These math teachers who do otherwise

We met Guy Gervais, math teacher at the Académie des Estacades and president of the GRMS, who talks to us about the interest of integrating programming to work on students' problem-solving skills.

You might also like:

Add to favorites (0)

We met Guy Gervais, math teacher at the Académie des Estacades (CS Chemin-du-Roy), lecturer at UQTR and president of the GRMS. He tells us about the value of integrating programming to work on students' problem-solving skills.

The record number of registrations for the annual congress of GRMS demonstrates the growing desire of mathematics teachers to come together in order to change their practices. The breakthrough of robotics and programming, new educational trends such as escape games (Breakout) as well as sharing and collaborations facilitated by social networks, in particular the Facebook group Math differently have all had an impact on this movement. Guy points out that with the reform, teachers have had to adapt to a new philosophy, more competency-based content and modern technologies. Today, most of them have mastered these novelties and want to go further.

Work on problem solving through programming

In this interview, Guy explains that the new wave of block-based programming software, like Scratch, helps develop problem-solving skills with a view to gamification and continuous improvement. Indeed, with programming, the student is led to want to understand why he does not arrive at the right solution, then to try again until he succeeds.

To conclude, Guy invites teachers to take advantage of the site code time which offers a turnkey solution to live programming in the classroom. We invite you to listen to the interview to hear from Guy about the advantages of integrating programming activities in mathematics.     

"It cannot be that a teacher does not have an hour in his year to code" - Guy Gervais

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Stéphanie Dionne
Stephanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne is director of development and partnerships, facilitator and speaker. It contributes to the influence of players in the education sector and its ecosystem. In addition, it supports parents, teachers and workers in a mentality of co-education in order to allow young people to become fulfilled citizens in the digital age.

Ces enseignants de mathématiques qui font autrement

0

Nous avons rencontré Guy Gervais, enseignant de mathématiques à l’Académie des Estacades (CS Chemin-du-Roy), chargé de cours à l’UQTR et président du GRMS. Il nous parle de l’intérêt d’intégrer la programmation pour travailler les compétences de résolution de problème des élèves.

Le nombre d’inscriptions record au congrès annuel du GRMS démontre la volonté croissante des enseignants de mathématique de se rassembler afin de faire évoluer leurs pratiques. La percée de la robotique et de la programmation, les nouvelles tendances pédagogiques comme celle des jeux d’évasion (Breakout) ainsi que le partage et les collaborations facilités par les réseaux sociaux, notamment le groupe Facebook Les maths autrement ont tous eu un impact sur ce mouvement. Guy souligne qu’avec la réforme, les enseignants ont eu à s’adapter à une nouvelle philosophie, à des contenus davantage axés sur les compétences et à des technologies modernes. Aujourd’hui, la plupart maîtrisent ces nouveautés et veulent aller plus loin.

Travailler la résolution de problèmes grâce à la programmation

Dans cette entrevue, Guy explique que la nouvelle vague de logiciels de programmation par blocs, comme Scratch, permet de développer la compétence de résolution de problèmes dans une perspective de ludification et d’amélioration continue. En effet, avec la programmation, l’élève est amené à vouloir comprendre pourquoi il ne parvient pas à la bonne solution, puis à ré-essayer jusqu’à ce qu’il réussisse.

Pour conclure, Guy invite les enseignants à tirer profit du site l’heure du code qui offre un clés en main pour vivre la programmation en classe. On vous invite à écouter l’entrevue afin d’entendre Guy au sujet des avantages d’intégrer des activités de programmation en mathématique.     

« Ça ne se peut pas qu’un enseignant n’ait pas une heure dans son année pour coder » – Guy Gervais

Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :