Five tips to keep in mind to teach programming effectively

Although programming is gaining in popularity, its teaching remains little known and can prove to be a real challenge for teachers. Our collaborator Hugo G. Lapierre presents 5 tips to encourage students to learn coding.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

Par Hugo G. Lapierre, chargé de cours en intégration des technologies à la pratique enseignante à l’Université du Québec à Montréal

Programming is a discipline that occupies an increasingly important place in the curriculum of elementary and secondary schools in Quebec, whether in the form of concentrations, extracurricular activities, or even, more indirectly, through the use of robotics to contextualize learning in mathematics or science.

However, although programming is gaining in popularity, its teaching remains unknown and can prove to be a real challenge for teachers. As such, the article by Brown and Wilson (2018) highlights practical advice, taken from a review of the scientific literature in the field of programming didactics.

These tips, which are quite simple, are likely to promote student learning. Among all the advice offered by these authors, the five most essential have been retained and are presented here.

1- Believe in the ability of all your students to learn to program

Programming is a learning known to be difficult and often associated with very contrasting performance in students, which may suggest that some have innate skills for programming and others not.

It has even been proposed that a "programming gene" ("geek gene”) Can explain the ease of some students for programming (and, conversely, the difficulty of others who are devoid of this gene). However, this hypothesis has received no scientific support to date and has even been strongly criticized because of its simplistic and deterministic nature: according to several authors it is the most lasting myth, the most widespread and the most harmful to computer learning.

In this sense, the first piece of advice is simply to believe in the ability of all students to learn to program. Learning to program is not innate and, as with all learning, programming skills can develop and improve through practice.

It therefore appears risky to believe that “some children can succeed and others cannot”, because adhering to this false belief can unfortunately negatively influence educational interventions intended for students who have more difficulty, and even hinder their learning.

2- Do not only work on the “writing” aspect of programming

The second tip refers to the importance of not only working on skills related to writing programming. Indeed, although the literature highlights significant challenges related to the syntax, semantics and design of functional and efficient lines of code, it is also important to develop the skills of learners in reading code as well as debugging (debugging), two skills too often neglected in the first apprenticeship of novices, but nevertheless essential.

To do this, it is necessary to develop and plan activities where students read and comment on non-functional or non-optimal lines of code in order to correct them, in parallel with more traditional activities where students write code. .

3- Plan programming sessions with a peer

Peer programming is a programming practice where two programmers share a single computer. This type of dyad programming is not only a programming practice often employed in the workforce, but research indicates that it is also a good way to learn.

Indeed, the pupils who work in pairs can cooperate during the practical exercises, which is likely to encourage them more. They can, in addition, help each other to clarify the other's misunderstandings during the task. This has the effect of contributing to the learning of both parties: the weaker student can benefit from individual explanations received from the stronger, while the stronger student consolidates his learning by having to explain his thinking, which requires him to reactivate notions that he may not have thought of for a long time.

Brown and Wilson (2018) also indicate that when dyad programming is used, it is important that all students are placed in a dyad, and not just learners who are struggling, so that no one feels isolated.

From a practical point of view, this advice is all the more interesting, because at the same time it reduces the amount of material needed in the classroom, which often represents a significant constraint. However, it is not recommended to team up three learners per computer or robot, as the third member is often isolated and does not take an active part in the task.

4- use live coding

In addition to the presentation of pre-produced lines of code via slides or in an educational booklet, teachers should also try, as often as possible, to write lines of code in real time in front of their students. This teaching strategy thus allows learners to observe how an expert diagnoses and corrects his errors as he goes along, something that novices have a great need to do, but which is unfortunately absent from most textbooks.

This strategy also has the advantage of slowing down teachers who often tend to present the code too quickly, which can cause their audience to disengage. In addition, this makes it possible to raise specific questions in the students who could, for example, seek to understand in real time the reasoning behind the use of one function rather than another.

5- Stick to a single programming language during learning

Finally, the last tip is linked to a basic principle in education that applies to several areas: the transfer is only done with a master's degree. Thus, it appears preferable that the teacher selects a single programming language and stick to it until the learners have made sufficient progress before introducing a second or even changing the language. The literature seems to indicate that the transfer from one programming language to another, when introduced too early in the learning process, is likely to confuse students and contribute to eroding their confidence.

Do you do programming with your students or do you use robotics to contextualize learning? Share your experience and your projects with us by writing to info@ecolebranchee.com.

Complete reference of the popularized text : Brown, NC, & Wilson, G. (2018). Ten quick tips for teaching programming. PLoS computational biology, 14 (4), e1006023. 

In addition: Read the article Integrating educational robotics into the classroom by Hugo G. Lapierre, published in Specter, the magazine of the Association for the teaching of science and technology in Quebec.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Cinq conseils à garder en tête pour enseigner efficacement la programmation

Bien que la programmation gagne en popularité, son enseignement demeure méconnu et peut s’avérer un réel défi pour les enseignants. Notre collaborateur Hugo G. Lapierre présente 5 conseils pour favoriser l'apprentissage du codage par les élèves.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Hugo G. Lapierre, chargé de cours en intégration des technologique à la pratique enseignante à l’Université du Québec à Montréal

La programmation est une discipline qui occupe une place de plus en plus importante au sein du cursus des écoles primaires et secondaires du Québec, que ce soit sous la forme de concentrations, d’activités parascolaires, ou encore, de manière plus indirecte, par l’utilisation de la robotique pour contextualiser des apprentissages en mathématiques ou en sciences.

Toutefois, bien que la programmation gagne en popularité, son enseignement demeure méconnu et peut s’avérer un réel défi pour les enseignants. À ce titre, l’article de Brown et Wilson (2018) met en lumière des conseils pratiques, issus d’une revue de la littérature scientifique du domaine de la didactique de la programmation.

Ces conseils, somme toute assez simples, sont susceptibles de favoriser l’apprentissage des élèves. Parmi l’ensemble des conseils que proposent ces auteurs, les cinq plus essentiels ont été retenus et sont ici présentés.

1- Croire en la capacité de tous ses élèves d’apprendre à programmer

La programmation est un apprentissage réputé comme étant difficile et souvent associé à des performances très contrastées chez les élèves, ce qui peut laisser croire que certains auraient des aptitudes innées pour la programmation et d’autres non.

Il a même été proposé qu’un « gène de la programmation » (“geek gene”) puisse expliquer la facilité de certains élèves pour la programmation (et, à l’inverse, la difficulté des autres qui seraient dépourvus de ce gène). Or, cette hypothèse n’a reçu aucun soutien scientifique à ce jour et a même été fortement critiquée en raison de son caractère simpliste et déterministe : il s’agit selon plusieurs auteurs du mythe le plus durable, le plus répandu et le plus nuisible à l’apprentissage de l’informatique.

En ce sens, le premier conseil est simplement de croire en la capacité de tous les élèves d’apprendre à programmer. L’apprentissage de la programmation n’est pas inné et, comme pour tout apprentissage, les habiletés en programmation peuvent se développer et s’améliorer par la pratique.

Il apparaît donc risqué de croire que « certains enfants peuvent réussir et d’autres non », car adhérer à cette fausse croyance peut malheureusement influencer négativement les interventions pédagogiques destinées aux élèves qui éprouvent plus de difficulté, et même nuire à leur apprentissage.

2- Ne pas seulement travailler le volet « écriture » de la programmation

Le deuxième conseil renvoie à l’importance de ne pas seulement travailler les habiletés liées à l’écriture de la programmation. En effet, bien que la littérature mette en évidence des défis importants liés à la syntaxe, à la sémantique et à la conception de lignes de code fonctionnelles et efficaces, il importe également de développer les compétences des apprenants en lecture de code ainsi qu’en débogage (debugging), deux compétences trop souvent négligées dans les premiers apprentissages des novices, mais pourtant essentielles.

Pour ce faire, il est nécessaire de développer et de prévoir des activités où les élèves lisent et commentent des lignes de code non-fonctionnelles ou non-optimales en vue de les corriger, en parallèle à des activités plus traditionnelles où les élèves rédigent du code.

3- Prévoir des séances de programmation avec un pair

La programmation avec un pair est une pratique de programmation où deux programmeurs partagent un même ordinateur. Ce type de programmation en dyade est non seulement une pratique de la programmation souvent employée sur le marché du travail, mais les recherches indiquent qu’il s’agit également d’une bonne façon d’apprendre.

En effet, les élèves qui travaillent en dyade peuvent coopérer pendant les exercices pratiques, ce qui est de nature à les encourager davantage. Ils peuvent, en plus, s’entraider pour clarifier les incompréhensions de l’autre durant la tâche. Cela a pour effet de contribuer à l’apprentissage des deux parties : l’élève le plus faible peut bénéficier des explications individuelles reçues de la part du plus fort, tandis que l’élève le plus fort consolide son apprentissage en devant expliciter sa pensée, ce qui nécessite qu’il réactive des notions auxquelles il n’a peut-être pas pensé depuis longtemps.

Brown et Wilson (2018) indiquent également que lorsque la programmation en dyade est utilisée, il est important que tous les élèves soient placés en dyade, et non seulement les apprenants qui ont des difficultés, afin que personne ne se sente isolé.

D’un point de vue pratico-pratique, ce conseil est d’autant plus intéressant, car il réduit du même coup la quantité de matériel nécessaire en salle de classe, ce qui représente souvent une contrainte importante. Il n’est cependant pas recommandé de mettre en équipe trois apprenants par ordinateur ou robot, car le troisième membre s’en trouve souvent isolé et ne prend pas part activement à la tâche.

4- Utiliser le codage en direct

En complément à la présentation de lignes de codes pré-produites via des diapositives ou au sein d’un cahier pédagogique, les enseignants devraient aussi essayer, le plus souvent possible, de rédiger en temps réel des lignes de code devant leurs élèves. Cette stratégie pédagogique permet ainsi aux apprenants d’observer comment un expert diagnostique et corrige ses erreurs au fur et à mesure, ce que les novices ont énormément besoin de faire, mais qui est malheureusement absent de la plupart des manuels scolaires.

Cette stratégie présente aussi l’avantage de ralentir les enseignants qui ont souvent tendance à présenter le code trop rapidement, ce qui peut provoquer le désengagement de leur auditoire. Cela permet en plus de susciter des questions précises chez les élèves qui pourraient, par exemple, chercher à comprendre en temps réel le raisonnement derrière l’utilisation d’une fonction plutôt qu’une autre.

5- S’en tenir à un seul langage de programmation durant l’apprentissage

Enfin, le dernier conseil s’arrime à un principe de base en éducation qui s’applique à plusieurs domaines : le transfert ne se fait qu’avec la maîtrise. Ainsi, il apparaît préférable que l’enseignant sélectionne un seul langage de programmation et s’en tienne à celui-ci jusqu’à ce que les apprenants aient suffisamment progressé avant d’en introduire un deuxième ou même de changer de langage. La littérature semble en effet indiquer que le transfert d’un langage de programmation à l’autre, lorsqu’introduit trop tôt dans le processus d’apprentissage, est susceptible de désorienter les élèves et de contribuer à éroder leur confiance.

Vous faites de la programmation avec vos élèves ou vous utilisez la robotique pour contextualiser des apprentissages? Partagez votre expérience et vos projets avec nous en écrivant à info@ecolebranchee.com.

Référence complète du texte vulgarisé : Brown, N. C., & Wilson, G. (2018). Ten quick tips for teaching programming. PLoS computational biology, 14(4), e1006023. 

En complément : Lisez l’article Intégrer la robotique éducative à la salle de classe de Hugo G. Lapierre, paru dans Spectre, le magazine de l’Association pour l’enseignement de la science et de la technologie au Québec.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct