ADVERTISEMENT

Videos on the history of the North: students are waiting for your vote!

Until June 3, the Young Citizens program invites the population to vote for their favorite video among those produced by young people on themes related to the history of Canada's North, as part of the centenary of the first Canadian expedition in the arctic.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Until June 3, the Young Citizens program invites the population to vote for their favorite video among those produced by young people on themes related to the history of Canada's North, as part of the centenary of the first Canadian expedition in the arctic.

“One hundred years ago, fourteen scientists, a few captains and their crew set sail to explore the unknown lands of the Beaufort Sea. Their five-year odyssey, from 1913 to 1918, was the first multidisciplinary scientific expedition to the Canadian Arctic. This Canadian-funded mission uncovered thousands of species of animals and plants, minerals and fossils, as well as Inuit artifacts from copper and other cultures. This is what the press release issued for the occasion reminds us.

To highlight this, Grades 4 through Secondary 5 students from across Canada researched and produced video clips on themes related to northern history. Until June 3, you can watch student videos, comment on them and vote for your favorite. Following this, four students selected by the jury will travel to Ottawa in November to present their film at the National Forum on Canadian History, held each year in conjunction with the presentation of the Governor General's History Awards. In fact, this year's forum, which will examine how technology influences Canadian history, will be open to the public, on site or online, by registering at www.histoirecanada.ca/forumhistoire.

But back to the video projects of our students.
To consult them, use these links:
projects in French only (from Quebec and the Northwest Territories)
all projects

Have a good vote!

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Vidéos sur l’histoire du Nord : les élèves attendent votre vote!

Jusqu’au 3 juin, le programme Jeunes citoyens invite la population à voter pour leur vidéo coup de cœur parmi celles réalisées par des jeunes sur des thèmes liés à l'histoire du Nord canadien, dans le cadre du centenaire de la première expédition canadienne dans l’Arctique.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Jusqu’au 3 juin, le programme Jeunes citoyens invite la population à voter pour leur vidéo coup de cœur parmi celles réalisées par des jeunes sur des thèmes liés à l’histoire du Nord canadien, dans le cadre du centenaire de la première expédition canadienne dans l’Arctique.

« Il y a cent ans, quatorze scientifiques, quelques capitaines et leur équipage levèrent les voiles pour explorer les terres inconnues de la mer de Beaufort. Leur odyssée de cinq ans, de 1913 à 1918, fut la première expédition scientifique multidisciplinaire dans l’Arctique canadien. Cette mission financée par le Canada a permis de découvrir des milliers d’espèces d’animaux et de plantes, des minéraux et des fossiles, ainsi que des artefacts des Inuits du cuivre et d’autres cultures. » C’est ce que nous rappelle le communiqué émis pour l’occasion.

Afin de souligner le tout, des élèves de la 4e année du primaire à la 5e du secondaire de partout au Canada ont fait des recherches et produit des capsules vidéo sur des thèmes liés à l’histoire du Nord. Jusqu’au 3 juin, on peut voir les vidéos des élèves, les commenter et voter pour sa préférée. Suite à cela, quatre élèves sélectionnés par le jury se rendront à Ottawa, en novembre, pour présenter leur film lors du Forum national sur l’histoire du Canada, tenu chaque année conjointement avec la remise des Prix d’histoire du Gouverneur général. D’ailleurs, le forum de cette année, où l’on examinera la façon dont la technologie influence l’histoire du Canada, sera ouvert au public, sur place ou en ligne, en s’inscrivant à www.histoirecanada.ca/forumhistoire.

Mais revenons aux projets vidéo de nos élèves.
Pour les consulter, utilisez ces liens :
les projets en français seulement (provenance du Québec et des Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest)
tous les projets

Bon vote!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :