ADVERTISEMENT

Learn with Canadian Olympians

In order to maintain the euphoria stemming from the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games, the Canadian Olympic School Program invites classes across the country to take advantage of the educational resources available at www.ecoleolympique.ca. These resources are integrated with provincial educational expectations and aim in particular to develop sportsmanship and fundamental movement skills necessary to encourage physical activity throughout life.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

In an effort to keep the euphoria flowing from the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games, PThe Canadian Olympic School Program invites classes across the country to take advantage of the educational resources available on the site www.ecoleolympique.ca. These resources are integrated with provincial educational expectations and are aimed in particular at the development of sportsmanship and fundamental movement skills necessary to encourage physical activity throughout life.

A section of the site offers educational challenges particularly interesting. For example, the Canadian Olympic School Program Challenge invites students to exercise their mind, body and character with some of Canada's top Olympians, toward their Certificate of Excellence. This complete educational project comes in different stages, all well described to facilitate the support by the teacher:

- Exercise your mind: texts to read on Olympians known to young people and important values, in three levels (2-3e year, 4-5e year, 6e year and +), accompanied by comprehension activities.

- Exercising your body: physical literacy activities that encourage students to move, in particular by learning the essential movements of physical activity.

- Exercising character: students achieve their personal bests based on Olympian values, such as inclusion, courage, healthy choices, a healthy and active lifestyle, respect.

Another challenge, called “Movement Skills”, is an alternate instructional scenario including physical literacy activities developed by Physical and Health Education (PHE) Canada. They make it possible to establish a link between the students and the Olympians by the development of skills related to the foundations of the movements necessary for participation in physical and sports activities throughout life.

Finally, an integral part of the Canadian Olympic School Program Challenge or that can be used alone, a collection of reading texts allow elementary and secondary students to get to know the following Olympians and Olympic values:
- Alexandre Bilodeau and inclusion
- Clara Hughes and healthy choices
- John Morris and the Healthy Active Living World
- Maelle Ricker and respect
- Joannie Rochette and courage

On the website, a section " Library Brings together more general information on the Olympics, for example on their history and origin, on the Beijin games in 2008, on those in Vancouver in 2010, as well as on those in London planned for 2012.

Finally, why not organize an Olympic Winter Sports Day! By participating in some modified events of the Olympic Winter Program, students will gain a better understanding of sports, experience the Olympic values and experience the excitement of the Games once again. Click here to download the Olympic Winter Sports Day guide from the Canadian Olympic School Program website.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Apprendre avec les Olympiens canadiens

Dans le but de maintenir l’euphorie découlant des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de Vancouver en 2010, le Programme scolaire olympique canadien invite les classes du pays à profiter des ressources éducatives disponibles sur le site www.ecoleolympique.ca. Ces ressources s’intègrent aux attentes scolaires provinciales et visent notamment le développement de l’esprit sportif et des habiletés motrices fondamentales nécessaires pour encourager l’activité physique tout au long de la vie.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Dans le but de maintenir l’euphorie découlant des Jeux olympiques d’hiver de Vancouver en 2010, le Programme scolaire olympique canadien invite les classes du pays à profiter des ressources éducatives disponibles sur le site www.ecoleolympique.ca. Ces ressources s’intègrent aux attentes scolaires provinciales et visent notamment le développement de l’esprit sportif et des habiletés motrices fondamentales nécessaires pour encourager l’activité physique tout au long de la vie.

Une section du site propose des défis pédagogiques particulièrement intéressants. Par exemple, le Défi du Programme scolaire olympique canadien invite les élèves à exercer leur esprit, leur corps et leur caractère en compagnie de certains des meilleurs Olympiens du Canada, en vue d’obtenir leur Certificat d’excellence. Ce projet pédagogique complet se décline en différentes étapes, toutes bien décrites pour faciliter l’accompagnement par l’enseignant :

– Exercer son esprit : textes à lire sur des olympiens connus des jeunes et des valeurs importantes, en trois niveaux (2-3e année, 4-5e année, 6e année et +), accompagnés d’activités de compréhension.

– Exercer son corps : activités sur le savoir-faire physique qui incitent les élèves à bouger, notamment en apprenant les mouvements essentiels de l’activité physique.

– Exercer son caractère : les élèves réalisent leurs records personnels basés sur les valeurs olympiennes, comme l’inclusion, le courage, les choix santé, le mode de vie sain et actif, le respect.

Un autre défi, appelé « Habiletés du mouvement », est un autre scénario pédagogique comprenant des activités sur le savoir-faire physique élaborées par Éducation physique et santé (EPS) Canada. Elles permettent d’établir un lien entre les élèves et les Olympiens par le développement d’habiletés liées aux fondements des mouvements nécessaires pour la participation aux activités physiques et sportives durant toute la vie.

Enfin, faisant partie intégrante du Défi du Programme scolaire olympique canadien ou pouvant être utilisés seuls, une collection de texte de lecture permettent aux élèves du primaire et du secondaire de faire la connaissance des Olympiens et des valeurs olympiques suivants :
– Alexandre Bilodeau et l’inclusion
– Clara Hughes et les choix santé
– John Morris et le monde de vie sain et actif
– Maelle Ricker et le respect
– Joannie Rochette et le courage

Sur le site Web, une section « Bibliothèque » rassemble de l’information plus générale sur les Olympiques, par exemple sur leur histoire et leur origine, sur les jeux de Beijin en 2008, sur ceux de Vancouver en 2010, ainsi que sur ceux de Londres prévus pour 2012.

Enfin, pourquoi ne pas organiser une journée des sports olympiques d’hiver! En participant à certaines épreuves modifiées du programme olympique d’hiver, les élèves acquerront une meilleure compréhension des sports, expérimenteront les valeurs olympiques et vivront l’enthousiasme des Jeux encore une fois. Cliquez ici pour télécharger le guide de la journée des sports olympiques d’hiver proposé par le site du Programme scolaire olympique canadien.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Éditrice du magazine École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), elle s'intéresse particulièrement l'actualité liée au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias. Elle s'active à créer des ponts dans l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. En 2021, elle est reçue à l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct