Design learning universally

Universal Design for Learning (UDL) is a philosophy of teaching that presupposes the inclusion of all students and aims to meet the needs of each, by first thinking about the barriers that courses may present and the ways to mitigate them.

You might also like:

Add to favorites (0)

Universal Design for Learning (UDL) is a philosophy of teaching that presupposes the inclusion of all students and aims to meet the needs of each, by first thinking about the barriers that courses may present and the ways to mitigate them. 

Disabilities diagnosed, unidentified or temporary… all are obstacles available to students for learning. What if we offered to everyone, at all times, diversified means of receiving information, but also of reporting on their skills to promote their commitment? It is one of the foundations of Universal Design for Learning (UDL). Mélanie Vermette and Christian Leblanc, respectively assistant director and director of educational services at Collège Durocher-Saint-Lambert, explain to us. 

Thinking about barriers to learning

“Universal design for learning (UCL) is a teaching philosophy, not an educational strategy”, announces Mélanie Vermette at the outset. Indeed, the AUC as a whole presupposes the inclusion of all students and aims to meet the needs of each, by first thinking about the barriers that lessons may present and ways to mitigate them. 

Here is an example of barriers: one morning, the pupils have a long text to read in order to prepare an activity. The length of the text can be a barrier for dyslexic students, but also quite simply for those who are tired or cold. To help all students in such a situation, the teacher could make the text available on a digital platform, which would allow those who so wish to use text-to-speech to facilitate their access. Those who do not need it are not penalized.

Diversify the means of expressing the mastery of a skill

Christian Leblanc gives another example of the AUC in action: when we want to measure the degree of achievement of a competence in a student, imposing a means of expression on him can make it so that he will not succeed in the to prove. And yet, it will not necessarily be because he does not master it, but perhaps because the means to demonstrate it does not suit him. 

Here's an example: Have students present a concept in front of the whole class for 3:30 min. There is both a time barrier and a structural barrier in this task. If the student had instead filmed or presented in front of a small group, he would be quite able to account for his competence. 

It is therefore a question of offering students diversified means of receiving information, but also of reporting on their competence to promote their commitment. It is one of the foundations of the AUC.

Often, Christian Leblanc recalls, the most disabled student in the class is not the one we think. For example, a student who is ill, in mourning or whose parents are separating is not willing to learn like everyone else. The AUC makes it possible to come to consider these temporary handicaps in the same way as those which are identified and diagnosed. In the interview, Mélanie Vermette and Christian Leblanc talk about the conditions for setting it up.

For them, in the end, the most important thing is to create a healthy and safe environment, but also caring, which increases the happiness index of each student. “There is nothing like seeing a student engaged in a task, happy and proud to hand over his work to the teacher,” concludes Mélanie Vermette. And for that, the CUA is the path that institutions like the Durocher-Saint-Lambert College, among others, choose to take.

Also: Teachers in Quebec and French-speaking Canada benefit from CADRE21's free online training on the universal learning design.

Produced with the support of Carrefour Education.

Carrefour éducation

Text by Audrey Miller

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Stephanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne is director of development and partnerships, facilitator and speaker. It contributes to the influence of players in the education sector and its ecosystem. In addition, it supports parents, teachers and workers in a mentality of co-education in order to allow young people to become fulfilled citizens in the digital age.

Concevoir l’apprentissage de façon universelle

mis à jour le :

La conception universelle de l’apprentissage (CUA) est une philosophie de l’enseignement qui présuppose l’inclusion de tous les élèves et vise à répondre aux besoins de chacun, en réfléchissant d’abord aux barrières que les cours peuvent présenter et aux façons de les atténuer. 

Handicaps diagnostiqués, non identifiés ou temporaires… tous sont des freins à la disposition des élèves pour l’apprentissage. Et si on offrait à tous et en tout temps des moyens diversifiés de recevoir l’information, mais aussi de rendre compte de leurs compétences pour favoriser leur engagement? C’est l’un des fondements de la conception universelle de l’apprentissage (CUA). Mélanie Vermette et Christian Leblanc, respectivement directrice adjointe et directeur des services éducatifs du Collège Durocher-Saint-Lambert, nous expliquent. 

Réfléchir aux barrières de l’apprentissage

« La conception universelle de l’apprentissage (CUA), c’est une philosophie de l’enseignement, ce n’est pas une stratégie pédagogique », annonce d’entrée de jeu Mélanie Vermette. En effet, la CUA présuppose dans son ensemble l’inclusion de tous les élèves et vise à répondre aux besoins de chacun, en réfléchissant d’abord aux barrières que les cours peuvent présenter et aux façons de les atténuer. 

Voici un exemple de barrières : un matin, les élèves ont un texte long à lire pour préparer une activité. La longueur du texte peut constituer un frein pour les élèves dyslexiques, mais aussi tout simplement pour ceux qui sont fatigués ou enrhumés. Pour aider tous les élèves dans une telle situation, l’enseignant pourrait rendre le texte disponible sur une plateforme numérique, ce qui permettrait à ceux qui le désirent d’utiliser la synthèse vocale pour leur en faciliter l’accès. Ceux qui n’en ont pas besoin ne sont pas pénalisés.

Diversifier les moyens d’expression de la maîtrise d’une compétence

Christian Leblanc donne un autre exemple de la CUA en action : quand on veut mesurer le degré d’atteinte d’une compétence chez un l’élève, lui imposer un moyen d’expression peut faire en sorte qu’il ne réussira pas à la démontrer. Et pourtant, ce ne sera pas nécessairement parce qu’il ne la maîtrise pas, mais peut-être parce que le moyen pour le démontrer ne lui convient pas. 

Voici un exemple : demander aux élèves de présenter un concept devant toute la classe pendant 3 min 30 s. On trouve dans cette tâche à la fois une barrière de temps et de structure. Si l’élève s’était plutôt filmé ou avait présenté devant un petit groupe, il serait tout à fait en mesure de rendre compte de sa compétence. 

Il s’agit donc d’offrir à l’élève des moyens diversifiés de recevoir l’information, mais aussi de rendre compte de sa compétence pour favoriser son engagement. C’est l’un des fondements de la CUA.

Souvent, rappelle Christian Leblanc, l’élève le plus handicapé dans la classe n’est pas celui qu’on croit. Par exemple, un élève malade, en deuil ou dont les parents sont en train de se séparer n’est pas disposé à apprendre comme les autres. La CUA permet d’en arriver à considérer ces handicaps temporaires au même titre que ceux qui sont identifiés et diagnostiqués. Dans l’entrevue, Mélanie Vermette et Christian Leblanc parlent des conditions pour la mettre en place.

Pour eux, au final, le plus important est de créer un milieu sain et sécuritaire, mais aussi bienveillant, qui permet d’augmenter l’indice de bonheur de chaque élève. « Il n’y a rien de tel que de voir un élève engagé dans une tâche, content et fier de remettre son travail à l’enseignant », conclut Mélanie Vermette. Et pour cela, la CUA est la voie que des établissements comme le Collège Durocher-Saint-Lambert, entre autres, choisissent d’emprunter.

Aussi : Les enseignants du Québec et du Canada francophone bénéficient de la formation en ligne gratuite du CADRE21 sur la conception universelle des apprentissages.

Réalisé avec le soutien de Carrefour Éducation.

Carrefour éducation

Texte par Audrey Miller



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : NOS ABONNÉS NE VOIENT PAS CES ANNONCES