Co-education and literacy: 6 guidelines to better support parents

As school workers, how can we ensure that our children benefit from optimal conditions for their development in literacy? Our collaborator offers an intervention, under the acronym BOOKS.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

According to the latest statistics, 49 % of young Quebecers between 16 and 24 years old are considered functionally illiterate. As school workers, how can we ensure that our children benefit from optimal conditions for their development in literacy? Our collaborator offers an intervention, under the acronym BOOKS.

In the best of all possible worlds, all our young people (and not so young) could read, write and count, regardless of their level of education and their background. They would thus have the happiness of understanding, of creating, of learning, of having an easier and better paid career path. They would also be less in a vulnerable context since they would have the necessary skills to understand the intricacies of an agreement, the terms of a contract and the details of an email.

Reality

Even though today's youth are constantly texting, seeming to read the net and be informed more than ever through social media, 49 % of them are considered functionally illiterate. According to the latest PIAAC statistics, it is therefore almost one in 2 young Quebecers, between 16 and 24 years old, who do not reach level 3 in literacy and numeracy, the threshold considered necessary to understand longer and more complex texts.

Teamwork?

When a child experiences difficulties at the school level, shows signs of delay in his learning, it is first the parent who is called upon. We want to team up with him, to get him involved in the implementation of strategies. Unfortunately, many families are experiencing difficulties.

Knowing that parents find themselves in situations of adversity, poverty, violence and loss of control, asking them to put more effort into reading and math at home may seem inappropriate. Despite all their good intentions, these parents do not have the energy, the skills, or even the level of literacy to support their child.

The intervention

Intervening with parents living in difficult situations, personal issues and challenges in order to equip them to better support their child in their learning in literacy is a task that requires great skill.

Here are some guidelines, under the acronym BOOKS, to incorporate into your approach.

Language

Avoid broad explanations on the importance of literacy and the issues related to delays in learning, statistics, impacts ... The parent who is going through hardship may perceive messages as a criticism, an additional weight in his reality already arduous. He may have a feeling of inferiority, or find it difficult to synthesize all this information.

Interests

Ask the parent about his interests, those he shares with the child (cars, cooking, a television series). Link to readings that could potentially engage both parent and child. (eg: "Ah, I see that you are an automobile enthusiast, just like Léonie, we have a book in class on this subject. Your daughter could bring it home and you could read it together.)

Valuation

Focus your interventions on valuing what the parent is already doing. Ask him to say what he likes to do with the child on a daily basis (play, take a walk, sing, go to the grocery store, etc.). Point out that these activities already have a significant and positive impact on their children's learning. Choose an approach based on the pleasure of reading and counting.

Resources

A parent living with socio-economic issues or having a low level of literacy will not necessarily make buying or borrowing books a priority. So it is best to highlight that words, numbers and resources are everywhere. One can read the ketchup bottle, recipe instructions, street signs, websites (under parent's supervision), calculate prices at the grocery store, etc. The child is exposed to words and numbers in everything around him, the role of the parent is to motivate his curiosity and his efforts in reading and mathematics.

Listen

Be empathetic and attentive to the issues and realities of parents, without passing judgment. Keep in mind that many are going through situations that they will not want to discuss with you, and that prevent them from being open to your educational advice. Cultivate the relationship of trust. This will be your best guarantee of success. In the longer term, it will allow you to ensure that the daily life of the child is safe and conducive to its development, and to, slowly but surely, equip the parent.

Simplicity

Limit your advice or tips to a minimum. One or two avenues to explore or put into action can be a big challenge for a parent in a precarious situation. Go for simple advice, and don't impose; suggest. Adding extra pressure can just put the parent off and become counterproductive.

The impact

Ensuring that all of our children achieve very good literacy and numeracy skills is of utmost importance. Understanding the dark clouds that weigh on the shoulders of many parents and supporting them in their reality can become the key to success in moving towards this goal.

Some resources:

  • Multiple applications are available to improve reading or help young people learn literacy and numeracy.
  • Alloprof is an excellent source of simple and practical activities and ideas.
  • Many Family community organizations (OCF) provide literacy support. Do you have questions or need resources? Contact them.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Annik De Celles
Annik De Celles is a teacher by training. After more than 15 years in the field of education at the secondary level, she has an entrepreneurial sting and founded her own company in the agri-food sector that she operates, while teaching part-time, until 2016. In 2017, Annik leaves teaching to become general manager of Septembre éditeur. She uses her passion for educational issues, the world of books and entrepreneurship, in addition to getting involved in various organizations. Annik is the author of 3 healthy cookbooks and 2 practical guides in entrepreneurship.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Coéducation et littératie : 6 lignes directrices pour mieux soutenir le parent

Comme intervenants scolaires, comment faire en sorte que nos enfants bénéficient des conditions optimales à leur développement en alphabétisation? Notre collaboratrice propose une intervention, sous l’acronyme LIVRES.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Selon les dernières statistiques, 49 % des jeunes Québécois entre 16 et 24 ans sont considérés analphabètes fonctionnels. Comme intervenants scolaires, comment faire en sorte que nos enfants bénéficient des conditions optimales à leur développement en alphabétisation? Notre collaboratrice propose une intervention, sous l’acronyme LIVRES.

Dans le meilleur des mondes, tous nos jeunes (et moins jeunes) sauraient lire, écrire et compter, peu importe leur niveau de diplomation et leur vécu. Ils auraient ainsi le bonheur de comprendre, de créer, de s’informer, d’avoir un cheminement de carrière plus facile et mieux rémunéré. Ils seraient aussi moins en contexte de vulnérabilité puisqu’ils auraient les aptitudes nécessaires pour comprendre les subtilités d’une entente, les modalités d’un contrat et les détails d’un courriel.

La réalité

Même si les jeunes d’aujourd’hui textent constamment, semblent lire sur le net et être informés plus que jamais par les médias sociaux, 49 % d’entre eux sont considérés analphabètes fonctionnels. Selon les dernières statistiques du PEICA, c’est donc près d’un jeune Québécois sur 2, entre 16 et 24 ans, qui n’atteint pas le niveau 3 en littératie et numératie, soit le seuil jugé nécessaire pour comprendre des textes plus longs et plus complexes.

Travail d’équipe?

Lorsqu’un enfant éprouve des difficultés au niveau scolaire, démontre des signes de retard dans ses apprentissages, c’est d’abord le parent qu’on interpelle. On désire faire équipe avec lui, qu’il s’implique dans la mise en place de stratégies. Malheureusement, plusieurs familles vivent des difficultés.

Sachant que des parents se trouvent dans des situations d’adversité, de pauvreté, de violence, de perte de contrôle, leur demander de mettre plus d’efforts en lecture et en mathématiques à la maison peut paraître inapproprié. Malgré toutes leurs bonnes intentions, ces parents n’ont pas l’énergie, les capacités, ou même le niveau de littératie pour soutenir leur enfant.

L’intervention

Intervenir auprès de parents vivant des situations difficiles, des enjeux et défis personnels afin de les outiller pour mieux accompagner leur enfant dans ses apprentissages en alphabétisation est une tâche qui demande un grand doigté.

Voici quelques lignes directrices, sous l’acronyme LIVRES, à intégrer dans votre approche.

Langage

Évitez les grandes explications sur l’importance de la littératie et les enjeux liés à des retards dans les apprentissages, les statistiques, les impacts… Le parent qui vit des épreuves peut percevoir des messages comme une critique, un poids de plus dans sa réalité déjà ardue. Il peut avoir un sentiment d’infériorité, ou encore éprouver de la difficulté à synthétiser toutes ces informations.

Intérêts

Questionnez le parent sur ses intérêts, ceux qu’il partage avec l’enfant (les voitures, la cuisine, une série télévisée). Faites le lien avec des lectures qui pourraient potentiellement interpeller à la fois le parent et l’enfant. (ex. : « Ah, je vois que vous êtes un passionné d’automobile, tout comme Léonie, nous avons un livre en classe sur ce sujet. Votre fille pourrait l’amener à la maison et vous pourriez le lire ensemble.)

Valorisation

Axez vos interventions sur la valorisation de ce que le parent fait déjà. Demandez-lui de dire ce qu’il aime faire au quotidien avec l’enfant (jouer, prendre une marche, chanter, aller à l’épicerie, etc.). Soulignez que ces activités ont déjà un impact important et positif dans les apprentissages de leurs enfants. Optez pour une approche basée sur le plaisir de lire et de compter.

Ressources

Un parent vivant des enjeux socio-économiques ou ayant un faible niveau de littératie ne mettra pas nécessairement l’achat ou l’emprunt de livres dans ses priorités. Il est donc préférable de mettre en valeur que les mots, les chiffres et les ressources sont partout. On peut lire la bouteille de ketchup, les instructions d’une recette, les panneaux dans la rue, des sites Web (sous la supervision du parent), calculer les prix à l’épicerie, etc. L’enfant est exposé aux mots et aux chiffres dans tout ce qui l’entoure, le rôle du parent est de motiver sa curiosité et ses efforts en lecture et en mathématiques.

Écoute

Soyez empathique et à l’écoute des enjeux et réalités des parents, sans porter de jugement. Gardez en tête que plusieurs vivent des situations dont ils ne voudront pas discuter avec vous, et qui les empêchent d’être ouverts à vos conseils pédagogiques. Cultivez la relation de confiance. Ce sera votre meilleur gage de succès. À plus long terme, il vous permettra de veiller à ce que le quotidien de l’enfant soit sécuritaire et propice à son développement, et à, lentement mais sûrement, outiller le parent.

Simplicité

Limitez vos conseils ou astuces au minimum. Une ou deux pistes à explorer ou à mettre en action peuvent être un défi de taille pour un parent qui vit une situation précaire. Optez pour des conseils simples, et n’imposez pas; suggérez. Ajouter une pression supplémentaire peut simplement rebuter le parent et devenir contre-productif.

L’impact

Voir à ce que tous nos enfants atteignent un très bon niveau de littératie et de numératie est d’une importance capitale. Comprendre les nuages noirs qui pèsent sur les épaules de plusieurs parents et les soutenir dans leur réalité peut devenir gage de succès pour cheminer vers cet objectif.

Quelques ressources :

  • Plusieurs applications sont disponibles pour parfaire la lecture ou aider les jeunes dans leurs apprentissages en littératie et numératie.
  • Alloprof est une excellente source d’activités et d’idées simples et pratiques.
  • Plusieurs organismes communautaires Famille (OCF) offrent du soutien à l’alphabétisation. Vous avez des questions ou besoins de ressources? Contactez-les.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Annik De Celles
Annik De Celles est enseignante de formation. Après plus de 15 ans dans le domaine de l’éducation au niveau secondaire, elle a la piqure entrepreneuriale et fonde sa propre compagnie dans le domaine agroalimentaire qu’elle opère, tout en enseignant à temps partiel, jusqu’en 2016. En 2017, Annik quitte l’enseignement pour devenir directrice générale de Septembre éditeur. Elle y met à profit sa passion pour les enjeux pédagogiques, le monde du livre et l’entrepreneuriat, en plus de s’impliquer au sein de diverses organisations. Annik est l’auteure de 3 livres de recettes santé et de 2 guides pratiques en entrepreneuriat.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct