Remixing songs by Aboriginal artists to learn to code

Quebec Anishinabe rapper Samian is supporting the Ta voix est puissante program, which aims to teach high school students computer science and coding through music.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Quebec Anishinabe rapper Samian supports the program Your voice is powerful (TVEP), which aims to teach high school students about computer science and coding through music.

TVEP's mission is to teach the fundamentals of computer science, entrepreneurship and social justice. Using the free online code editor EarSketchThe program is designed to help high school and college students creatively remix songs by Aboriginal artists after they learn the basics of coding in an eight-module lesson plan. No previous experience is necessary, the creators of the program say.

These modules will allow students to learn not only the technical side of coding, but also how music, computer science, and entrepreneurship can be used to foster social justice. Each module includes a lesson plan, slides, student notes, and an exit ticket. In the various modules, participants will be challenged by different themes such as the layers of music (activism and equity), creating a sound bank, or the structure of a song or the messages you want to convey in a text.   

Meet Aboriginal artists

In addition to Samian from Quebec, Canadian Aboriginal artists Dakota Bear and Jayli Wolf are participating in the contest. The students will remix songs by these three First Nations artists based on the social justice themes present in their respective works. For Samian, the song Invincible people will be offered.

For the occasion, EarSketch will be offered in French, Ojibwe and Inuktitut. At the end of the training, participants will be encouraged to submit their remixes to a contest in which two winners will receive a 5,000 $ grant from Amazon Music.

Invisible people by Samian will be one of the three songs that will be remixed in the program and in the competition Your voice is powerfulwhich will end on May 31, 2022.
Photo credit: Francis Di Salvio

A proximity techno

For Samian, "the project is really well done". According to the Abitibi artist, "we always need a computer base". He even affirms that to miss out on the digital when you are at school is to miss out on the curriculum. What's more, for Samian, who is used to giving talks in schools, the TVEP program will also allow teachers to be part of the program.

For those who might not necessarily make the connection between rhythm, poetry and coding, Samian is there to reassure them. "I've learned a lot in 15 years. Technology is evolving so quickly. Plus, it allows the artist to better develop their products." He himself now has a studio at home. Techno is easier than you think," he says.

Samian, who has just released his fifth album entitled Nikamowho writes in Anishinabemowin, the language of his people, is curious to see what his remixed song will look like. He is also curious to see what the program will do for the youth who participate. He says it could open up a dialogue between youth and parents and address the issue of colonialism.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Remixer des chansons d’artistes autochtones pour apprendre à coder

L’artiste rappeur québécois anishinabé Samian apporte son soutien au programme Ta voix est puissante, qui vise à enseigner aux élèves du secondaire l'informatique et le codage par la musique.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

L’artiste rappeur québécois anishinabé Samian apporte son soutien au programme Ta voix est puissante (TVEP), qui vise à enseigner aux élèves du secondaire l’informatique et le codage par la musique.

TVEP se donne pour mission d’enseigner les principes fondamentaux de l’informatique, de l’entrepreneuriat et de la justice sociale. À l’aide de l’éditeur de code en ligne gratuit EarSketch, les élèves du secondaire et du collégial exerceront leur créativité pour remixer des chansons d’artistes autochtones, une fois qu’ils auront appris les notions du codage dans le cadre d’un plan de cours divisé en huit modules. Aucune expérience n’est nécessaire, tiennent à rappeler les créateurs du programme.

Ces modules permettront aux élèves d’apprendre non seulement l’aspect technique du codage, mais également dans quelle mesure la musique, l’informatique et l’entrepreneuriat peuvent servir à favoriser la justice sociale. Chaque module comprend un plan de cours, des diapositives, des notes pour les élèves et un billet de sortie. Dans les divers modules, les participants seront interpellés par différents thèmes comme les couches musicales (activisme et équité), la création d’une banque de sons ou encore la structure d’une chanson ou les messages qu’on souhaite véhiculer dans un texte.   

Partir à la rencontre d’artistes autochtones

Outre Samian du côté québécois, les artistes autochtones du Canada Dakota Bear et Jayli Wolf participent au concours. Les élèves remixeront donc des chansons de ces trois artistes des Premières Nations en s’inspirant des thèmes de justice sociale présents dans leurs œuvres respectives. Pour Samian, la chanson Peuple invincible sera proposée.

Pour la circonstance, EarSketch sera offert en français, en ojibwe et en inuktitut. À la fin de la formation, les participants seront encouragés à soumettre leurs remixages à un concours dans le cadre duquel deux gagnants recevront une bourse de 5 000 $ offerte par Amazon Music.

Peuple invisible de Samian sera l’une des trois chansons appelées à être remixées dans le cadre du programme et du concours Ta voix est puissante, qui se terminera le 31 mai 2022.
Crédit-photo : Francis Di Salvio

Une techno de proximité

Pour Samian, « le projet est vraiment bien fait ». Selon l’artiste abitibien, « on a toujours besoin d’une base informatique ». Il affirme même que passer à côté du numérique quand on est à l’école, c’est passer à côté du curriculum. Qui plus est, pour Samian, lui qui est habitué à donner des conférences dans les écoles, le programme TVEP permettra aussi aux enseignants d’être partie prenante du programme.

Pour ceux qui ne feraient pas nécessairement le lien entre rythme, poésie et codage, Samian est là pour les rassurer. « J’ai appris beaucoup de choses en 15 ans. La technologie évolue tellement rapidement. De plus, elle permet à l’artiste de mieux développer ses produits. » Lui-même a maintenant un studio chez lui. La techno est plus simple qu’on le pense, dit-il.

Samian, qui vient de sortir son cinquième album intitulé Nikamo, écrit en anishinabemowin, la langue de son peuple, est curieux de voir à quoi ressemblera sa chanson remixée. Il est aussi curieux de voir ce que le programme apportera aux jeunes qui y participeront. Selon lui, ça pourrait ouvrir le dialogue entre jeunes et parents et permettre d’aborder la question du colonialisme.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :