International Congress on Suicide Prevention at UQÀM

The International Congress on Suicide Prevention is taking place this week at UQÀM.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The International Congress on Suicide Prevention is taking place this week at UQÀM.

With new technologies, phenomena such as suicide on the Internet and cyberbullying are appearing, among others, but also new practices and means of intervention using these new technologies in suicide prevention. More than 800 participants will meet at theUQAM from June 16 to 20, on the occasion of the 28e edition of the World Congress of the International Association for Suicide Prevention (IASP), to discuss and tackle subjects touching on the major public health issue of suicide.

Globally, suicide occurs every 40 seconds and it is the third leading cause of death for the 18-44 age group. Every day in Quebec, at least three people take their own lives. The emergence of these new intervention perspectives linked to new information and communication technologies could help reduce the suicide rate. To this end, in accordance with the Comprehensive mental health action plan 2013-2020 World Health Organization (WHO) member states, including Canada, have pledged to reduce suicide rates by 10 % by 2020. Although the target has not yet been met, it It is encouraging to note that constant progress has made it possible to reduce the extent of suicide, including a 50 % drop in the suicide rate among young people in Quebec.

As part of this congress, the speakers will meet to discuss the updating of knowledge about suicide and the dissemination of it, essential elements for understanding suicide and implementing effective practices adapted to our changing societies. .

The lecturer Réal Labelle, professor in the Department of Psychology at UQAM and researcher at CRISE and at the Research Center of the University Institute in Mental Health of Montreal, specializing in suicidal behavior, adolescents, new technologies and cognitive therapy, has developped with his team the mobile application for iPhone @PSY ASSISTANCE, at the Research Center of the Montreal Mental Health University Institute (IUSMM). This application was also awarded the Collectivité Branchée prize awarded by the Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association in April 2015.

 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Congrès international en prévention du suicide à l’UQÀM

Le Congrès international en prévention du suicide a lieu cette semaine à l’UQÀM.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Le Congrès international en prévention du suicide a lieu cette semaine à l’UQÀM.

Avec les nouvelles technologies apparaissent, entre autres, des phénomènes comme le suicide sur Internet et la cyberintimidation, mais aussi de nouvelles pratiques et moyens d’intervention utilisant ces nouvelles technologies en matière de prévention du suicide. Plus de 800 participants se réuniront, à l’UQAM du 16 au 20 juin prochains, à l’occasion de la 28e édition du Congrès mondial de l’Association internationale pour la prévention du suicide (IASP), pour en discuter et aborder les sujets touchant cet enjeu majeur de santé publique qu’est le suicide.

Dans le monde, un suicide se produit toutes les quarante secondes et il s’agit de la troisième cause de mortalité pour le groupe des 18-44 ans. Chaque jour au Québec, c’est au moins trois personnes qui s’enlèvent la vie. L’émergence de ces nouvelles perspectives d’intervention liées aux nouvelles technologies de l’information et de la communication pourrait participer à la réduction du taux de suicide. À cet effet, en accord avec le Plan d’action global pour la santé mentale 2013-2020 de l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS), les États membres, incluant le Canada, se sont engagés à réduire les taux de suicide de 10 % d’ici 2020. Même si l’objectif n’est pas encore atteint, il est encourageant de constater que des progrès constants ont permis de réduire l’ampleur du suicide dont une baisse de 50 % du taux de suicide chez les jeunes au Québec.

Dans le cadre de ce congrès, les conférenciers se réuniront afin de discuter de l’actualisation des connaissances sur le suicide et de la diffusion de celles-ci, des éléments indispensables pour comprendre le suicide et implanter des pratiques efficaces et adaptées à nos sociétés changeantes.

Le conférencier Réal Labelle, professeur au Département de psychologie de l’UQAM et chercheur au CRISE et au Centre de recherche de l’Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal, spécialisé dans les conduites suicidaires, adolescents, nouvelles technologies et thérapie cognitive, a développé avec son équipe l’application mobile pour iPhone @PSY ASSISTANCE, au Centre de recherche de l’Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Montréal (IUSMM). Cette application a d’ailleurs été récompensée par le prix Collectivité Branchée remis par l’Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil en avril 2015.

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :