ADVERTISEMENT

Science and technology: jobs for girls and boys

Comuniqué (Onisep, France) - Stop stereotypes! Girls and boys in 3rd and 2nd year perceive science and technology jobs in almost the same way. This is shown by the results of the Harris Interactive survey published by Onisep on the occasion of the European Education Fair.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Comuniqué (Onisep, France) - Stop stereotypes! Girls and boys in 3rd and 2nd year perceive science and technology jobs in almost the same way. This is what the results of the Harris Interactive survey published by theOnisep on the occasion of the European Education Fair.

Scientific and technological professions enjoy a good image among girls and boys
While a majority of the students questioned (56%) said they still had little knowledge of scientific and technological professions, they enjoyed a good image among 90% of all the young people questioned. Spontaneously, 3rd and 2nd year students perceive scientific and technological professions as professions of excellence but, as a priority, cite scientific professions: "researcher", "engineer", "doctor" ...

Technological professions are as much made for girls as for boys
This is what 73% thinks of girls and 70%s of boys. Ditto for scientific professions (83% for girls and 80% for boys). Thus, if girls in 3rd and 2nd year consider that there are currently few women in these professions (57% of girls think so against 49% of boys), they do not consider that they do not have the profile to exercise this type. business.

A more marked interest in boys
Boys (64% of them) are more likely to be interested in scientific and technological professions than girls (57% of them). Even if the technological professions attract more boys than girls (39% against 22%), the latter mostly prefer scientific professions (52%).

Cutting-edge professions, useful and allowing to find a job
For more than 9 out of 10 students, these scientific and technological professions appear to be "at the cutting edge of technology", they "allow discoveries to be made that are useful to society" and are "fulfilling" ... Technological professions are perceived more as " mostly manual ”and“ physically demanding ”. Boys are more likely than girls (83% against 71%) to consider that technological professions make it easy to find a job.

Study carried out by Harris Interactive via the Internet from October 31 to November 12, 2012. Sample of 800 individuals representative of 3rd and 2nd year students, from the Harris Interactive access panel. Quota method and adjustment applied to the following variables: sex, class, socio-professional category of parents, region of the interviewee and sector for 2nd year students.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Sciences et technologies : des métiers pour les filles comme pour les garçons

Comuniqué (Onisep, France) - Halte aux stéréotypes ! Les filles et les garçons de 3e et de 2de perçoivent les métiers scientifiques et technologiques pratiquement de la même manière. C’est ce que démontrent les résultats de l’enquête Harris Interactive publiée par l’Onisep à l’occasion du Salon européen de l’éducation.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Comuniqué (Onisep, France) – Halte aux stéréotypes ! Les filles et les garçons de 3e et de 2de perçoivent les métiers scientifiques et technologiques pratiquement de la même manière. C’est ce que démontrent les résultats de l’enquête Harris Interactive publiée par l’Onisep à l’occasion du Salon européen de l’éducation.

Les métiers scientifiques et technologiques jouissent d’une bonne image auprès des filles et des garçons
Si une majorité des élèves interrogés (56%) déclare encore mal connaître les métiers scientifiques et technologiques, ils jouissent d’une bonne image auprès de 90% de tous les jeunes interrogés. Spontanément, les élèves de 3e et de 2de perçoivent les métiers scientifiques et technologiques comme des métiers d’excellence mais, citent prioritairement des métiers scientifiques : « chercheur », « ingénieur », « médecin »…

Les métiers technologiques sont autant faits pour les filles que pour les garçons
C’est ce que pensent 73% des filles et 70% des garçons. Idem pour les métiers scientifiques (83% des filles et 80% de garçons). Ainsi, si les filles de 3e et de 2de considèrent qu’actuellement les femmes sont peu nombreuses dans ces métiers (57% des filles le pensent contre 49% des garçons), elles n’estiment pas pour autant ne pas avoir le profil pour exercer ce type de métier.

Un intérêt plus marqué chez les garçons
Les garçons (64% d’entre eux) sont plus nombreux à être intéressés par les métiers scientifiques et technologiques que les filles (57% d’entre elles). Même si les métiers technologiques attirent davantage les garçons que les filles (39% contre 22%), ces dernières préférent majoritairement les métiers scientifiques (52%).

Des métiers à la pointe, utiles et permettant de trouver un emploi
Pour plus de 9 élèves sur 10, ces métiers scientifiques et technologiques apparaissent comme « à la pointe de la technologie », ils « permettent de faire des découvertes utiles à la société » et sont « épanouissants »… Les métiers technologiques sont davantage perçus comme « en grande majorité manuels » et « pénibles physiquement ». Les garçons sont plus nombreux que les filles (83% contre 71%) à considérer que les métiers technologiques permettent de trouver facilement un emploi.

Etude réalisée par Harris Interactive par Internet du 31 octobre au 12 novembre 2012. Echantillon de 800 individus représentatifs des élèves de 3e et de 2de, à partir de l’access panel Harris Interactive. Méthode des quotas et redressement appliquée aux variables suivantes : sexe, classe, catégorie socioprofessionnelle des parents, région de l’interviewé(e) et filière pour les élèves de 2de.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :