ETAPe project: Franco-Ontarian students learn about ICT

ONTARIO - About thirty francophone students from northern Ontario are participating in the new ETAPe pilot project - Technopedagogical environment for personalized electronic learning - which aims to integrate new technologies into their school curriculum. The Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l'Ontario (CSPGNO) and the Franco-Ontarian Center for Educational Resources (CFORP) are joining forces for this project.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

ONTARIO - About thirty francophone students from northern Ontario are participating in the new ETAPe pilot project - Technopedagogical environment for personalized electronic learning - which aims to integrate new technologies into their school curriculum. The Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l'Ontario (CSPGNO) and the Franco-Ontarian Center for Educational Resources (CFORP) are joining forces for this project.

Hubert Lalande, director of the multimedia production service at CFORP explains that ETAPe is above all an educational project and not a technical one. The objective is to better understand how ICT can help young people in their learning, particularly in terms of motivation.

For Pierre Riopel, interim director of education at CSPGNO, the situation is ideal since the groups chosen are small: 12 students at the École publique de la Découverte, in Val-Caron, and 22 at the École secondaire de Hanmer. . The small number of students allows for individual support.

Integrating new technologies into learning has been a priority for CSPGNO for several years. Already, all primary classes are equipped with an interactive whiteboard. The schools are also all connected to a wireless internet network, although the most distant schools are more than ten hours away. The school board also has 2,200 computers for… 2,200 students.

However, setting up a project like ETAPe requires money. It is thanks to the program Hybrid learning from the Ontario Ministry of Education that the CSPGNO was able to finance the purchase of a whiteboard, projector, touch pads and laptops for all students and teachers in grades 7e year.

Before starting the ETAPe project, the two teachers, school administrators and educational advisers received training offered by the CFORP. “The hardest part was getting everyone to the same level. One of the teachers had extensive experience with the interactive whiteboard while the other had never used it, ”explains Hubert Lalande.

Pierre Riopel spoke with the school administrators and their assessment of the first two months of the year is simple: “Wow! However, we will have to wait for phase two of the project to verify this first impression. Hubert Lalande hopes to be able to associate the project with researchers from the University of Ottawa or Laurentian University and thus carry out a longitudinal study on the role of ICT in learning. Mr. Lalande's objective "is to interest as many people as possible and thus extend the project to the next school year. The CFORP is open to all invitations! "

Pierre Riopel will present the ETAPe project on November 9 and 10 at a conference in Toronto on the theme Connect to success. The objective is to make the project known and who knows, to interest new participants.

In order to provide adapted educational resources, the Franco-Ontarian Center for Educational Resources has created resources specifically for the TBI, in addition to transposing educational resources from paper to electronic format. By the end of 2011, Hubert Lalande predicts that the center will have created around ten TBI titles for all school levels.

An adventure of this kind requires significant technical assistance. It is the Symbaloo visual content aggregator who is responsible for the technical aspect of the project.

To consult the CSPGNO website

To consult the CFORP website on the ETAPe project

To consult the educational tools of the CFORP

To visit the Symbaloo site

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Projet ETAPe : des élèves franco-ontariens apprivoisent les TIC

ONTARIO - Une trentaine d’élèves francophones du Nord de l’Ontario participent au nouveau projet pilote ETAPe – Environnement technopédagogique d’apprentissage personnalisé électronique- qui vise à intégrer les nouvelles technologies à leur programme scolaire. Le Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l’Ontario (CSPGNO) et le Centre franco-ontarien de ressources pédagogiques (CFORP) s’associent pour ce projet.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ONTARIO – Une trentaine d’élèves francophones du Nord de l’Ontario participent au nouveau projet pilote ETAPe – Environnement technopédagogique d’apprentissage personnalisé électronique- qui vise à intégrer les nouvelles technologies à leur programme scolaire. Le Conseil scolaire public du Grand Nord de l’Ontario (CSPGNO) et le Centre franco-ontarien de ressources pédagogiques (CFORP) s’associent pour ce projet.

Hubert Lalande, directeur du service de production multimédia au CFORP explique qu’ETAPe est avant tout un projet pédagogique et non technique. L’objectif est de mieux comprendre comment les TIC peuvent aider les jeunes dans leur apprentissage, au niveau de la motivation notamment.

Pour Pierre Riopel, directeur de l’éducation par intérim au CSPGNO, la situation est idéale puisque les groupes choisis sont petits : 12 élèves à l’École publique de la Découverte, à Val-Caron, et 22 à l’École secondaire de Hanmer. Le nombre restreint d’élèves permet un accompagnement individuel.

Intégrer les nouvelles technologies à l’apprentissage est une priorité de CSPGNO depuis plusieurs années. Déjà, toutes les classes du primaire sont équipées d’un tableau blanc interactif. Les écoles sont aussi toutes reliées à un réseau internet sans fil, même si les écoles les plus éloignées sont à plus de dix heures de route. Le conseil scolaire compte aussi 2200 ordinateurs pour… 2200 élèves.

Mettre sur pied un projet comme ETAPe demande toutefois de l’argent. C’est grâce au programme Apprentissage hybride du ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario que le CSPGNO a pu financer l’achat d’un tableau blanc, d’un projecteur, de tablettes tactiles et d’ordinateurs portables pour tous les élèves et les enseignants dans les classes de 7e année.

Avant de débuter le projet ETAPe, les deux enseignantes, les directions d’école et des conseillers pédagogiques ont reçu une formation offerte par le CFORP. « Le plus difficile a été de mettre tout le monde au même niveau. Une des enseignantes avait une grande expérience du tableau blanc interactif alors que l’autre ne l’avait jamais utilisé, » explique Hubert Lalande.

Pierre Riopel a discuté avec les directions d’écoles et leur bilan des deux premiers mois de l’année est simple : « Wow! » Il faudra cependant attendre la phase deux du projet pour vérifier cette première impression. Hubert Lalande espère pouvoir associer le projet à des chercheurs de l’Université d’Ottawa ou de l’Université Laurentienne et ainsi réaliser une étude longitudinale sur le rôle des TIC dans l’apprentissage.L’objectif de M. Lalande « est d’intéresser le maximum de personnes possible et ainsi d’élargir le projet à la prochaine rentrée scolaire. Le CFORP est ouvert à toutes les invitations! »

Pierre Riopel présentera le projet ETAPe les 9 et 10 novembre prochains à un colloque à Toronto qui a pour thème Se brancher sur la réussite. L’objectif est de faire connaître le projet et qui sait, d’intéresser de nouveaux participants.

Afin de fournir des ressources pédagogiques adaptées, Centre franco-ontarien de ressources pédagogiques a créé des ressources spécialement pour le TBI, en plus de transposer des ressources pédagogiques du format papier au format électronique. D’ici la fin de 2011, Hubert Lalande prévoit que le centre aura créé une dizaine de titres TBI pour tous les niveaux scolaires.

Une aventure de ce genre nécessite une assistance technique importante. C’est l’agrégateur visuel de contenu Symbaloo qui est responsable de l’aspect technique du projet.

Pour consulter le site du CSPGNO

Pour consulter le site du CFORP sur le projet ETAPe

Pour consulter les outils pédagogiques du CFORP

Pour visiter le site de Symbaloo

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :