ADVERTISEMENT

science

Science learning report illustrates the economic burden of dropping out of high school science courses

The cost of skipping high school science and math classes is high for the country, according to a recent research report. It highlights three costs - financial, opportunity, and societal - affecting the Canadian economy as young people drop out of advanced science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) courses.

ICT in science, essential to compensate for the lack of resources

Some time ago, we invited teachers to tell us about their use of ICT in the classroom. Haddadi Mohamed, a teacher in Morocco, tells us about the advantages he finds there in his science education.

The more girls progress in their studies, the more they like science and technology

Roxanne Beauchamp, 20, a 2nd year mechanical engineering student at Laval University, and her sister Marie-Philippe, soon to be 18, who is preparing a ...

Fathers can also play a decisive role in the vocation of daughters

“It wasn't school that made me discover my taste for science, (…) it was my father who allowed me to get in touch with [them]”, says Anne-Marie Brosseau, Secondary 5 student at the Pensionnat du Saint-Nom-de-Marie in Outremont. She discovered “Girls and science, an electrifying duo! " two years ago.

Science and technology: jobs for girls and boys

Comuniqué (Onisep, France) - Stop stereotypes! Girls and boys in 3rd and 2nd year perceive science and technology jobs in almost the same way. This is shown by the results of the Harris Interactive survey published by Onisep on the occasion of the European Education Fair.

Reform students more proficient in science and technology

The students of the reform obtain poorer results on national and international tests in science and technology, but are however more competent, according to Patrice Potvin, professor-researcher in science didactics at UQAM.

Virtual trip around the world

Biologist and filmmaker Jean Lemire left the port of Gaspé on April 18 aboard the Sedna IV for a 1,000-day mission around the planet. Teachers and their students will therefore be invited to follow the journey of the crew on the Internet, heading for the Azores and then setting out to Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, Panama and Costa Rica.

Scientific exploration in the classroom

Many people, even teachers, have a misconception about science. It is therefore difficult to want to teach a subject with which they are uncomfortable. However, the sciences amaze young and old alike.

Better at math, worse at science and reading

Quebec secondary school students are the best in the country in mathematics, according to the 2010 Pan-Canadian Assessment Program report, the results of which were released yesterday.

Science and Technology: Mentors Wanted

(Press release) The FAST project is an exceptional opportunity to participate in the next generation of science and technology while promoting academic perseverance. How to contribute? By becoming the mentor of a 4th year secondary student as part of an internship in a company.

sciences

Un rapport sur l’apprentissage des sciences illustre le fardeau économique que représente l’abandon des cours de sciences au secondaire

Selon un rapport de recherche récent, le coût du délaissement des cours de sciences et des mathématiques au secondaire est fort élevé pour le pays. Il met en évidence trois coûts - financier, d'opportunité et sociétal - affectant l'économie canadienne, parce que les jeunes délaissent les cours avancés de sciences, de technologie, de génie et de mathématiques (STIM).

Les TIC en sciences, incontournables pour pallier le manque de ressources

Il y a quelque temps, nous avions invité des enseignants à nous parler de leur utilisation des TIC en classe. Haddadi Mohamed, instituteur au Maroc, nous parle des avantages qu’il y trouve dans son enseignement des sciences.

Plus les filles progressent dans leurs études, plus elles aiment les sciences et les technologies

Roxanne Beauchamp, 20 ans, étudiante en 2e année de génie mécanique à l’Université Laval, et sa sœur Marie-Philippe, bientôt 18 ans, qui prépare un...

Les pères aussi peuvent jouer un rôle déterminant dans la vocation des filles

« Ce n'est pas l'école qui m'a fait découvrir mon goût pour les sciences, (…) c'est mon père qui m'a permis d'entrer en contact [elles] », confie Anne-Marie Brosseau, élève de 5e secondaire au Pensionnat du Saint-Nom-de-Marie à Outremont. Elle a découvert « Les filles et les sciences, un duo électrisant! » il y a deux ans.

Sciences et technologies : des métiers pour les filles comme pour les garçons

Comuniqué (Onisep, France) - Halte aux stéréotypes ! Les filles et les garçons de 3e et de 2de perçoivent les métiers scientifiques et technologiques pratiquement de la même manière. C’est ce que démontrent les résultats de l’enquête Harris Interactive publiée par l’Onisep à l’occasion du Salon européen de l’éducation.

Les élèves de la réforme plus compétents en sciences et technologie

Les élèves de la réforme obtiennent de moins bons résultats aux tests nationaux et internationaux en sciences et technologie, mais sont toutefois plus compétents, selon Patrice Potvin, professeur-chercheur en didactique des sciences de l’UQAM.

Voyage virtuel autour du monde

Le biologiste et cinéaste Jean Lemire a quitté le port de Gaspé le 18 avril à bord du Sedna IV pour une mission de 1000 jours autour de la planète. Les enseignants et leurs élèves seront donc invités à suivre par internet le périple de l’équipage qui se dirige vers les Açores et qui prendra ensuite la mer vers les Bermudes, les îles Caïmans, le Panama et le Costa Rica.

L’exploration scientifique en classe

De nombreuses personnes, même des enseignants, ont une conception erronée des sciences. Difficile donc, d’avoir envie d’enseigner une matière avec laquelle ils sont peu à l’aise. Pourtant, les sciences émerveillent les grands comme les petits.

Meilleurs en mathématiques, moins bons en sciences et en lecture

Les élèves québécois de deuxième secondaire sont les meilleurs au pays en mathématiques, selon le rapport du Programme pancanadien d’évaluation 2010 dont les résultats ont été dévoilés hier.

Science et technologie : mentors recherchés

(Communiqué) Le projet FAST est une occasion exceptionnelle de participer à la relève en science et technologie tout en favorisant la persévérance scolaire. Comment y contribuer? En devenant le mentor d’un élève de 4e secondaire dans le cadre d’un stage en entreprise.