Learning through inquiry: a collective way of responding to individual needs

Inquiry-based learning stimulates collaboration and curiosity while developing the ability to ask precise questions. Discover this model implemented in particular in Ontario schools.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Inquiry-based learning stimulates collaboration and curiosity while developing the ability to ask precise questions. Discover this model implemented in particular in Ontario schools.

On the occasion of the Fall Congress on Conscious Entrepreneurial Education, Élaine Lucas, educational advisor at the CSDCEO and member of the TacTIC team of the CFORP (a team whose mandate is similar to that of our RÉCIT), presented the model of inquiry-based learning (inquiry based learning), very developed in Ontario, particularly in English-speaking schools.

The inquiry learning process was first introduced into the social studies curriculum in Ontario. In short, it is about creating learning situations that raise questions in the students:

  1. The student wonders about a trigger
  2. It collects information
  3. It validates the information
  4. It analyzes and interprets this information
  5. He communicates and diffuses everything

In inquiry-based learning, the subject succeeds more easily in engaging the student since he or she directs their path. Ms. Lucas observed that the whole thing also leads to a lot of collaboration and mutual aid between the students, in addition to stimulating their curiosity and developing their ability to ask precise and open-ended questions. In addition, with experience, the teacher quickly realizes that the work by inquiry makes it easy to go beyond the sole subject of the social universe and to integrate French, science, math, etc.

The teacher becomes a co-learner

In this approach, the role of the teacher changes. The latter must adopt a posture of "co-learner" and guide the students in the process.

Evidence of learning can be gathered in different ways. For example, the “circle of knowledge” is a stage of pooling that allows students to share their discoveries and make connections with what others have learned in order to go even further. Students can also record their progress in a table according to the columns “What I think I know”, “Confirmed idea” or “False perception”, “New knowledge confirmed”, “I still wonder…”. In Elaine Lucas' school, since inquiry learning was prevalent in most classes, a " Pineapple Chart », That is to say a table posted in the school which indicated where each class was at so that they could visit each other and inspire each other.

Also, the link with the community becomes essential. The walls of the classroom are open to other classes, other schools, and even internationally. The triggers sometimes come from experts from the community, who then constitute learning resources in the same way as a dictionary would be. Digital technology also facilitates virtual meetings when a physical presence is not possible.

Should we completely stop the masterful?

“Never completely! », Replied Ms. Lucas directly. Of course, the approach taints the majority of the activities of the class and many learning contents are integrated into the projects, but there is still a part that remains taught in a more traditional way.

A natural link with entrepreneurial pedagogy

Ultimately, Ms. Lucas believes that the approach facilitates the management of student behavior since they all participate and are engaged. For her, it is a “way of responding collectively to the individual needs of students” which fits in particularly well with entrepreneurial pedagogy. Authentic tasks are also at the heart of the approach.

Examples of topics:

  • Municipal book box (Take a book, leave a book)
  • Community garden at school
  • Animal therapy (hatchery and hatching of chicks, for example)
  • Entrepreneurial fair

She wants the approach to spread more widely in secondary school directly by the students who will have experienced it since kindergarten.

How do you bring about a process of inquiry?

  • From an image or video
  • With expert testimony
  • Thanks to a "provocation table" (filled with mysterious objects related to the learning object)
  • Starting from children's literature

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Apprendre par l’enquête : une façon collective de répondre aux besoins individuels

L’apprentissage par l’enquête stimule la collaboration et la curiosité tout en développant la capacité de poser des questions précises. Découvrez ce modèle implanté notamment dans les écoles de l’Ontario.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’apprentissage par l’enquête stimule la collaboration et la curiosité tout en développant la capacité de poser des questions précises. Découvrez ce modèle implanté notamment dans les écoles de l’Ontario.

À l’occasion du Congrès automnal en éducation entrepreneuriale consciente, Élaine Lucas, conseillère pédagogique au CSDCEO et membre de l’équipe TacTIC du CFORP (une équipe dont le mandat s’apparente à celui de nos RÉCIT), a présenté le modèle d’apprentissage par l’enquête (inquiry based learning), très développé en Ontario particulièrement dans les écoles anglophones.

Le processus d’apprentissage par l’enquête a d’abord été introduit dans le programme d’études sociales en Ontario. En résumé, il s’agit de créer des situations d’apprentissage qui suscitent des questionnements chez les élèves :

  1. L’élève se questionne à partir d’un déclencheur
  2. Il recueille de l’information
  3. Il valide l’information
  4. Il analyse et interprète cette information
  5. Il communique et diffuse le tout

Dans l’apprentissage par l’enquête, le sujet arrive plus facilement à engager l’élève puisqu’il oriente lui-même son cheminement. Mme Lucas a observé que le tout entraîne aussi beaucoup de collaboration et d’entraide entre les élèves, en plus de stimuler leur curiosité et de développer leur capacité à poser des questions précises et ouvertes. De plus, avec l’expérience, l’enseignant réalise rapidement que le travail par enquête permet facilement de dépasser le seul sujet de l’univers social et d’intégrer le français, les sciences, les maths, etc.

L’enseignant devient co-apprenant

Dans cette approche, le rôle de l’enseignant change. Ce dernier doit adopter une posture de « co-apprenant » et guider les élèves dans le processus.

Les preuves d’apprentissage peuvent être recueillies de différentes façons. Par exemple, le « cercle de connaissances » est une étape de mise en commun qui permet aux élèves de partager leurs découvertes et de faire des liens avec ce que les autres ont appris afin d’aller encore plus loin. Les élèves peuvent aussi enregistrer leur progression dans un tableau selon des colonnes « Ce que je crois savoir », « Idée confirmée » ou « Fausse perception », « Nouvelles connaissances confirmées », « Je me demande encore… ». Dans l’école d’Élaine Lucas, comme l’apprentissage par l’enquête était répandu dans la plupart des classes, on utilisait aussi un « Pineapple Chart », c’est-à-dire un tableau affiché dans l’école qui indiquait où en était rendue chacune des classes afin qu’elles puissent se visiter entre elles et s’inspirer mutuellement.

Aussi, le lien avec la communauté devient essentiel. Les murs de la classe sont ouverts sur d’autres classes, d’autres écoles, voire jusqu’à l’international. Les déclencheurs proviennent parfois d’experts venus de la communauté, qui constituent alors des ressources d’apprentissage au même titre que le serait un dictionnaire. Le numérique facilite aussi les rencontres virtuelles lorsqu’une présence physique n’est pas possible.

Est-ce qu’on doit arrêter complètement le magistral?

« Jamais complètement! », répond directement Mme Lucas. Bien entendu, l’approche teinte la majorité des activités de la classe et de nombreux contenus d’apprentissage sont intégrés dans les projets, mais il demeure tout de même une partie qui reste enseignée de façon plus traditionnelle.

Un arrimage naturel avec la pédagogie entrepreneuriale

Au final, Mme Lucas estime que l’approche facilite la gestion du comportement des élèves puisque ceux-ci participent tous et sont engagés. Pour elle, il s’agit d’une « façon de répondre collectivement aux besoins individuels des élèves » qui s’arrime particulièrement bien avec la pédagogie entrepreneuriale. Les tâches authentiques sont aussi au cœur de l’approche.

Exemples de sujets :

  • Boîte à livres municipale (Prends un livre, laisse un livre)
  • Jardin communautaire à l’école
  • Zoothérapie (couvoir et éclosion des poussins, par exemple)
  • Foire entrepreneuriale

Elle souhaite que l’approche se diffuse plus largement au secondaire directement par les élèves qui l’auront vécue depuis la maternelle.

Comment on provoque un processus d’enquête?

  • À partir d’une image ou d’une vidéo
  • Avec un témoignage d’expert
  • Grâce à une « table de provocation » (remplie d’objets mystérieux en lien avec l’objet d’apprentissage)
  • En partant de la littérature jeunesse

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :