8 inclusive practices to support school-family collaboration

For a year, Justine Gosselin-Gagné and her team from the University of Quebec at Montreal were able to integrate the daily life of two elementary schools in Montreal in order to identify the practices and attitudes of different staff members who aim to create a link inclusive with the families of the students.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

For a year, Justine Gosselin-Gagné and her team from the University of Quebec at Montreal were able to integrate the daily life of two elementary schools in Montreal in order to identify the practices and attitudes of different staff members who aim to create a link inclusive with the families of the students.

The participating primary schools welcome 85 % of pupils with an immigrant background, a large proportion of whom are in precarious financial situations. These schools had a reputation for seeking to adapt to the needs of their school clientele in various ways on a daily basis. Ms. Gosselin-Gagné wanted to document the situation experienced in these schools.

“Ethnocultural diversity is not a new phenomenon in the metropolis. However, the situation is taken into account differently from one setting to another. The schools that are most successful in creating a climate of openness and school-family collaboration are those that see diversity as an asset and take a leadership position to forge links with families, ”says Ms. Gosselin-Gagné.

Recognized practices

Through their observations, members of his team identified inclusive practices, which can be applied to any school context.

1. Offer an explicit welcome

Many parents with an immigrant background do not know the Quebec school system and how it works. In order to feel like a stakeholder in their child's school, they need to feel welcomed and guided in the school, in order to create benchmarks. Guided tour of the school, meeting with the staff, establishing links with resources are some examples to put in place.

2. Maintain the dialogue

School teams benefit from setting up and maintaining two-way dialogue with parents. They like to be informed about what is going on in the school (and not just the bad news).

3. Communicate in the parents' language

Some parents simply do not have a sufficient command of French or English to understand what is going on at school. This incomprehension can confuse them. Do not hesitate to have recourse to translation for documents or even to interpreters during parent meetings.

4. Adopt a professional posture

Parents with an immigrant background have expressed that they feel uncomfortable going physically to their children's school for fear of being judged by school staff. Keep in mind that all parents aim for the best for their children, regardless of their language, appearance and values.

5. Diversify the means of getting in touch with parents

It may seem natural to communicate with parents by email in 2021. However, the use of this means of communication is not yet natural for everyone. In some cases, you should not hesitate to call parents directly or send messages on paper, through the children.

6. Be flexible in communications

More and more parents have atypical jobs and do not have regular working hours. Likewise, many simply cannot be absent or make phone calls during working hours. Sometimes you have to be available in the evening or on weekends to keep in touch with them.

7. Invite parents to the school

Parents can also find a place in the school outside of formal times. They can volunteer in classrooms, at the library, during special activities. They can come and share life experiences and knowledge with the students. This type of reception allows them to better understand the rhythm of school life and to create referents.

8. Equipping parents

All parents want their children to succeed in school. Do not hesitate to offer them additional resources (academic support, mentoring, etc.) to support their children, always by suggesting and not by imposing. Moreover, in some cases, the resources proposed will go beyond the school's initial mandate. Sometimes it could be providing medical or more personal support to parents.

Ms. Gosselin-Gagné presented the results of this research at the most recent ACFAS conference.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

8 pratiques inclusives pour soutenir la collaboration école-famille

Pendant une année, Justine Gosselin-Gagné et son équipe de l’Université du Québec à Montréal ont pu intégrer le quotidien de deux écoles primaires de Montréal afin d’identifier les pratiques et les attitudes de différents membres du personnel qui visent à créer un lien inclusif avec les familles des élèves.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Pendant une année, Justine Gosselin-Gagné et son équipe de l’Université du Québec à Montréal ont pu intégrer le quotidien de deux écoles primaires de Montréal afin d’identifier les pratiques et les attitudes de différents membres du personnel qui visent à créer un lien inclusif avec les familles des élèves.

Les écoles primaires participantes accueillent 85 % d’élèves issus de l’immigration, dont une importante proportion est en situation financière précaire. Ces écoles avaient la réputation de chercher à s’adapter aux besoins de leur clientèle scolaire de diverses manières au quotidien. Mme Gosselin-Gagné a voulu documenter la situation vécue dans ces écoles.

« La diversité ethnoculturelle n’est pas un phénomène nouveau dans la métropole. Cependant, la situation est prise en compte différemment d’un milieu à l’autre. Les écoles qui réussissent le mieux à créer un climat d’ouverture et de collaboration école-famille sont celles qui voient la diversité comme un atout et adoptent une position de leadership pour tisser des liens avec les familles », indique Mme Gosselin-Gagné.

Les pratiques reconnues

À travers leurs observations, les membres de son équipe ont identifié des pratiques inclusives, qui peuvent s’appliquer à tout contexte scolaire.

1. Offrir un accueil explicite

Beaucoup de parents issus de l’immigration ne connaissent pas le système scolaire québécois et son fonctionnement. Afin de se sentir comme partie prenante de l’école de leur enfant, ils ont besoin de se sentir accueilli et guidé dans l’école, pour se créer des repères. Visite guidée de l’école, rencontre avec le personnel, mise en lien avec des ressources sont des exemples à mettre en place.

2. Entretenir le dialogue

Les équipes-écoles gagnent à mettre en place et entretenir le dialogue bidirectionnel avec les parents. Ceux-ci aiment être informé de ce qui se passe dans l’école (et pas seulement les mauvaises nouvelles).

3. Communiquer dans la langue des parents

Certains parents ne maîtrisent tout simplement pas suffisamment le français ni l’anglais pour comprendre ce qui se passe à l’école. Cette incompréhension peut les déboussoler. N’hésitez pas à avoir recours à la traduction pour les documents ou même à des interprètes lors des rencontres de parents.

4. Adopter une posture professionnelle

Des parents issus de l’immigration ont exprimé le fait qu’ils se sentent mal à l’aise de se rendre physiquement à l’école de leurs enfants par crainte d’être jugés par le personnel scolaire. Il faut garder en tête que tous les parents visent le mieux pour leurs enfants, peu importe leur langue, leur apparence et leurs valeurs.

5. Diversifier les moyens d’entrer en relation avec les parents

Il peut sembler naturel de communiquer par courriel avec les parents en 2021. Cependant, l’usage de ce moyen de communication n’est pas encore naturel pour tous. Dans certains cas, il ne faut pas hésiter à téléphoner directement aux parents ou à transmettre des messages sur papier, par le biais des enfants.

6. Être flexible dans les communications

De plus en plus de parents occupent des emplois atypiques et n’ont pas des horaires de travail réguliers. De même, plusieurs ne peuvent tout simplement pas s’absenter ou passer des coups de fils sur les heures de travail. Il faut parfois être disponible le soir ou la fin de semaine pour garder le lien avec eux.

7. Inviter les parents dans l’école

Les parents peuvent aussi trouver une place dans l’école en dehors des moments formels. Ils peuvent devenir bénévoles dans les classes, à la bibliothèque, lors d’activités spéciales. Ils peuvent venir partager des expériences de vie, des connaissances avec les élèves. Ce type d’accueil leur permet de mieux comprendre le rythme de vie de l’école et de créer des référents.

8. Outiller les parents

Tous les parents souhaitent que leurs enfants réussissent à l’école. Il ne faut pas hésiter à leur proposer des ressources complémentaires (soutien scolaire, mentorat, etc.) pour appuyer leurs enfants, toujours en suggérant et non pas en imposant. Par ailleurs, dans certains cas, les ressources proposées iront au-delà du mandat initial de l’école. Parfois, il pourrait s’agir d’offrir un soutien médical ou d’ordre plus personnel aux parents.

Mme Gosselin-Gagné a présenté les résultats de cette recherche lors du plus récent colloque de l’ACFAS.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct