ADVERTISEMENT

A great portrait of young Canadians and digital media

In 2013, the Habilomedias organization conducted a large survey of 5,436 Canadian students in grades 4 to 11 to measure the importance of networked technologies in their lives.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

In 2013, the organization Habilomedias conducted a large survey of 5,436 Canadian students in grade 4e at the 11e year, to measure the importance of networked technologies in their lives.

The first finding of the report Online life is that Internet access is now universal. In fact, 99 % of pupils have the possibility of connecting outside the school.

Second, there is a proliferation of mobile devices, such as tablets, smartphones and MP3 players, which provide young people with constant and often unsupervised access.

Finally, we have observed the spectacular growth of social networking. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr and Minecraft are the favorite sites for young people. Almost a third of the students of the 4e at the 6e years have a Facebook account, despite the terms of use which prohibit children under 13 from using this site.

At the heart of life

The social life of young people today is so tied to technology that 39 % of those who have their own cell phone sleep with it at night in case they receive calls or messages! However, more than a third worry about spending too much time online.

More present in the lives of students than ever before, digital media are an important source for entertainment and communication between friends and family. Indeed, 59 % of young people play online games, 51 % download or stream music, TV shows or movies, and 52 % read or post on other people's social networking sites.

Digital media are also an important source, if not their main source of information - 49 % of students use the Internet to follow news and current affairs. This proportion increases over the years, from 28 % in 4e year at 65 % in 11e year. On the entertainment side, Youtube remains the most popular site among all students.

Security question

While claiming to feel safe in the virtual world, one in six students has already disconnected in order to avoid someone who was harassing them. Girls are significantly less likely than boys to view the Internet as a safe place. There was also a strong link between the presence of parental rules on Internet use and the adoption of preventive behaviors.

A cultural divide

One thing remains certain, there is a gap, if not a gap, between the way of communicating, of being informed and of being entertained of the young generation compared to the one which preceded them. Exit the traditional media - telephone, television, radio, newspapers, movies and music on CD or DVD: digital media are ubiquitous and on the way to eliminating all competition.

We are in the presence of a language and a culture whose parameters will have to be quickly mastered if we wish to maintain contact with our youth.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Pierre Turbis
Pierre Turbis
Pierre is a journalist and columnist. He contributes to numerous publications.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Un grand portrait sur les jeunes Canadiens et les médias numériques

En 2013, l’organisme Habilomedias menait un vaste sondage auprès de 5436 élèves canadiens de la 4e à la 11e année, afin de mesurer l’importance des technologies en réseau dans leur vie.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

En 2013, l’organisme Habilomedias menait un vaste sondage auprès de 5436 élèves canadiens de la 4e à la 11e année, afin de mesurer l’importance des technologies en réseau dans leur vie.

Le premier constat du rapport La vie en ligne est que l’accès à Internet est maintenant universel. En effet, 99 % des élèves ont la possibilité de se brancher en dehors de l’école.

En second lieu, on observe une prolifération des appareils mobiles, tels que les tablettes, les téléphones intelligents et les lecteurs MP3, qui procurent aux jeunes un accès constant et souvent non supervisé.

Enfin, on a observé la spectaculaire croissance du réseautage social. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr et Minecraft sont les sites préférés des jeunes. Près du tiers des élèves de la 4e à la 6e année ont un compte Facebook, en dépit des conditions d’utilisation qui interdisent aux enfants de moins de 13 ans d’utiliser ce site.

Au cœur de la vie

La vie sociale des jeunes d’aujourd’hui est tellement liée à la technologie que 39 % de ceux qui possèdent leur propre cellulaire dorment avec celui-ci la nuit au cas où ils recevraient des appels ou des messages! Toutefois, plus du tiers s’inquiète de passer trop de temps en ligne.

Plus que jamais présents dans la vie des élèves, les médias numériques sont une source importante pour le divertissement et la communication entre les amis et la famille. En effet, 59 % des jeunes jouent à des jeux en ligne, 51 % téléchargent ou diffusent de la musique, des émissions de télé ou des films, et 52 % lisent ou publient sur les sites de réseautage social d’autres personnes.

Les médias numériques sont également une source importante, sinon leur principale d’information – 49 % des élèves utilisent Internet pour suivre les nouvelles et les actualités. Cette proportion augmente avec les années, passant de 28 % en 4e année à 65 % en 11e année. Du côté du divertissement, YouTube demeure le site le plus populaire chez l’ensemble des élèves.

Question sécurité

Tout en affirmant se sentir en sécurité dans l’univers virtuel, un élève sur six s’est déjà déconnecté afin d’éviter quelqu’un qui le harcelait. Les filles sont nettement moins susceptibles que les garçons de voir Internet comme un endroit sécuritaire. On a également constaté un lien étroit entre la présence de règles parentales sur l’utilisation d’Internet et l’adoption de comportements préventifs.

Un fossé culturel

Une chose demeure certaine, il existe un écart, sinon un fossé, entre la façon de communiquer, de s’informer et de se divertir de la jeune génération par rapport à celle qui les a précédée. Exit les médias traditionnels – téléphone, télévision, radio, journaux papier, cinéma et musique sur support CD ou DVD : les médias numériques sont omniprésents et en voie d’éliminer toute concurrence.

Nous sommes en présence d’un langage et d’une culture dont il faudra rapidement maîtriser les paramètres si nous souhaitons garder le contact avec notre jeunesse.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Pierre Turbis
Pierre est journaliste et chroniqueur. Il collabore à de nombreuses publications.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée

L'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!