ADVERTISEMENT

Panorama of distance education practices in French-speaking Canada

This study draws a portrait of distance education in the country in three levels of education, for initial and continuing education.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

The study "Panorama of distance training practices in French-speaking Canada" draws a portrait of the reality in three levels of education for initial and continuing training.

** This document is available from www.refad.ca/publications-et-rapports-de-recherche/rapports-de-recherche/panorama-des-pratiques-en-formation-a-distance-au-canada-francophone

Undertaken in the fall of 2016, the Panorama of Distance Learning Practices in French-speaking Canada study took place over a three-month period and culminates in this vast portrait of the current reality in three levels of education for initial training. (also called “credited”) and continues. To our knowledge, this is the first study of its kind, describing what became of distance education (DTE) in 2017, in the words of its main players.

More than 40 workers representing nine provinces were interviewed for an average duration of 75 minutes each, following a semi-structured qualitative interview model. Most of these stakeholders belong to institutions that are members of the Francophone Distance Learning Network of Canada (REFAD www.refad.ca), thus responding to a call for contributions issued by the organization. A few additional participants were asked to ensure that the FAD is represented at secondary, college and university levels for the whole of the Canadian educational Francophonie.

Much more than a collage of interviews, the study assembles diverse and complementary perspectives following a narrative thread of a coherence which will challenge the actors of the ADF who wonder about its future. Evoking to begin with the reasons for its adoption, the study undertakes to take stock of the modalities and the vocabulary of the ADF in order to establish a common language and to explore the different models through some of its main actors. Canadian.

There is already an overall picture in which emerges the apparent abandonment of the self-supporting asynchronous with continuous input in favor of the bimodality in synchronous and asynchronous distance following a campus calendar. There is also the predominance of hybrid education at the secondary level, a pan-Canadian desire for partnership at the college level and a belated but resolute recognition of the strategic importance of ADF for the vitality of university educational institutions. .

The author argues, through the testimonies received, that the absence of clear government policies on ADF results in the delay and inequality of its adoption, probably thus harming economic development and innovation, everywhere. in the country or almost. The author also takes the opportunity to take the pulse of online training developers and examine several of the challenges they face in developing content that meets the ever more demanding market demands.

The second half of the study describes the training of teachers and learners in FAD methods, as well as the integration of social media and gamification into distance learning activities, before turning to a question of particularly challenging news, namely how technologies influence pedagogy. Four case stories are offered as a conclusion, but not without taking a preliminary look at the main online resources, software and production platforms used by the responding institutions.

As a whole, the study draws a current portrait of ADF in French-speaking Canada, from the perspective of its actors, and the interested reader is sure to find ideas, comparisons, possible solutions as well as potential partners with whom to collaborate to advance ADF at home.

The REFAD team would like to thank Mr. Robert Grégoire for the implementation of the project. This project was made possible with funding from the Department of Canadian Heritage (www.pch.gc.ca).

 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Panorama des pratiques en formation à distance au Canada francophone

Cette étude trace un portrait de la formation à distance au pays dans trois ordres d’enseignement, pour la formation initiale et continue.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

L’étude « Panorama des pratiques en formation à distance au Canada francophone » trace un portrait de la réalité dans trois ordres d’enseignement pour la formation initiale et continue.

** Ce document est disponible à partir de www.refad.ca/publications-et-rapports-de-recherche/rapports-de-recherche/panorama-des-pratiques-en-formation-a-distance-au-canada-francophone

Entreprise à l’automne 2016, l’étude Panorama des pratiques en formation à distance au Canada francophone s’est déroulée durant une période de trois mois et culmine sur ce vaste portrait de la réalité courante dans trois ordres d’enseignement pour la formation initiale (aussi dite « créditée ») et continue. À notre connaissance, il s’agit là de la première étude en son genre, décrivant ce qu’est devenue la formation à distance (FAD) en 2017, dans les mots de ses principaux acteurs.

Plus de 40 intervenant(e)s représentant neuf provinces ont été interviewés pour une durée moyenne de 75 minutes chacun, suivant un modèle d’entrevue qualitative semi-structurée. Ces intervenants appartiennent pour la plupart à des institutions membres du Réseau d’enseignement francophone à distance du Canada (REFAD www.refad.ca), répondant ainsi à un appel à contribution émis par l’organisation. Quelques participants supplémentaires ont été sollicités afin que la FAD soit représentée au secondaire, au collégial et à l’université pour l’ensemble de la francophonie éducative canadienne.

Bien plus qu’un collage d’entrevues, l’étude assemble des perspectives diverses et complémentaires suivant un fil narratif d’une cohérence qui interpellera les acteurs de la FAD qui s’interrogent sur son devenir. Évoquant pour commencer les raisons de son adoption, l’étude entreprend de faire le point sur les modalités et le vocabulaire de la FAD afin d’établir un langage commun et d’en explorer les différents modèles à travers quelques-uns de ses principaux acteurs canadiens.

Il en ressort déjà un tableau d’ensemble dans lequel émerge l’abandon apparent de l’asynchrone autoportant à entrée continue en faveur de la bimodalité en distance synchrone et asynchrone suivant un calendrier campus. On y distingue également la prédominance de l’enseignement hybride à l’ordre secondaire, une volonté pancanadienne de partenariat à l’ordre collégial et une reconnaissance tardive mais résolue de l’importance stratégique de la FAD pour la vitalité des institutions d’enseignement universitaires.

L’auteur fait valoir, à travers les témoignages reçus, que l’absence de politiques gouvernementales claires en matière de FAD se traduit par le retard et l’inégalité de son adoption, nuisant probablement ainsi au développement économique et à l’innovation, partout au pays ou presque. L’auteur en profite également pour prendre le pouls des réalisateurs de formation en ligne et examiner plusieurs des défis auxquels ils sont confrontés en matière de développement de contenus répondant aux demandes toujours plus exigeantes du marché.

La seconde moitié de l’étude décrit la formation des maîtres et des apprenants aux méthodes de la FAD, ainsi que l’intégration des médias sociaux et de la ludification dans les activités d’apprentissage à distance, avant de se tourner vers une question d’actualité particulièrement interpellante, à savoir comment les technologies influencent la pédagogie. Quatre histoires de cas sont offertes en guise de conclusion, non sans toutefois effectuer un détour préalable sur les principales ressources en ligne, logiciels et plateformes de production qu’utilisent les institutions répondantes.

Dans son ensemble, l’étude trace un portrait d’actualité de la FAD au Canada francophone, de la perspective de ses acteurs, et le lecteur intéressé ne manquera pas d’y trouver des idées, des comparaisons, des pistes de solution ainsi que des partenaires potentiels avec qui collaborer pour faire progresser chez lui la FAD.

L’équipe du REFAD tient à remercier M. Robert Grégoire pour la mise en oeuvre du projet. Ce projet a été rendu possible grâce à un financement du Ministère du Patrimoine canadien (www.pch.gc.ca).

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :