ADVERTISEMENT

Thinking now about the potential of metavers in education

You hear the expression metavers and you smile? Wait a minute! These new digital collaboration environments could well offer opportunities for the world of education... and this, in a not so distant future. Here's an overview with Alexandre Chenette, Marie-Eve Lapolice and Benoît Petit.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

You hear the expression metavers and you smile? Wait a minute! These new digital collaboration environments could well offer opportunities for the world of education... and this, in a not so distant future. Here's an overview with Alexandre Chenette, Marie-Eve Lapolice and Benoît Petit.

What is the metaverse?

"Virtual world, immersive and persistent, which allows the virtualization of human activities, including social, recreational, cultural and commercial. 

Source: Office québécoise de la langue française  

"Metavers are digital spaces that allow you to literally be in the Internet and make real the notion of extended reality that encompasses virtual reality, augmented reality, mixed reality," said Alexandre Chenette, national service contact for RÉCIT, Human Development Domain (RÉCIT PD), at its presentation at Digital education summit in May 2022. 

Although the concept may seem futuristic to some, platforms such as FrameVR.io and ExpoRVGather.town, already offers possibilities to create virtual classrooms or virtual showrooms in 3D. We have also already presented Gather.town in an article of the École branchée.

Not new

The idea behind the concept of metaverse, this virtual parallel world, is not new. As early as 1992, it began to emerge in the book The Virtual Samurai (Snow Crash) by Neal Stephenson. Then, it evolved over the years, from technosolutionism to the reconstruction of the physical world, from The Matrix to SecondLife. Today, Facebook, which has become Meta, is giving itself a decade to build a whole new virtual universe. Other metavers continue to be developed, so that it is more appropriate to speak of metavers than of the metaverse.

What about education?

Marie-Eve Lapolice is an educational advisor at the RÉCIT national service, arts field, and has been passionate about virtual reality since 1994. According to her, for a metaverse to be "effective" in education, it should include certain characteristics:

  • Creation and adaptation - worlds, places, avatars, objects, experience
  • Evolution and transformation - techno, tools, worlds, practices
  • Persistence and agnosticism - all the time and for everyone
  • Interactivity and socialization - with others, objects and the environment

She gives her own definition: "The metaverse is a perpetually evolving network of persistent and interconnected virtual worlds. It is focused on real-time interaction of the different actors in education in which they can perform all the usual actions such as: teaching, learning, collaborating, creating, presenting projects, receiving experts, interacting socially and playing. It takes advantage of technological advances to fully or partially immerse the user in the metaverse and is accessible by all, via various devices. 

In short, the metaverse exists whether you are present or not, it continues to evolve with other users who take turns joining it, and it allows you to accomplish the same tasks as if you were physically present, while eliminating constraints such as the need to move to perform an activity.

Marie-Eve Lapolice then took a look at the technologies present in schools and the possibilities offered at the moment. Devices that allow access to the metaverse are already available: 

  • computers (video conferencing and collaborative platforms) 
  • mobile devices (socialization and augmented reality) 
  • virtual reality helmets (immersive experiences)

Augmented reality

Augmented reality activities are also starting to appear in the school environment. It is possible to view existing educational digital content and even create your own learning experiences (e.g. Adobe Aero, Reality Composer). However, there are few applications that allow users to create together or interact with the same augmented experience (e.g. Just a Line, Flipgrid).

"However, these activities cannot be described as metavers. They are time-consuming, they have few opportunities for collaboration and external use, and there is no interoperability between experiences," notes Marie-Eve.

Virtual reality

The same is true for virtual reality. It is possible to visualize experiences prepared by creators, to visit historical and cultural sites, to watch documentaries shot in 360 degrees, to manipulate virtual objects. Teachers can create immersive virtual experiences for their students and students can demonstrate concepts with VR authoring platforms (e.g. CoSpaces Edu, Multibrush). Applications for teamwork (e.g., Spatial) or informal meetings (e.g., VRChat, vTime) are also beginning to emerge (e.g., Spatial). However, "again, we can't talk about metavers".

Online teaching platforms

Who says metavers in education immediately thinks of transforming the online learning experience, to make it less static than the traditional videoconference and to divide it into groups. Platforms with more playful experiences, such as Topia and Gather.town, Engage VR and Mozilla Hubs, are now available. They are accessible on various types of devices, offer several animation tools and, sometimes, even the possibility to create your own "world". 

"The maturity of these platforms is not yet there. Few of them are available in French, and their use can be time-consuming and costly," says Marie-Eve.

The limits and promises of the metaverse for education

While there are still some limitations to deploying metavers in education (bandwidth, device availability, privacy, and changing practices), the potential is definitely there, according to Lapolice.

This could mean:

  • A school open 24 hours a day
  • Accessible by all, everywhere
  • With a diversity of learning experiences
  • Offering multi-modal education and shared global expertise
  • With AI-generated worlds and multilingual conversations
  • Welcoming learners, but also content creators
  • What else is there?

Challenges for education

Moreover, like any other form of social network, metavers will come with their own rules, codes of conduct, challenges and issues that must be taken into account to avoid unfortunate situations (such as cyberbullying). Also, since these platforms are generally developed by private companies, questions related to their sustainability, the protection of users' personal information and the intellectual property of creations arise. 

For Benoît Petit, resource person for the RÉCIT national service for school administrators, it is not a matter of rejecting the coming metavers out of hand, but rather of thinking about the potential impacts now so as to be well prepared when the time comes. "Let's continue to support the development of ethical and autonomous citizenship in the digital age. Above all, let's not forget that it is uses centered on clear pedagogical intent that will enable beneficial integration of these platforms in the service of learning."

Presentations:

Alexandre chenette

Marie-Eve Lapolice

Benoît Petit 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Réfléchir dès maintenant au potentiel du métavers en éducation

Vous entendez l’expression métavers et vous souriez en coin? Attendez! Ces nouveaux environnements numériques de collaboration pourraient bien offrir des opportunités pour le monde de l’éducation… et ce, dans un avenir pas si lointain. Tour d’horizon avec Alexandre Chenette, Marie-Eve Lapolice et Benoît Petit.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Vous entendez l’expression métavers et vous souriez en coin? Attendez! Ces nouveaux environnements numériques de collaboration pourraient bien offrir des opportunités pour le monde de l’éducation… et ce, dans un avenir pas si lointain. Tour d’horizon avec Alexandre Chenette, Marie-Eve Lapolice et Benoît Petit.

Qu’est-ce que le métavers?

« Monde virtuel, immersif et persistant, qui permet la virtualisation des activités humaines, notamment sociales, ludiques, culturelles et commerciales ». 

Source : Office québécoise de la langue française  

« Les métavers sont des espaces numériques qui permettent d’être littéralement dans Internet et de concrétiser la notion de réalité étendue qui englobe la réalité virtuelle, la réalité augmentée, la réalité mixte », a précisé Alexandre Chenette, personne-ressource du service national du RÉCIT, domaine du développement de la personne (RÉCIT DP), lors de sa présentation au Sommet du numérique en éducation en mai 2022. 

Même si le concept peut sembler futuriste pour certains, des plateformes, comme FrameVR.io et ExpoRV, offrent déjà des possibilités afin de créer des classes virtuelles ou des salles d’exposition virtuelles en 3D. Nous avons également déjà présenté Gather.town dans un article de l’École branchée.

Pas nouveau

L’idée derrière le concept de métavers, ce monde parallèle virtuel, n’est pas nouvelle. Dès 1992, elle a commencé à émerger dans l’ouvrage Le Samouraï virtuel (Snow Crash) de Neal Stephenson. Puis, elle a évolué au fil des ans, passant du technosolutionnisme à la reconstitution du monde physique, de La Matrice à SecondLife. Aujourd’hui, Facebook, devenu Meta, se donne une dizaine d’années pour construire un tout nouvel univers virtuel. D’autres métavers continuent d’être développés, si bien qu’il est plus adéquat de parler des métavers que du métavers.

Et l’éducation dans tout ça?

Marie-Eve Lapolice est conseillère pédagogique au service national du RÉCIT, domaine des arts, et passionnée de réalité virtuelle depuis 1994. Selon elle, pour qu’un métavers soit « efficace » en éducation, il devrait comprendre certaines caractéristiques :

  • Création et adaptation – mondes, lieux, avatars, objets, expérience
  • Évolution et transformation – techno, outils, mondes, pratiques
  • Persistance et agnosticisme – tout le temps et pour tous
  • Interactivité et socialisation – avec les autres, les objets et l’environnement

Elle y va de sa propre définition : « Le métavers est un réseau perpétuellement évolutif de mondes virtuels persistants et interconnectés. Il est axé sur l’interaction en temps réel des différents acteurs de l’éducation dans lequel ils peuvent réaliser toutes les actions habituelles telles que : enseigner, apprendre, collaborer, créer, présenter des projets, recevoir des experts, interagir socialement et jouer. Il met à profit des avancées technologiques pour immerger totalement ou partiellement l’utilisateur dans le métavers et il est accessible par tous, via des appareils variés ». 

Bref, le métavers existe, que vous y soyez présent ou non, il continue d’évoluer avec d’autres utilisateurs qui s’y joignent à tour de rôle et il permet d’accomplir les mêmes tâches qu’en présence physique, tout en supprimant des contraintes comme la nécessité de se déplacer pour réaliser une activité.

Marie-Eve Lapolice pose ensuite un regard sur les technologies présentes dans les écoles et les possibilités offertes pour le moment. Les appareils permettant d’accéder au métavers sont déjà accessibles : 

  • ordinateurs (visioconférence et plateformes collaboratives) 
  • appareils mobiles (socialisation et réalité augmentée) 
  • casques de réalité virtuelle (expériences immersives)

La réalité augmentée

Des activités de réalité augmentée commencent également à faire leur apparition dans le milieu scolaire. Il est possible de visionner des contenus numériques éducatifs existants et même de créer ses propres expériences d’apprentissages (ex. Adobe Aero, Reality Composer). Par contre, il existe peu d’applications permettant de créer ensemble ou d’interagir avec la même expérience augmentée (ex. Just a Line, Flipgrid).

« Cependant, on ne peut pas qualifier ces activités de métavers. Elles sont chronophages, elles présentent peu de possibilités de collaboration et d’usage externe et il n’y a pas d’interopérabilité entre les expériences », fait remarquer Marie-Eve.

La réalité virtuelle

Il en va de même pour la réalité virtuelle. Il est possible de visualiser des expériences préparées par des créateurs, de visiter des lieux historiques et culturels, de visionner des documentaires tournés en 360 degrés, de manipuler des objets virtuels. Les enseignants peuvent créer des expériences virtuelles immersives pour leurs élèves et ceux-ci peuvent démontrer des notions avec des plateformes de création de RV (ex. CoSpaces Edu, Multibrush). Des applications permettant le travail d’équipe (ex. Spatial) ou les rencontres informelles (ex. VRChat, vTime) commencent aussi à émerger (ex. Spatial). Toutefois, « encore là, on ne peut pas parler de métavers ».

Les plateformes d’enseignement en ligne

Qui dit métavers en éducation pense immédiatement à transformation de l’expérience d’apprentissage en ligne, pour la rendre moins statique que la traditionnelle visioconférence et le diviser en groupe. Des plateformes présentant des expériences plus ludiques, comme Topia et Gather.town, Engage VR et Mozilla Hubs, sont maintenant disponibles. Elles sont accessibles sur divers types d’appareil, offrent plusieurs outils d’animation et, parfois même, la possibilité de créer son propre « monde ». 

« La maturité de ces plateformes n’est pas encore là. Peu d’entre elles sont disponibles en français, leur usage peut être chronophage et coûteux », indique Marie-Eve.

Les limites et les promesses du métavers pour l’éducation

Bien que certaines limites se posent encore pour le déploiement du métavers en éducation (bande passante, disponibilité des appareils, protection des renseignements personnels et changement dans les pratiques), le potentiel est bel et bien présent, selon Mme Lapolice.

Cela pourrait vouloir dire :

  • Une école ouverte 24h/24
  • Accessible par tous, partout
  • Avec une diversité des expériences d’apprentissage
  • Offrant un enseignement multimodal et des expertises mondiales partagées
  • Avec des mondes générés par intelligence artificielle et des conversations multilingues
  • Accueillant des apprenants, mais aussi créateurs de contenu
  • Quoi d’autre encore?

Des enjeux pour l’éducation

Par ailleurs, comme toute autre forme de réseau social, les métavers viendront avec leurs propres règles, codes de conduites, leurs défis et leurs enjeux qui devront être pris en compte pour éviter les situations malheureuses (de cyberintimidation par exemple). De même, puisque ces plateformes sont généralement développées par des entreprises privées, des questions en lien avec leur pérennité, la protection des renseignements personnels des utilisateurs et la propriété intellectuelle des créations se posent. 

Pour Benoît Petit, personne-ressource du service national du RÉCIT des gestionnaires scolaires, il ne s’agit pas de rejeter d’emblée les métavers à venir, mais plutôt de réfléchir dès maintenant aux impacts potentiels afin d’être bien préparé le moment venu. « Continuons d’accompagner le développement d’une citoyenneté éthique et autonome à l’ère du numérique. Surtout, n’oublions pas que ce sont les utilisations centrées sur une intention pédagogique claire qui permettront une intégration bénéfique de ces plateformes au service de l’apprentissage. »

Les présentations :

Alexandre Chenette

Marie-Eve Lapolice

Benoît Petit 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :