To each their own pace of learning English

Otapi High School chose to integrate Rosetta Stone English language learning software to support its students' interest in Shakespeare's language. One of the teachers explains the benefits it provides.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Otapi High School chose to integrate Rosetta Stone English language learning software to support its students' interest in Shakespeare's language. One of the teachers explains the benefits it provides.

Language software Rosetta Stone aims to support and facilitate learning and using a second language. In its first year of use at Otapi High School, teaching English seems to generate more interest among students.

One of the benefits teachers notice is the one-on-one approach this software allows. Each student can progress at their own pace. Initially, the teachers present the theoretical concepts to the group, but then, the students individually connect to Rosetta Stone via their workstation and put into practice the elements learned previously.

"With the number of students in a group, it is difficult to offer a personalized pedagogical approach," said a teacher. This software therefore supports us in our work and allows each student to progress at their own pace and even to assess their achievements. "

In fact, the software, which combines sound and image, highlights the student's errors in particular and shows him how to correct them. Also, the user can self-assess since a formative assessment in connection with the lessons previously carried out must be carried out if he wishes to access the next level. Rosetta Stone also makes it possible to correct oral deficiencies which are more difficult to improve during standard group teaching.

Because of the embarrassment, the students sometimes refuse to speak in front of the group, depriving themselves of the necessary advice or corrective measures on the part of the teacher. However, thanks to the voice recognition offered by Rosetta Stone, students must absolutely pronounce each word or group of words (depending on the level), once again, in order to access the next level.

“It's embarrassing to speak in front of everyone, especially in a language that I don't speak very well,” says one student. But there, I am alone with the computer and I do not have the impression that the others listen to me and laugh at me. "

It is possible to try the software from the site http://www.rosettastone.fr/demo

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Felipe Antaya
Pursuing studies in educational technology, Felipe Antaya has worked for several years in the field of education at the secondary and college level. Holder of a master's degree in Quebec studies and a bachelor's degree in philosophy, he has also worked in the field of written media.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

À chacun son rythme d’apprentissage de l’anglais

L’école secondaire Otapi a choisi d’intégrer le logiciel d’apprentissage de l’anglais Rosetta Stone pour soutenir l’intérêt de ses élèves pour la langue de Shakespeare. L’un des enseignants explique les avantages qu’il procure.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’école secondaire Otapi a choisi d’intégrer le logiciel d’apprentissage de l’anglais Rosetta Stone pour soutenir l’intérêt de ses élèves pour la langue de Shakespeare. L’un des enseignants explique les avantages qu’il procure.

Le logiciel de langue Rosetta Stone vise à soutenir et faciliter l’apprentissage et l’utilisation d’une langue seconde. À sa première année d’utilisation à l’École secondaire Otapi, l’enseignement de l’anglais semble susciter plus d’intérêt chez les élèves.

L’un des avantages que remarquent les enseignants est l’approche individuelle que permet ce logiciel. Chaque élève peut évoluer à son propre rythme. Au départ, les enseignants présentent les notions théoriques au groupe, mais ensuite, les élèves se branchent individuellement à Rosetta Stone via leur poste de travail et mettent en pratique les éléments appris précédemment.

« Avec le nombre d’élèves qu’il y a dans un groupe, il est difficile d’offrir un approche pédagogique personnalisée, souligne un enseignant. Ce logiciel nous épaule donc dans notre travail et permet à chaque élève de progresser à son rythme et même d’évaluer ses acquis. »

En effet, le logiciel, qui allie son et image, souligne notamment les erreurs de l’élève et lui indique comment les corriger. Aussi, l’utilisateur peut s’auto-évaluer puisqu’une évaluation formative en lien avec les leçons réalisées précédemment doit être réalisée s’il désire accéder au niveau suivant. Rosetta Stone permet aussi de corriger des lacunes orales qui sont plus difficiles à améliorer lors d’un enseignement standard de groupe.

En raison de la gêne, les élèves refusent parfois de s’exprimer devant le groupe, se privant du même coup de conseils ou de correctifs nécessaires de la part de l’enseignant. Or, grâce à la reconnaissance vocale qu’offre Rosetta Stone, les élèves doivent absolument prononcer adéquatement chaque mot ou groupe de mots (selon le niveau), encore une fois, afin d’accéder au niveau supérieur.

« C’est gênant de s’exprimer devant tout le monde, surtout dans une langue que je ne maîtrise pas très bien, mentionne un élève. Mais là, je suis seul avec l’ordinateur et je n’ai pas l’impression que les autres m’écoutent et rient de moi. »

Il est possible d’essayer le logiciel à partir du site http://www.rosettastone.fr/demo

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Felipe Antaya
Poursuivant des études en technologie éducative, Felipe Antaya travaille depuis plusieurs années dans le milieu de l’éducation au niveau secondaire et collégial. Titulaire d’une maîtrise en études québécoises et d’un baccalauréat en philosophie, il a aussi œuvré dans le milieu des médias écrits.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :