ADVERTISEMENT

Evaluating the quality of a website can be taught!

Telling students that they must validate the reliability of their sources when doing research is not enough. You still have to teach them how to do it! To help you support them, here are nine criteria that help determine a credible source on the Web.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Telling students that they must validate the reliability of their sources when doing research is not enough. You still have to teach them how to do it! To help you support them, here are nine criteria that help determine a credible source on the Web.

These nine criteria are summarized from this Edutopia article (in English). Check it out for more information and relevant examples. 

From about age 10, young people should gradually be able to assess the content and origin of the information they consult on the Internet. This skill is essential today, for both children and adults, so that they can make informed choices about consumption, for example, and develop a better understanding of the world. 

The reliability of a website essentially depends on three elements: 

  • distinguish appearance and content 
  • discover the source of the information 
  • determine the intentions of the authors

Taken alone, these elements do not lend any credibility to a site, but together they can dismiss many dubious sources.

Distinguish between appearance and content

Relying on the appearance of a site does not make it possible to judge the quality of the information it contains. Thus, distinguishing appearance and content is therefore an essential learning. Here are four questions to ask yourself.

  • Is the site easy to navigate? A Web page with good navigation ergonomics will allow visitors to find information quickly with as few clicks as possible. He won't try to lose the reader, distract him or take him somewhere else.
  • Are there many advertisements or pop-up windows? A serious site will avoid bombarding the visitor with useless information or misleading advertisements.
  • Does the site have any grammatical or syntax errors? A website's reputation will be greatly damaged by the presence of language errors. A serious organization will ensure the linguistic revision of its content.
  • Do the images serve the purpose? Graphical representations of an informational site should not be intended to entertain or distract the reader. On the contrary, the images must facilitate the understanding of the text.

Discover the source of the information

Before considering the information of a site, it is essential to know the source. The "About" and "FAQ" sections will allow you to learn more about the authors. The answers to these three questions will guide you.

  • Is the domain name evocative? The URL address will provide information on the credibility of the authors. For example, the .gouv, .gov or .edu extensions are protected and provide some legitimacy. On the contrary, extensions such as .com, .org or .net are assigned to anyone.
  • What is the qualification of the authors? A reliable site will give the name of the organization to which it relates or that of its authors. The qualification or title of the writers should also appear. Some additional research may validate their reputation.
  • Does the site offer links to other reliable sites? A relevant webpage will recommend links to trusted organizations. One can also check if similar plausible sources give the former as a reference.

Determine the intention of the authors

Depending on the age of the student, determining the intention of the authors is probably the most difficult to identify. Indeed, the intention of a person or an organization can sometimes be deliberately hidden or misleading. Even adults get caught up in it. These two questions will make it clear.

  • Does the site have biases? A credible site will publish objective facts and not interpretations or opinions. It will not present bias and will not try to convince or sell products.
  • Can we validate certain quotes, images, information? A reliable site will offer original information or correctly cite its sources. It is easy to verify the origin of a text extract by simply copying and pasting into a search engine. For images, specialized tools, such as Google Images, make it possible to find the author of a photo.

It is relatively simple to incorporate these elements into the teacher's planning. Each activity or learning situation is an opportunity for students to develop their critical thinking skills. It may also be interesting to have the student discriminate, using the above-mentioned criteria, certain sites chosen by the teacher. These are all opportunities for students to sharpen their judgment when surfing the Internet, a skill that they can easily transfer to their daily lives.


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
4- Develop and mobilize your information culture
11- Develop critical thinking towards digital technology

To see the Framework.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe laurendeau
For 25 years, the biologist, teacher, educational advisor and now technopedagogue has accumulated a rich and diversified experience in education. In her texts, Phylippe uses her background and her passion for digital resources, efficient practices and distance learning.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Évaluer la qualité d’un site Web, ça s’enseigne!

Dire aux élèves qu’ils doivent valider la fiabilité de leurs sources lorsqu’ils font des recherches n’est pas suffisant. Encore faut-il leur enseigner comment faire! Afin de vous aider à les accompagner, voici neuf critères qui permettent de déterminer une source crédible sur le Web.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Dire aux élèves qu’ils doivent valider la fiabilité de leurs sources lorsqu’ils font des recherches n’est pas suffisant. Encore faut-il leur enseigner comment faire! Afin de vous aider à les accompagner, voici neuf critères qui permettent de déterminer une source crédible sur le Web.

Ces neuf critères sont résumés à partir de cet article d’Edutopia (en anglais). Consultez-le pour trouver plus d’informations et des exemples pertinents. 

À partir d’environ 10 ans, un jeune devrait graduellement être en mesure d’évaluer le contenu et l’origine des informations qu’il consulte sur Internet. Cette compétence est primordiale aujourd’hui, pour les enfants comme pour les adultes, afin qu’ils puissent faire des choix éclairés en matière de consommation, par exemple, et qu’ils développent une meilleure compréhension du monde. 

La fiabilité d’un site Web dépend essentiellement de trois éléments : 

  • distinguer l’apparence et le contenu 
  • découvrir la source de l’information 
  • déterminer les intentions des auteurs

Pris isolément, ces éléments ne confèrent aucune crédibilité à un site, mais ensemble, ils permettent de rejeter de nombreuses sources douteuses.

Distinguer apparence et contenu

Se fier à l’aspect d’un site ne permet pas de juger de la qualité des renseignements qu’il contient. Ainsi, distinguer apparence et contenu constitue donc un apprentissage essentiel. Voici quatre questions à se poser.

  • Le site est-il facile à naviguer? Une page Web ayant une bonne ergonomie de navigation permettra au visiteur de trouver l’information rapidement avec le moins de clics possible. Il n’essaiera pas de perdre le lecteur, de le distraire ou de l’amener ailleurs.
  • Retrouve-t-on de nombreuses publicités ou fenêtres surgissantes? Un site sérieux évitera de bombarder le visiteur de renseignements inutiles ou de publicités trompeuses.
  • Le site comporte-t-il des erreurs grammaticales ou de syntaxe? La réputation d’un site Web sera grandement entachée par la présence d’erreurs de langue. Un organisme sérieux s’assurera de la révision linguistique de son contenu.
  • Les images servent-elles le propos? Les représentations graphiques d’un site informationnel ne devraient pas avoir pour but de divertir ou de distraire le lecteur. Au contraire, les images doivent faciliter la compréhension du texte.

Découvrir la source de l’information

Avant de considérer l’information d’un site, il est essentiel d’en connaître la source. Les sections « À propos » et « FAQ » permettront d’en apprendre davantage sur les auteurs. Les réponses à ces trois questions vous guideront.

  • Le nom de domaine est-il évocateur? L’adresse URL fournira de l’information sur crédibilité des auteurs. Par exemple, les extensions .gouv, .gov ou .edu sont protégées et procurent une certaine légitimité. Au contraire, des extensions telles que .com, .org ou .net sont attribuées à n’importe qui.
  • Quelle est la qualification des auteurs? Un site fiable donnera le nom de l’organisation auquel il se rapporte ou celui de ses auteurs. La qualification ou le titre des rédacteurs devrait aussi apparaître. Quelques recherches supplémentaires pourront ainsi valider leur réputation.
  • Le site propose-t-il des liens vers d’autres sites fiables? Une page Web pertinente recommandera des liens vers des organismes de confiance. On peut également vérifier si des sources plausibles similaires donnent le premier en référence.

Déterminer l’intention des auteurs

En fonction de l’âge de l’élève, déterminer l’intention des auteurs est probablement ce qui est le plus difficile à identifier. En effet, l’intention d’une personne ou d’une organisation peut parfois être volontairement cachée ou trompeuse. Même des adultes s’y laissent prendre. Ces deux questions permettront d’y voir clair.

  • Le site comporte-t-il des biais? Un site crédible publiera des faits objectifs et non des interprétations ou des opinions. Il ne présentera pas de biais et n’essaiera pas de convaincre ni de vendre des produits.
  • Peut-on valider certaines citations, images, informations? Un site fiable proposera des renseignements originaux ou citera correctement ses sources. Il est facile de vérifier l’origine d’un extrait de texte par un simple copier-coller dans un moteur de recherche. Pour les images, des outils spécialisés, comme Google Images, permettent de trouver l’auteur d’une photo.

Il est relativement simple d’intégrer ces éléments dans la planification de l’enseignant. Chaque activité ou chaque situation d’apprentissage constitue une occasion pour l’élève de développer son esprit critique. Il peut également être intéressant d’amener le jeune à discriminer, à l’aide des critères ci-haut mentionnés, certains sites choisis par l’enseignant.  Voilà autant d’occasions pour l’élève d’aiguiser son jugement lorsqu’il navigue sur Internet, une habileté qu’il pourra facilement transférer dans sa vie quotidienne.


Dimension(s) de la compétence numérique en lien avec cet article
4- Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle
11- Développer sa pensée critique envers le numérique

Voir le Cadre de référence.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe Laurendeau
Depuis 25 ans, le biologiste, enseignant, conseiller pédagogique et maintenant technopédagogue a accumulé une expérience riche et diversifiée en éducation. Dans ses textes, Phylippe met à profit son bagage et sa passion pour les ressources numériques, les pratiques efficaces et la formation à distance.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :