameuses sous-salles. Nous avons aussi repéré sur le Web d’autres idées concrètes qui semblent intéressantes à essayer.

On vous les résume.

1. Tâches individuelles d’abord, tâches de groupe ensuite

Pour Samantha Shane, attribuer aux élèves des tâches individuelles avant de les placer en groupe aide à favoriser des discussions plus significatives, centrées sur le travail fait juste avant et invitant au partage de chacun pour synthétiser les idées. On peut même demander aux élèves d’enregistrer leur discussion, ce qui les tient responsables de leurs contributions et offre une occasion d’évaluation formative.

2. Miser sur la consolidation d’équipe (team building), le contenu viendra ensuite

Commencer par une activité de team building en sous-groupes permet de nouer des relations, de partager des idées et de mettre en pratique les compétences en communication. « Lorsque je laisse les élèves choisir leurs groupes et que je limite le nombre de participants dans les sous-salles, ils parlent davantage et vivent une expérience moins stressante. À mesure qu’ils se sentent plus à l’aise les uns avec les autres, je change les groupes », explique-t-elle.

Le besoin de connexion sociale et émotionnelle est particulièrement grand pendant la pandémie et en apprentissage à distance. Utiliser des stratégies issues du SEL (social emotional learning, ou apprentissage social et émotionnel) dans les sous-salles favorise le développement graduel d’un sentiment de communauté dans la classe. Au fil du temps, remarque Samantha Shane, ils deviennent aussi plus susceptibles de participer à des activités liées au contenu.

3. Attribuer des rôles aux élèves

Pour aider les jeunes à s’approprier le travail en sous-salles, on peut attribuer des rôles tels que chef de groupe, conservateur de documents, gardien du temps, etc. Le chef de groupe aidera à établir les attentes et à maintenir le groupe sur la bonne voie. Si la discussion cesse ou dévie de la tâche, il peut ramener le tout. Aussi, celui qui a le rôle de conservateur peut prendre des notes et organiser les informations partagées entre des membres du groupe.

4. Faire des promenades entre les salles virtuelles

Lorsqu’elle sépare ses élèves en sous-groupes, Mme Shane laisse parfois l’option que les élèves puissent se promener de salle en salle (option disponible dans Zoom, entre autres). Elle nomme au départ certains élèves comme « présentateurs ». Ceux-ci restent dans les salles pour partager des informations à ceux qui viennent les visiter (mini exposé, enseignement par les pairs, exposition de travaux, etc.). La fonction minuterie est utilisée pour indiquer quand il est temps de changer de salle afin que les élèves soient toujours en mouvement. La fois suivante, les jeunes changent de rôle. Ils enregistrent aussi leurs découvertes dans un document Google au fur et à mesure de leur progression dans l’activité.

5. Établir des normes et des attentes avec les élèves

« Au début de l’année scolaire, mes élèves fixent les normes et les attentes de la classe », explique Mme Shane. Permettre aux élèves de créer les règles de base du fonctionnement du groupe, notamment en ligne, améliore leur usage des sous-salles, remarque-t-elle. Les jeunes sont conscients des attentes du groupe et de ce dont ils ont besoin pour contribuer, et ils comprennent ce que l’on attend d’eux.

En tout temps, rappelle Samantha Shane, il s’agit de créer et d’entretenir un espace permettant aux élèves de se connecter, de réfléchir, de grandir et de collaborer. D’ailleurs, l’enseignante prévoit continuer d’utiliser la plupart de ses nouvelles stratégies même lors du retour en classe : établir des normes pour les groupes, donner des rôles et responsabilités, et garder du temps pour du travail individuel préparatoire aux activités de groupe. Elle s’attend à ce que cela ait un impact positif sur l’efficacité de la collaboration.

Pour sa part, Jennifer Brown, d’EdTech Magazine, invite à cesser de viser la perfection. Par exemple, si vous craignez de ne pas passer suffisamment de temps dans toutes les sous-salles, rappelez-vous que ce serait possiblement la même chose en classe… 

D’autres idées en vrac 

Les salles avec « ambiance » : dans une page Google Slides par exemple, insérez des images de portes, dont l’une mènera vers une sous-salle (une réunion) où il faudra être en silence, l’autre vers une salle où la réflexion à micro ouvert sera encouragée, une autre avec une musique d’ambiance, pourquoi pas! Une autre pourrait être celle permettant de rejoindre l’enseignant pour obtenir de l’aide.

Pour aller plus loin dans l’idée des « portes », chacune pourrait aussi mener à un mur collaboratif ou un Jamboard, préparant les équipiers à travailler sur un même document tout prêt et que l’enseignant pourra consulter en temps réel.

Vous avez la chance d’enseigner à distance uniquement en cas de fermeture d’une bulle-classe? Les habitudes seront plus difficiles à installer, mais un usage simple et apprécié des sous-salles par Marc Proulx est de s’en servir comme « corridor » virtuel, pour pouvoir parler à un élève ou l’aider en privé pendant que les autres sont à la tâche.

Et vous, quelles sont vos meilleures expériences d’utilisation des breakout rooms? Partagez-les avec nous et nos lecteurs en commentaires! 


Dimension(s) de la compétence numérique en lien avec cet article
5- Collaborer à l’aide du numérique

Voir le Cadre de référence.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Éditrice du magazine École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), elle s'intéresse particulièrement l'actualité liée au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias. Elle s'active à créer des ponts dans l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Nos prochaines formations en direct