history

D-day

On June 6, 1944, one of the largest and most complex military operations in history began on the beaches of Normandy. Glimpses of D-Day.

Residential schools: a dark page in Canadian history

Sad discovery in Kamloops, British Columbia, when a mass grave containing 215 children was found behind an Indigenous residential school. Insights into a dark chapter in Canadian history.

Resurgence of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict

For several days, the eyes of the world have been on the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Why such a resurgence of violence in the Middle East? Insights into a historical conflict with multiple origins.

25 years of exploration, experimentation, education, learning ... on digital, and with digital

The École branchée celebrates its 25 years of activity on April 2. Here are the testimonials of two of the founding members of our organization. Do like them and tell us about your encounter with the École branchée!

The "Megxit", a royal emancipation

So when Prince Harry and his wife Meghan announced that they wanted to distance themselves from the monarchy, the news quickly spread around the world. A look at a start that continues to generate a lot of ink.

Polytechnique: where is our company 30 years later?

30 years after the Polytechnique tragedy, where is the company in its fight for social, political, economic, cultural, personal and legal equality between women and men? And what about feminist movements? A look at the imbalances still present 30 years later ...

The fall of the Berlin Wall, 30 years later

On the night of November 9-10, 1989, Germany was the center of attention around the world. Indeed, it was that night that the 3-meter-high and 155-km-long wall that had divided the city of Berlin for 28 years was destroyed. Look at a product of the Cold War and a symbol of the division of the world into two blocks.

Several historical resources on the “Mémoires des Montréalais” site

During the 57th edition of the congress of the Society of Quebec History Teachers, the Montreal History Center presented “Mémoires des Montréalais”, its site dedicated to the city of Montreal and its inhabitants.

The Amazon rainforest is burning

For several weeks, the media have been telling us the same news: the Amazon rainforest is grappling with hundreds of fires that are destroying what is called by some, “the lung of the planet”. Zoom on the importance of the Amazon rainforest for planet Earth.

Reinventing learning: portrait of an innovative teacher

Jean-Philippe Payer received the Ken Spencer Prize for innovation in teaching in Canada. A prestigious award that highlights the work and involvement of this teacher who dared to adopt a different perspective to promote learning among his students.

histoire

Le jour J

Le 6 juin 1944, une des opérations militaires les plus importantes et les plus complexes de l'histoire débutait sur les plages de la Normandie. Regards sur le jour J.

Les pensionnats autochtones : sombre page de l’histoire du Canada

Triste découverte à Kamloops, en Colombie-Britannique, alors qu'une fosse commune contenant 215 enfants a été retrouvée derrière un pensionnat autochtone. Regards sur un sombre chapitre de l'histoire du Canada.

Résurgence du conflit israélo-palestinien

Depuis plusieurs jours, le monde a les yeux tournés vers le conflit israélo-palestinien. Pourquoi un tel regain de violence au Proche-Orient? Regards sur un conflit historique aux origines multiples.

25 ans d’exploration, d’expérimentation, d’éducation, d’apprentissage… sur le numérique, et avec le numérique

L'École branchée célèbre ses 25 ans d'activités le 2 avril prochain. Voici les témoignages de deux des membres fondateurs de notre organisation. Faites comme eux et parlez-nous de votre rencontre avec l'École branchée!

Le « Megxit », une émancipation royale

Alors, quand le Prince Harry et son épouse Meghan ont annoncé qu’ils souhaitaient se distancier de la monarchie, la nouvelle a rapidement fait le tour de la planète. Regards sur un départ qui continue de faire couler beaucoup d'encre.

Polytechnique : où en est notre société 30 ans plus tard?

30 ans après la tragédie de Polytechnique, où en est la société dans sa lutte à l'égalité sociale, politique, économique, culturelle, personnelle et juridique entre les femmes et les hommes? Et qu'en est-il des mouvement féministes? Regards sur les déséquilibres encore présents 30 ans plus tard...

La chute du mur de Berlin, 30 ans plus tard

Dans la nuit du 9 au 10 novembre 1989, l'Allemagne fut le centre d'attention du monde entier. En effet, c'est cette nuit-là que le mur de 3 mètres de haut et de 155 km de long qui divisait la ville de Berlin depuis 28 ans a été détruit. Regard sur un produit de la guerre froide et un symbole du partage du monde en deux blocs.

Plusieurs ressources historiques sur le site « Mémoires des Montréalais »

Lors de la 57e édition du congrès de la Société des professeurs d’histoire du Québec, le Centre d’histoire de Montréal a présenté « Mémoires des Montréalais », son site consacré à la ville de Montréal et ses habitants.

La forêt amazonienne brûle

Depuis plusieurs semaines, les médias nous répètent une même nouvelle : la forêt amazonienne est au prise avec des centaines d’incendies qui détruisent, ce qui est appelé par certains, « le poumon de la planète ». Zoom sur l'importance de la forêt amazonienne pour la planète Terre.

Réinventer l’apprentissage : portrait d’un enseignant innovant

Jean-Philippe Payer a reçu le prix Ken Spencer pour l’innovation en enseignement au Canada. Un prix prestigieux qui souligne le travail et l’implication de cet enseignant qui a osé adopter une perspective différente pour favoriser les apprentissages chez ses élèves.