ADVERTISEMENT

Welcome the voice of the Indigenous peoples of Quebec in your classroom

The Musée de la civilization offers a new techno-educational resource to allow your students to energize and deepen their understanding of the contemporary realities of indigenous people. Hurry, it is free until December 31, 2018!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Elementary school teachers, do you want to allow your students to energize and deepen their understanding of contemporary indigenous realities? The Musée de la civilization offers a new technopedagogical resource to complement its exhibition This is our story. First Nations and Inuit of the 21st century. Hurry, this one is free until December 31, 2018!

Did you know that Quebec has more than 90,000 Aboriginals and Inuit? And that the school is a privileged place to promote understanding of Indigenous realities and thus engage students in reconciliation efforts.

Produced thanks to a collaboration between the Musée de la Civilization du Québec, the Ministry of Education and Higher Education, the Secretariat of Native Affairs, the Digital Cultural Plan of Quebec and Télé-Québec, here is a tool to discover.

The First Peoples Kit

The kit First Peoples is composed of 17 stories intended for the first, second and third cycle of primary education and approached from the pedagogical angle of Education language (French or English). The interdisciplinary approach also makes it possible to tackle the fields Social universe and Ethics and Religious Culture. 

Through illustrated stories, thematic capsules, objects from the National Collection, videos and activities to be carried out in class, your students will discover the daily life of the natives of today, while feeding on the past. 

Illustrated digital books touch on themes as varied as:

  • The nation and the territory;
  • The ways and places of life;
  • Cultural identity and affirmation;
  • The realities and challenges of indigenous people today;
  • Contemporary issues: geography, culture, arts, traditions, demography and social life.

This is our story 

The exhibition This is our story. 21st century First Nations and Inuit aims to introduce the native cultures of Quebec today, their diversity and their visions of the world. To create the exhibition, the Musée de la civilization du Québec went to meet the First Nations and the Inuit. In total, some 800 people from 18 communities, often hundreds of kilometers away, spoke.

Result of these meetings, the kit First Peoples, available free of charge until December 31, 2018, continues the experience of the exhibition and allows teachers in Quebec to welcome Indigenous voices into their class.

Undergraduate: colorful and imaginative tales

For the first cycle, the kit offers 4 colorful and imaginative tales that address the following themes: life in the territory, the importance of transmitting culture and traditions, pride in being Aboriginal and the ways of life of the communities. 

In Cycle Two: Stories to Identify

In Cycle Two, the kit includes 5 youth stories that your students can relate to. The themes addressed are those of lifestyles, the ancestral and current relationship with nature and the territory, the oral transmission of culture and legends, archeology, rock art and the relationship with the animals. 

In the third cycle: magazine articles to deepen the issues

Finally, in Cycle 3, the kit offers 8 stories in the form of magazine articles. These address the themes of distance from one's community to study, hunting, sharing, identity, rejections and prejudices, the encounter between modernism and traditions, the importance of taking care of the nature, the transmission of knowledge and traditions, indigenous arts and symbols, reservations and residential schools, women's claims, tourism, food heritage and indigenous languages.

To order your free kit before December 31, 2018, it's this way!

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane is the editor of the École branchée online news feed. She has a bachelor's degree in international relations from the University of British Columbia as well as a master's degree in intercultural mediation from the University of Sherbrooke. She also acts as a communications advisor for the organization Idée Éducation entrepreneuriale.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Accueillez la parole des Autochtones du Québec dans votre classe

Publié le :

Le Musée de la civilisation propose une nouvelle ressource technopédagogique pour permettre à vos élèves de dynamiser et d'approfondir leur compréhension des réalités contemporaines des autochtones. Faites vite, celle-ci est gratuite jusqu’au 31 décembre 2018!
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Enseignantes et enseignants du primaire, vous voulez permettre à vos élèves de dynamiser et d’approfondir leur compréhension des réalités contemporaines des autochtones? Le Musée de la civilisation propose une nouvelle ressource technopédagogique en complément à son exposition C’est notre histoire. Premières Nations et Inuit du XXIe siècle. Faites vite, celle-ci est gratuite jusqu’au 31 décembre 2018!

Saviez-vous que le Québec compte plus de 90 000 Autochtones et Inuit? Et que l’école est un lieu privilégié pour favoriser la compréhension des réalités autochtones et ainsi engager les élèves dans les efforts de réconciliation.

Réalisé grâce à une collaboration entre le Musée de la Civilisation du Québec, le Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur, le Secrétariat des affaires autochtones, le Plan culturel numérique du Québec et Télé-Québec, voici un outil à découvrir.

La trousse Premiers Peuples

La trousse Premiers Peuples est composée de 17 récits destinés au premier, deuxième et troisième cycle du primaire et abordés sous l’angle pédagogique de la Langue d’enseignement (français ou anglais). L’approche interdisciplinaire permet aussi d’aborder les domaines Univers social et Éthique et culture religieuse. 

À travers des récits illustrés, des capsules thématiques, des objets de la Collection nationale, des vidéos et des activités à réaliser en classe, vos élèves découvriront le quotidien des autochtones d’aujourd’hui, tout en se nourrissant du passé. 

Les livres numériques illustrés touchent des thématiques aussi variées que :

  • La nation et le territoire;
  • Les modes et lieux de vie;
  • L’identité culturelle et l’affirmation;
  • Les réalités et défis des autochtones aujourd’hui;
  • Les enjeux contemporains : géographie, culture, arts, traditions, démographie et vie sociale.

C’est notre histoire 

L’exposition C’est notre histoire. Premières Nations et Inuit du XXIe siècle vise à faire découvrir les cultures autochtones du Québec d’aujourd’hui, leur diversité et leurs visions du monde. Pour créer l’exposition, le Musée de la civilisation du Québec est allé à la rencontre des Premières Nations et des Inuit. Au total, ce sont quelques 800 personnes provenant de 18 communautés, souvent distantes de centaines de kilomètres, qui se sont exprimées.

Fruit de ces rencontres, la trousse Premiers Peuples, disponible gratuitement jusqu’au 31 décembre 2018, poursuit l’expérience de l’exposition et permet aux enseignantes et enseignants du Québec d’accueillir la parole autochtone dans leur classe.

Au premier cycle : des contes colorés et imaginatifs

Pour le premier cycle, la trousse propose 4 contes colorés et imaginatifs qui abordent les thématiques suivantes : la vie en territoire, l’importance de transmettre la culture et les traditions, la fierté d’être autochtone et les modes de vie des communautés. 

Au deuxième cycle : des histoires pour s’identifier

Au deuxième cycle, la trousse comprend 5 histoires de jeunes auxquels vos élèves peuvent s’identifier. Les thématiques abordées sont celles des modes de vie, de la relation ancestrale et actuelle avec la nature et le territoire, de la transmission orale de la culture et des légendes, de l’archéologie, de l’art rupestre et de la relation avec les animaux. 

Au troisième cycle : des articles de magazine pour approfondir les enjeux

Finalement, au troisième cycle, la trousse offre 8 récits sous formes d’articles de magazines. Ceux-ci abordent les thématiques de l’éloignement de sa communauté pour étudier, de la chasse, du partage, de l’identité, des rejets et préjugés, de la rencontre entre modernisme et traditions, de l’importance de prendre soin de la nature, de la transmission des connaissances et traditions, des arts et des symboliques autochtones, des réserves et des pensionnats, des revendications des femmes, du tourisme, du patrimoine alimentaire et des langues autochtones.

Pour commander votre trousse gratuite avant le 31 décembre 2018, c’est par ici!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane est rédactrice en chef du fil de nouvelles de l'École branchée en ligne. Elle possède un baccalauréat en relations internationales de l'Université de Colombie-Britannique ainsi qu'une maîtrise en médiation interculturelle de l'Université de Sherbrooke. Elle agit aussi comme conseillère en communication pour l'organisme Idée Éducation entrepreneuriale.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!