Pocket: a tool for organizing web content

As a teacher, sometimes we would like to be able to better organize our findings and ideas drawn from all over the Web. Here is a very useful application to do this, which will certainly be an asset for the students as well when they are doing research.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

As a teacher, sometimes we would like to be able to better organize our findings and ideas drawn from all over the Web. Here is a very useful application to do this, which will certainly be an asset for the students as well when they are doing research. 

Source: https://getpocket.com/

After using various more or less effective methods for too long to save texts from the web that I wanted to read later - like Messenger conversation with myself, bookmarks in my web browser, or screenshots on my smartphone -, I'm now using a simple tool that helps organize all of this: Pocket. Available as a Web version, as a Chrome and Firefox extension or as a mobile application, Pocket offers functions that go beyond the “catch-all” box, which will benefit administrators as well as teachers and high school students, for example. .

Useful and varied features

For example, with Pocket, you can use text-to-speech to read articles. We also switch to dark mode to avoid over-stimulating our eyes before sleeping and also change the font or size of the text to ensure optimal reading. No internet access? No problem, the offline mode allows you to continue discovering, no matter where you are. These are all cool features in terms of inclusive education, in particular.

Another cool feature of Pocket is its social side and the ability to create a profile. You can even find friends to follow and see the articles they recommend on the Discovery Feed. 

Pocket is very intuitive to use and allows you to classify your findings by type of content (articles, videos, compilation, trend). If several documents come from the same source, the application automatically creates a folder grouping them together. It only takes two clicks on a mobile device and one in a web browser (Chrome or Firefox) to import the content of your choice into Pocket, as shown in the photos below. 

On a mobile device

On the Chrome browser (with the Pocket extension)

In a teaching context, primary and secondary AVAN (bring your digital device) classes can benefit from the functions of Pocket, for example to allow the collection of information in one and the same place during a research project. , or to give the possibility to the learners to preserve and classify their documents according to the type of content. For their part, teachers appreciate this tool for the educational monitoring it facilitates as well as for sharing and recommending educational articles or files through their Pocket community.

Here are all the links to the different ways to add Pocket and facilitate your daily educational monitoring and information gathering strategy:

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Maxime Laflamme
Maxime Laflamme
Maxime Laflamme is an educational advisor and project manager at École branchée. He is also editor-in-chief of the SCOOP! Educational guides. He has a bachelor's degree in preschool education and elementary education from the University of Sherbrooke and is pursuing a graduate degree in school management at Laval University. He transmits his passion for digital education and innovative practices through CréaCamps, conferences and workshops throughout the French-speaking world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Pocket : un outil d’organisation des contenus Web

En tant qu’enseignant, on aimerait parfois pouvoir mieux organiser nos trouvailles et idées puisées d’un peu partout sur le Web. Voici une application bien utile pour y arriver, qui sera certainement un atout aussi pour les élèves lorsqu’ils font des recherches.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

En tant qu’enseignant, on aimerait parfois pouvoir mieux organiser nos trouvailles et idées puisées d’un peu partout sur le Web. Voici une application bien utile pour y arriver, qui sera certainement un atout aussi pour les élèves lorsqu’ils font des recherches. 

Source : https://getpocket.com/

Après avoir trop longtemps utilisé diverses méthodes plus ou moins efficaces pour sauvegarder des textes du Web que je voulais lire ultérieurement – du style conversation Messenger avec moi-même, les favoris dans mon navigateur Web ou des captures d’écran sur mon téléphone intelligent -, j’utilise maintenant un outil simple qui permet d’organiser tout cela : Pocket. Disponible en version Web, en extension Chrome et Firefox ou en application mobile, Pocket propose des fonctions qui vont au-delà de la boîte « fourre-tout », qui profiteront autant aux directions qu’aux enseignants et aux élèves du secondaire, par exemple.

Des fonctionnalités utiles et variées

Par exemple, avec Pocket, on peut utiliser la synthèse vocale pour lire des articles. On aussi passer en mode sombre pour éviter de trop stimuler ses yeux avant de dormir et, aussi modifier la police ou la taille du texte pour assurer une lecture optimale. Pas d’accès à Internet? Pas de problème, le mode hors-ligne permet de poursuivre les découvertes, peu importe l’endroit où l’on est. Ce sont toutes des fonctionnalités intéressantes en termes d’éducation inclusive, notamment.

Une autre fonctionnalité intéressante de Pocket réside dans son côté social et la possibilité de créer un profil. On peut même trouver des amis à suivre et voir les articles qu’ils recommandent sur le flux de découvertes. 

Pocket est très intuitif dans son utilisation et permet de classer ses trouvailles par types de contenu (articles, vidéos, compilation, tendance). Si plusieurs documents proviennent de la même source, l’application crée automatiquement un dossier les regroupant. Il suffit de deux clics sur un appareil mobile et d’un seul dans un navigateur Web (Chrome ou Firefox) pour importer le contenu de son choix dans Pocket, comme montré sur les photos ci-dessous. 

Sur un appareil mobile

Sur le navigateur Chrome (avec l’extension Pocket)

Dans un contexte d’enseignement, les classes AVAN (apportez votre appareil numérique) du primaire et du secondaire peuvent bénéficier des fonctions de Pocket, par exemple pour permettre la collecte d’informations à un seul et même endroit lors d’un projet de recherche, ou pour donner la possibilité aux apprenants de conserver et classer leurs documents selon le type de contenu. De leur côté, les enseignants apprécient cet outil pour la veille pédagogique qu’il facilite ainsi que pour le partage et la recommandation d’articles ou dossiers éducatifs à travers leur communauté Pocket.

Voici tous les liens vers les différentes manières d’ajouter Pocket et faciliter votre stratégie quotidienne de veille pédagogique et de collecte d’information :

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Maxime Laflamme
Maxime Laflamme
Maxime Laflamme est conseiller pédagogique et chargé de projets à l’École branchée. Il est également rédacteur en chef des guides pédagogiques SCOOP!. Il possède un baccalauréat en éducation préscolaire et en enseignement au primaire de l’Université de Sherbrooke et poursuit un diplôme de 2e cycle en gestion scolaire à l’Université Laval. Il transmet sa passion pour le numérique éducatif et les pratiques innovantes dans le cadre de CréaCamps, de conférences et d'ateliers dans toute la francophonie.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :