An innovative ecosystem is being set up at Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert

Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert is setting up an innovation ecosystem within the school, while forging new links with the business and research community, and projects are multiplying.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

There is no shortage of projects at Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert (CDSL), located on the south shore of Montreal. The secondary school is setting up an ecosystem of innovation within the school, while forging new links with the business and research community, and projects are multiplying.

“In aiming for our students to become bold leaders, we decided to approach school differently. We have chosen to make it a place of convergence and meetings with the community so that our students can contribute concretely to promising projects and have a positive impact in society from now on ”, indicates Francis Roy, general manager of the CDSL.

The educational project of the school, which takes the name of Place of possibilities, is above all a way of approaching educational projects in partnership with various community experts (entrepreneurs, researchers or others). This project will become even more real during the fall of 2021 when a new pavilion will be inaugurated on the grounds of the College. This will become the physical place for the holding of meetings in connection with the projects. Construction is underway.

3 areas of expertise

It was following a consultation, carried out with staff, students and their parents in 2018, that the Place of Possibilities took shape. Three central themes guide the projects that are emerging: sustainable development, creativity and entrepreneurship as well as digital.

Although the physical location is still long overdue, several initiatives have been carried out so far and new ones are already planned for the next school year. 

Thus, among other things, students participated in a cricket farm with the David-Suzuki Foundation, they helped the Gioia Foundation has developed a camp concept for children with rare or incurable diseases, they responded to a call for solutions from Doctor François Marquis of Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont.

Artificial intelligence and sustainable development charters

More recently, three partnerships were concluded with Quebec universities. 

The College has joined forces with the MILA (Quebec Institute of Artificial Intelligence) and its university collaborators as part of a five-year research project on the ethical development of intelligence. artificial in the context of education in Quebec. “This project will lead to the drafting of a charter for the use of artificial intelligence in schools. This will contain guidelines and recommendations for the school environment. Our students will take part in the meetings and will be able to bring their point of view, ”says Mr. Roy.

Other CDSL students will collaborate with 2nd cycle students from the Université de Sherbrooke as part of their integrative project to develop a sustainable development policy which will then apply in their school. It would also be about to be unveiled, according to the director. 

Finally, as part of the Innovative Pedagogies in Visual and Media Arts course at the University of Quebec in Montreal, the CDSL will welcome university students within its walls. Their work will lead to the design and production of creative prototypes or innovative educational activities related to issues, challenges or needs expressed by members of the College staff. 

“We hope to be able to inspire other educational establishments across Quebec to offer concrete projects to their students and to forge more links with the ecosystem around them. This type of collaboration is very rewarding and motivating for young people, ”concludes Mr. Roy.

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Un écosystème innovant se met en place au Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert

Le Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert met en place un écosystème d’innovation à l’intérieur de l’école, tout en tissant de nouveaux liens avec la communauté d’affaires et de la recherche, et les projets se multiplient.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Décidément, ce ne sont pas les projets qui manquent au Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert (CDSL), situé sur la rive sud de Montréal. L’établissement d’enseignement secondaire met en place un écosystème d’innovation à l’intérieur de l’école, tout en tissant de nouveaux liens avec la communauté d’affaires et de la recherche, et les projets se multiplient.

« En visant à ce que nos élèves deviennent des leaders audacieux, nous avons décidé d’aborder l’école différemment. Nous avons choisi d’en faire un lieu de convergence et de rencontres avec la communauté afin que nos élèves puissent contribuer concrètement à des projets porteurs et qu’ils aient un impact positif dans la société dès maintenant », indique Francis Roy, directeur général du CDSL.

Le projet éducatif de l’école, qui prend le nom de Lieu des possibles, est avant tout une façon d’aborder des projets pédagogiques en partenariat avec différents experts de la communauté (entrepreneurs, chercheurs ou autres). Ce projet deviendra encore plus réel au cours de l’automne 2021 alors qu’un nouveau pavillon sera inauguré sur le terrain du Collège. Celui-ci deviendra le lieu physique pour la tenue de rencontres en lien avec les projets. La construction est en cours.

3 pôles d’expertise

C’est à la suite d’une consultation, menée auprès du personnel, des élèves et de leurs parents en 2018, que le Lieu des possibles a pris forme. Trois thématiques centrales guident les projets qui voient le jour : le développement durable, la créativité et l’entrepreneuriat ainsi que le numérique.

Bien que le lieu physique se fasse encore attendre, plusieurs initiatives ont été conduites jusqu’à maintenant et de nouvelles sont déjà prévues pour la prochaine année scolaire. 

Ainsi, des élèves ont entre autres participé à un élevage de grillon avec la Fondation David-Suzuki, ils ont aidé la Fondation Gioia a développé un concept de camp pour les enfants atteints de maladie rare ou incurable, ils ont répondu à un appel à solutions du Docteur François Marquis de l’Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont.

Chartes de l’intelligence artificielle et du développement durable

Plus récemment, trois partenariats ont été conclus avec des universités québécoises. 

Le Collège s’est associé au MILA (Institut québécois d’intelligence artificielle) et à ses collaborateurs du milieu universitaire dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche, qui s’échelonnera sur cinq ans, au sujet du développement éthique de l’intelligence artificielle dans le contexte de l’éducation au Québec. « Ce projet conduira à la rédaction d’une charte de l’usage de l’intelligence artificielle dans les écoles. Celle-ci contiendra des balises et des recommandations pour le milieu scolaire. Nos élèves prendront part aux rencontres et pourront apporter leur point de vue », fait valoir M. Roy.

D’autres élèves du CDSL collaboreront avec des étudiants du 2e cycle de l’Université de Sherbrooke dans le cadre de leur projet intégrateur pour développer une politique de développement durable qui s’appliquera ensuite dans leur établissement scolaire. Celle-ci serait d’ailleurs sur le point d’être dévoilée, selon le directeur. 

Finalement, dans le cadre du cours Pédagogies innovantes en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, le CDSL accueillera des étudiants universitaires à l’intérieur de ses murs. Leurs travaux mèneront à la conception et à la réalisation de prototypes de création ou d’activités pédagogiques innovantes en lien avec des enjeux, des défis ou des besoins formulés par des membres du personnel du Collège. 

« Nous espérons pouvoir inspirer d’autres établissements d’enseignement de partout à travers le Québec à proposer des projets concrets à leurs élèves et à tisser plus de liens avec l’écosystème autour d’eux. Ce type de collaboration est très valorisant et motivant pour les jeunes », conclut M. Roy.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct