ADVERTISEMENT

SACoche: free software to assess student skills

Skills assessment software, SACoche has been used for over a year by several French colleges. Free and free, it allows teachers to keep records of what their students have acquired, and students to know where they are in the acquisition of skills.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Skills assessment software, SACoche has been used for over a year by several French colleges. Free and free, it allows teachers to keep records of what their students have acquired, and students to know where they are in the acquisition of skills.

SACoche, the first letters of which are the acronym for "skills acquisition monitoring", was first used by the colleagues of Professor Crespin before spreading throughout France and even in Canada, where it is used in particular. by Marie De France International College in Montreal and Étienne-Brûlé High School in Toronto. SACoche is free software, under the free GPL license, which can be used online. Educational institutions interested in the software can try it out by going through the SACoche website where they can choose to import the software on their own server or leave it on the server of Sésamath, a French association which promotes free and open educational resources for teaching mathematics.

Created by Thomas crespin, who teaches the Jean Aviotte college in the department of Gironde, France, SACoche was born in 2009 when the math teacher was looking for an effective way to assess the skills of his students. First discovering the work of Professor Michel Vauquois, who has been using the grid of so-called “points” for several years. Lomer To assess the skills of his students, Thomas Crespin had the idea of integrating this color point scoring system into his SACoche software.

Although created by a mathematics teacher, the SACoche software allows you to assess skills in several subjects and its use is very simple. The site also presents a few video clips to familiarize yourself with the tool. Entering skills takes into account in particular the group in which each of the students is listed, the type of assessment, the items assessed (the subject), the skills assessed, etc. A grid is then created using Lomer's assessment system, a system in which two green dots indicate that the student has largely reached the goal, a single green dot indicates that he has reached the goal despite imperfect mastery. , a red dot indicates that it has not reached the objective, but that it is not very far from it, and two red dots indicate that everything must be started again in order to achieve the objective.

Since it is free software, it can very well adapt to the educational context of Quebec. After all, SACoche is intended to be an effective tool for monitoring student achievement which "allows the teacher to know at any time what has acquired, and above all has not acquired, each of his students".

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

SACoche : un logiciel libre pour évaluer les compétences des élèves

Logiciel d’évaluation des compétences, SACoche est utilisée depuis plus d’un an par plusieurs collèges français. Libre et gratuit, il permet notamment aux professeurs de conserver des traces de ce que leurs élèves ont acquis, et aux élèves de savoir où ils en sont dans l’acquisition de compétences.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Logiciel d’évaluation des compétences, SACoche est utilisée depuis plus d’un an par plusieurs collèges français. Libre et gratuit, il permet notamment aux professeurs de conserver des traces de ce que leurs élèves ont acquis, et aux élèves de savoir où ils en sont dans l’acquisition de compétences.

SACoche, dont les premières lettres sont l’acronyme de « suivi d’acquisition de compétences »,  a d’abord été utilisé par les collègues du professeur Crespin avant de s’étendre partout en France et même au Canada, où il est notamment exploité par le collège international Marie De France de Montréal et l’école secondaire Étienne-Brûlé de Toronto. SACoche est un logiciel gratuit, sous licence libre GPL, qui s’utilise en ligne. Les institutions scolaires intéressées par le logiciel peuvent en faire l’essai en passant par le site Web de SACoche où elles pourront choisir d’importer le logiciel sur leur propre serveur ou le laisser sur le serveur de Sésamath, une association française qui fait la promotion de ressources pédagogiques libres et gratuites pour l’enseignement des mathématiques.

Créé par Thomas Crespin, qui enseigne au collège Jean Aviotte dans le département de la Gironde, en France, SACoche est né en 2009 alors que le professeur de mathématique cherchait un moyen efficace pour évaluer les compétences de ses élèves. Découvrant d’abord les travaux du professeur Michel Vauquois, qui utilise depuis plusieurs années la grille des points dits « Lomer » pour évaluer les compétences de ses élèves, Thomas Crespin a eu l’idée d’intégrer ce système de notation par points de couleur à son logiciel SACoche.

Bien que créé par un professeur de mathématique, le logiciel SACoche permet d’évaluer des compétences dans plusieurs matières et son utilisation est fort simple. Le site présente d’ailleurs quelques capsules vidéo permettant de se familiariser avec l’outil. La saisie des compétences prend notamment compte du groupe dans lequel chacun des élèves est répertorié, du type d’évaluation, des items évalués (la matière), des compétences évaluées, etc. Une grille est alors créée en utilisant le système d’évaluation de Lomer, système dans lequel deux points verts indiquent que l’élève a largement atteint l’objectif, un seul point vert indique qu’il a atteint l’objectif malgré une maîtrise imparfaite, un point rouge indique qu’il n’a pas atteint l’objectif, mais qu’il n’en est pas très loin, et deux points rouges indiquent que tout est à reprendre afin d’atteindre l’objectif visé.

Puisqu’il s’agit d’un logiciel libre, il peut très bien s’adapter au contexte pédagogique québécois. Après tout, SACoche se veut un outil efficace de suivi des acquis des élèves qui « permet au professeur de savoir à tout moment ce qu’a acquis, et surtout n’a pas acquis, chacun de ses élèves ».

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :