All in the third year?

For some students, it is a long way from grade 2 to grade 3. Sometimes they need to catch up. With this in mind, teacher Stéphanie Demers designed Rattrapage 2e, digital courses in French and math.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

For some students, it's a big step to go from 2e to the 3e grade of elementary school. Catching up is sometimes necessary. It is in this spirit that teacher Stéphanie Demers has designed Catch-up 2eDigital courses in French and mathematics.

Creator of Rattrapage 2eStéphanie Demers is currently preparing Rattrapage 1, a digital educational module.time .
Credit: courtesy

With 15 years of experience in the Sorel-Tracy region, Stéphanie Demers plunged into the adventure of Rattrapage 2 last year.e. "With the pandemic, I found that children were more tired and parents more anxious about their child's success," she recalls. That's when the idea came to her to build a program available on a digital platform.

But why make up for the second year and not the first? "Quite simply, because I taught 15 years in 2eshe says with a smile. "I know the program inside and out. But it's true," she continues, "that it could start in first grade." The less you wait when there's a delay, the better it is for a child. Ms. Demers' next project is to produce the Catch-up 1 version of the program.time.

An extra notebook?

While in France, summer workbooks are commonplace in the teaching world, in Quebec, this is less the case, but there are more and more of them. Stéphanie Demers, however, sees it differently. "I don't work with notebooks. I work in workshops!"

In concrete terms, in the case of French, she will record a sentence on her phone and then send it to the students enrolled in her classes. It is from this sentence that the notions, for example, of the plural or the agreement with the feminine will be seen.

In French, reading and writing skills are reviewed in Ms. Stephanie's classes through story comprehension and grammatical writing, while in math, problem solving, numeracy, and operations procedures are combed through.

Educational capsules are also created for students as well as informative capsules for parents. They also have the possibility to contact her if their questions are not answered. Teaching materials are available for printing, and a private Facebook group allows subscribers to share various resources or educational books.

Personally, Stephanie Demers relies on the collaboration between the school and the family to counteract learning delays. She just hopes that all her work will serve to prevent children from being left to their own devices when faced with comprehension difficulties.

Moved to 6e I'm passionate about education," says Mrs. Demers, "but I also have two children. I'm passionate about education," says Demers, "but I also have two children. So I have to find a balance. After 2e year and the first year coming up, I think I'll need help with the other years." Attention interested parties!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Tous en troisième année?

Pour certains élèves, la marche est haute pour passer de la 2e à la 3e année du primaire. Du rattrapage s’impose parfois. C’est dans cet esprit que l’enseignante Stéphanie Demers a conçu Rattrapage 2e, des cours numériques en français et en mathématiques.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Pour certains élèves, la marche est haute pour passer de la 2e à la 3e année du primaire. Du rattrapage s’impose parfois. C’est dans cet esprit que l’enseignante Stéphanie Demers a conçu Rattrapage 2e, des cours numériques en français et en mathématiques.

Créatrice de Rattrapage 2e, un module pédagogique numérique, Stéphanie Demers est en train de préparer Rattrapage 1ère .
Crédit : courtoisie

Forte de ses 15 ans d’expérience au primaire dans la région de Sorel-Tracy, c’est l’an dernier que Stéphanie Demers a plongé dans l’aventure de Rattrapage 2e. « Avec la pandémie, je trouvais que les enfants étaient plus fatigués et les parents plus anxieux par rapport au succès de leur enfant », se rappelle-t-elle. C’est alors que l’idée lui est venue de monter un programme disponible sur une plate-forme numérique.

Mais pourquoi du rattrapage pour la deuxième année et non la première? « Tout simplement, parce que j’ai enseigné 15 ans en 2e! » lance-t-elle en souriant. « Je connais le programme sur le bout des doigts. Mais il est vrai, poursuit-elle, que ça pourrait commencer en première. » Moins on attend quand il y a du retard, mieux ça vaut pour un enfant. Mme Demers a d’ailleurs comme prochain projet de réaliser la version Rattrapage 1ère.

Un cahier supplémentaire?

Si, en France, les cahiers d’exercices estivaux sont monnaie courante dans le monde de l’enseignement, au Québec, c’est moins le cas, mais il y en a de plus en plus. Stéphanie Demers voit toutefois cela d’un autre œil. « Je ne fonctionne pas avec des cahiers. Je travaille en ateliers! »

Concrètement, en ce qui concerne le français, elle va enregistrer une phrase sur son téléphone et l’envoyer par la suite aux élèves inscrits à ses cours. C’est à partir de cette phrase que seront vues les notions, par exemple, du pluriel ou de l’accord avec le féminin.

En français, les compétences en lecture et en écriture sont révisées dans les cours de Mme Stéphanie par la compréhension d’une histoire et l’écriture grammaticale, alors qu’en mathématique, la démarche de résolution de problèmes, la numérisation et les procédures d’opérations sont passées au peigne fin.

Des capsules pédagogiques sont aussi créées pour les élèves ainsi que des capsules informatives pour les parents. Ils ont également la possibilité de la contacter si ces dernières ne répondent pas à leurs questions. Du matériel pédagogique est disponible pour être imprimé, et un groupe privé sur Facebook permet aux inscrits d’échanger sur diverses ressources ou sur divers ouvrages pédagogiques.

Misant personnellement sur la collaboration entre l’école et la famille pour contrer les retards d’apprentissage, Stéphanie Demers espère simplement que tout son travail servira à ne pas abandonner les enfants à leur sort face aux difficultés de compréhension.

Mutée en 6e année lors de la dernière rentrée, n’aurait-elle pas envie de faire une série de rattrapage pour toutes les années? « Je suis une passionnée de l’éducation, confie Mme Demers, mais j’ai aussi deux enfants. Je dois donc trouver un équilibre. Après la 2e année et la première année qui s’en vient, je crois que j’aurai besoin d’aide pour les autres années. » Avis aux intéressés!

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :