Primary Cycle 3

The supermassive black hole at the center of our galaxy in pictures

This is a historic moment for astrophysicists. On May 12, 2022, the very first image of a supermassive black hole located at the center of our galaxy, the Milky Way, was officially unveiled. It is called Sagittarius A*, after the constellation through which it is observed - but not with the naked eye, since a black hole does not emit light! This is quite a scientific challenge!

The Canadian chickadee, future national bird?

On the 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation in 2017, the country's national bird was officially unveiled through an online vote. Let's take a closer look at the characteristics of Canada's chickadee.

Happy Mother's Day!

On the second Sunday in May, many families gather to celebrate an important day: Mother's Day. Here are a few activities that will help you learn a little more about the origins of this holiday and its importance in today's society!

May 4: a day to celebrate the Star Wars saga

Every year on May 4th, Star Wars fans celebrate their favorite saga by saying "May the 4th be with you!". Let's take a closer look at the reasons why moviegoers' fervor has continued to grow since the first film in the saga in 1977.

Queen Elizabeth II breaks all records

Queen Elizabeth turns 96 on April 21, 2022. Here are some activities that will allow students to learn more about the highlights of her life and the roles and responsibilities of her representatives in Canada, as well as learn about Canadian currency. As a bonus, we visit Buckingham Palace in 3D!

Ready for Easter!

If Easter is traditionally a Christian religious holiday, today it is rather synonymous with holidays, family celebrations and… chocolate! Let's take a moment to explore the associated traditions and write a tale on the subject.

Behind the scenes of maple syrup production

In the spring, in North America, the sugar maples are flowing and maple syrup producers collect their sap to transform it in many ways. Let's discover the different facets of maple syrup through different activity ideas and a host of useful resources.

March: month of the Francophonie

Over 270 million people speak French in the world. March is an opportunity to promote this rich language .

Meet… Oprah Winfrey

The series Meet… allows teachers to take a break to introduce certain personalities to their students. Today, we are interested in an exceptional woman, Oprah Winfrey, and her particular interview technique.

A Meeting With… Marie-Philip Poulin

Like many Canadian athletes, Marie-Philip Poulin, captain of the women's ice hockey team, is competing at the Olympic Games in Beijing, China. Here is a simple and modular activity that combines reading comprehension and digital creation to discover our athletes and their journey.

Primaire 3e cycle

Le trou noir supermassif au centre de notre galaxie en image

C'est un moment historique pour les astrophysiciens. Le 12 mai 2022, on dévoilait officiellement la toute première image d'un trou noir supermassif situé au centre de notre galaxie, la Voie lactée. On l'appelle Sagittaire A*, du nom de la constellation à travers laquelle il est observé - mais pas à l'oeil nu, puisqu'un trou noir n'émet aucune lumière! C'est tout un défi scientifique!

Le mésangeai du Canada, oiseau national

À l’occasion du 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne en 2017, l’oiseau national du pays a été officiellement dévoilé par l’entremise d’un vote en ligne. Voyons de plus près les caractéristiques du mésangeai du Canada.

Bonne fête des mères!

Le deuxième dimanche du mois de mai, de nombreuses familles se rassemblent pour célébrer un jour important : la fête des mères. Voici quelques activités qui permettront d'en apprendre un peu plus sur les origines de cette fête et sur son importance dans la société actuelle!

4 mai : une journée pour célébrer la saga Star Wars

Chaque année, le 4 mai, les amateurs de Star Wars célèbrent leur saga préférée en disant "May the 4th be with you!". Observons de plus près les raisons qui font en sorte que la ferveur des cinéphiles n’a cessé de grandir depuis le premier film de la saga en 1977.

La reine Elizabeth II bat tous les records

La reine Elizabeth célèbre ses 96 ans le 21 avril 2022. Voici des activités qui permettront notamment aux élèves d'en apprendre un peu plus sur les moments marquants de sa vie et sur les rôles et responsabilités de ses représentants au Canada, en plus de se renseigner sur la monnaie canadienne. En prime, on visite Buckingham Palace en 3D!

Prêts pour Pâques!

Si Pâques est traditionnellement une fête religieuse chrétienne, elle est aujourd’hui plutôt synonyme de congé, fête en famille et… chocolat! Prenons un moment pour explorer les traditions associées et pour écrire un conte sur le sujet.

Les dessous de l’acériculture

Au printemps, en Amérique du Nord, les érables à sucre coulent et les acériculteurs récoltent leur sève pour la transformer de plusieurs façons. Découvrons les différentes facettes du sirop d’érable à travers différentes idées d'activités et une foule de ressources utiles.

Mars : mois de la francophonie

Plus de 270 millions de personnes parlent français dans le monde. Le mois de mars est l'occasion de faire rayonner et de réaffirmer la langue qui nous unit.

À la rencontre de… Oprah Winfrey

La série À la rencontre de… permet aux enseignant(e)s de prendre une pause pour faire connaître certaines personnalités à leurs élèves. Aujourd’hui, on s’intéresse à une femme d’exception, Oprah Winfrey, et à sa technique d'entrevue particulière.

A Meeting With… Marie-Philip Poulin

Like many Canadian athletes, Marie-Philip Poulin, captain of the women's ice hockey team, is competing at the Olympic Games in Beijing, China. Here is a simple and modular activity that combines reading comprehension and digital creation to discover our athletes and their journey.