Searching the web can be learned!

On the occasion of the last AQUOPS conference, Julie-Christine Gagné and Caroline Mottet, from Laval University, offered a workshop on research on the Web, in particular via Google and Wikipedia. A teaching student participated and gives us her report.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

by Andréanne Poirier, JournalisTIC

On the occasion of the last AQUOPS conference, Julie-Christine Gagné and Caroline Mottet, from Laval University, offered a workshop on research on the Web, in particular via Google and Wikipedia. A teaching student participated and gives us her report.

From April 15 to 17 was held in Quebec on the 32e colloquiumAQUOPS. On site, teaching students from Laval University attended various workshops and gave their impressions. on the blog from the Association. We have the opportunity to present some of their reports to you. This is Andréanne Poirier's.

 —

Martine Mottet, professor of educational technology, and Julie-Christine Gagné, research professional at Laval University, provided interesting tools in their workshop to teach students how to use Google and Wikipedia effectively. In fact, when searching in Google, students often have difficulty finding sources and assessing their credibility or relevance. The Wikipedia site, for its part, is the one that is most often consulted by students. But, is it a reliable source? Should we forbid students to quote Wikipedia?

Search efficiently in Google

There may be several reasons why students cannot find what they are looking for in Google. First, most often, they do not use the right keywords, or use in insufficient number. Second, students do not use logical operators during their research. Students must therefore be taught to do their research taking these elements into account.

For example, thanks to Boolean operators, we can search for an exact expression and exclude or include certain expressions. To evaluate the sources, the facilitators suggest teaching the students to read a URL address and to decode the different parts to judge the credibility of the site. They also offer the 3Qpoc approach to rate a website.

Can we trust Wikipedia?

In fact, 73 % teachers advise their students against using Wikipedia, but few of them use the tools offered by Wikipedia to check the credibility of articles. Moreover, Wikipedia is based on the principles of neutrality, reliability and verifiability. In addition, this site undeniably has several advantages: accessible, simple, rich in popularized information, presence of references and hyperlinks.

The fact remains that it also presents certain risks. The accuracy of the information is sometimes uncertain, the sources can be insufficient, the content is volatile and the expertise of the contributors, sometimes nebulous. So, can we trust Wikipedia? According to the facilitators, yes, but with vigilance. It is therefore a question of exercising the students' critical judgment by asking them to consider the following elements:

- Compare Wikipedia information with other sources;

- Read the warning banners that Wikipedia puts at the top of the article: they inform about the limits of the article concerned;

- Consult the "History" tab: it gives the list of authors and the history of modifications. The older the item, the more changes there have been, the more likely it is to be reliable.

All the resources presented by the facilitators (the research process, how to evaluate a source, the animation on the use of logical operators) can be found on the site. http://www.faireunerecherche.fse.ulaval.ca/. To consult!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Chercher sur le Web, ça s’apprend!

À l’occasion du dernier colloque de l’AQUOPS, Julie-Christine Gagné et Caroline Mottet, de l’Université Laval, ont offert un atelier à propos de la recherche sur le Web, notamment via Google et Wikipédia. Une étudiante en enseignement y a participé et nous livre son compte-rendu.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

par Andréanne Poirier, JournalisTIC

À l’occasion du dernier colloque de l’AQUOPS, Julie-Christine Gagné et Caroline Mottet, de l’Université Laval, ont offert un atelier à propos de la recherche sur le Web, notamment via Google et Wikipédia. Une étudiante en enseignement y a participé et nous livre son compte-rendu.

Du 15 au 17 avril derniers se tenait à Québec le 32e colloque de l’AQUOPS. Sur place, des étudiants en enseignement de l’Université Laval ont assisté à différents ateliers et livré leurs impressions sur le blogue de l’Association. Nous avons l’occasion de vous présenter certains de leurs compte-rendu. Voici celui d’Andréanne Poirier.

 —

Martine Mottet, professeure en technologie éducative, et Julie-Christine Gagné, professionnelle de recherche à l’Université Laval, ont fourni dans leur atelier des outils intéressants pour enseigner aux élèves comment utiliser efficacement Google et Wikipédia. En effet, lors de la recherche dans Google, les élèves éprouvent souvent des difficultés quand vient le temps de trouver des sources et d’évaluer leur crédibilité ou leur pertinence. Le site Wikipédia, quant à lui, est celui qui est le plus souvent consulté par les élèves. Mais, s’agit-il d’une source fiable? Doit-on interdire aux élèves de citer Wikipédia?

Chercher efficacement dans Google

Plusieurs raisons peuvent expliquer pourquoi les élèves ne trouvent pas ce qu’ils cherchent dans Google. D’abord, le plus souvent, ceux-ci n’utilisent pas les bons mots-clés, ou en utilisent en nombre insuffisant. Deuxièmement, les élèves n’utilisent pas les opérateurs logiques durant leur recherche. Il faut donc enseigner aux élèves à faire leur recherche en tenant compte de ces éléments.

Par exemple, grâce aux opérateurs booléens, on peut rechercher une expression exacte et exclure ou inclure certaines expressions. Pour évaluer les sources, les animatrices proposent d’apprendre aux élèves à lire une adresse URL et à en décoder les différentes parties pour juger de la crédibilité du site. Elles proposent aussi la démarche 3Qpoc pour évaluer un site Web.

Peut-on se fier à Wikipédia?

Dans les faits, 73 % des enseignants déconseillent à leurs élèves d’utiliser Wikipédia, mais peu d’entre eux utilisent les outils offerts par Wikipédia pour vérifier la crédibilité des articles. D’ailleurs, Wikipédia s’appuie sur des principes de neutralité, de fiabilité et de vérifiabilité. De plus, ce site possède indéniablement plusieurs avantages : accessible, simple, riche en informations vulgarisées, présence de références et d’hyperliens.

Il demeure qu’il présente aussi certains risques. L’exactitude de l’information est parfois incertaine, les sources peuvent être insuffisantes, le contenu est volatile et l’expertise des contributeurs, quelques fois nébuleuse. Alors, peut-on faire confiance à Wikipédia? Selon les animatrices, oui, mais avec vigilance. Il s’agit donc d’exercer le jugement critique des élèves en leur demandant de considérer les éléments suivants :

–  Comparer les informations de Wikipédia avec d’autres sources;

–  Lire les bandeaux d’avertissement que Wikipédia met en tête d’article : ils informent des limites que possède l’article concerné;

–   Consulter l’onglet « Historique »: il donne la liste des auteurs et l’historique des modifications. Plus l’article est vieux, plus il y a eu de modifications, plus il risque d’être fiable.

Toutes les ressources présentées par les animatrices (le processus de recherche, comment évaluer une source, l’animation sur l’utilisation des opérateurs logiques) se retrouvent sur le site http://www.faireunerecherche.fse.ulaval.ca/.  À consulter!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :