Digital and youth mental health: what if that wasn't exactly what we like to think?

A first scientific milestone showed that our fears about young people and social media were probably exaggerated.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

This is news that has passed under the radar recently. A first scientific milestone showed that our fears about young people and social media were probably exaggerated.

The research, conducted by the professor Andrew Przybylski and the doctoral student Amy Orben, both at the prestigious Oxford University, spanned eight years and analyzed more than 12,500 responses from adolescents aged 10 to 15.

Minor negative psychological impacts

Essentially, the publication Social media's enduring effect on adolescent life satisfaction shows that young people's satisfaction with life is more focused on the family context, the circle of friends and all the school aspect. I remind you that this clashes with the concept widely disseminated by the media and even by researchers in education and psychology that social media can cause, in the medium or long term, Dependencies, mental illnesses and even psychosis. Although this is certainly not excluded as a scenario, the fact remains that young people seem well anchored in the present and above all, in reality. Precisely in this regard, I remember our apprehensions, those fearing that our young people will free themselves from reality to live a life more based on the virtual.

That's not all: another study by the same researchers published in Nature, The association between adolescent well-being and digital technology use, questions the alleged negative impacts on the psychology of our young people regarding the use of digital technologies. For them there is indeed negative impacts, but they are minimalor even negligible.

Screen time and sanity?

That's not all! Przybylski and Orben also question in Screens, Teens, and Psychological Well-Being: Evidence From Three Time-Use-Diary Studies the inevitably positive correlation between screen time and deteriorating mental health of our teenagers. After polling more than 17,000 Irish, British and American teenagers, they come to the conclusion that the public discourse is alarmist. They rectify the situation by specifying that there is a positive correlation, but it is, once again, minimal, especially when used during the day. The "less minimal" positive correlation is more noticeable when used around bedtime, as research on sleep often indicates. blue light.

So, as educators and parents, would we have been afraid and exaggerated a little the situation with regard to our students?

A question of generational gap?

These prejudices which have been conveyed for many moons have revealed several things that strike me:

  1. Our apprehensions dictate our vision of a phenomenon that escapes us, that of the integration of technologies into the daily lives of young people, which in several respects could give us lessons in balance;
  2. We are unfortunately out of step with the reality of our young people today. For us, being a teenager is explained by the experiences that we have lived “in time”, with our resolutely nostalgic gaze where “it was better before”;
  3. The gap has been widening for at least a decade and it continues to widen between the generations that some call “digital natives” and “digital immigrants” (on this subject, read Marc Prensky);
  4. It is not our young people who are driving this ditch. It is we, the adults, who dig it. I think it's important to mention it.

I can't help but tip my hat to all those who have embraced the reality of young people to help them become citizens aware of their digital footprint, knowing how to demonstrate ethics in their real or virtual relationships with the members of their communities. respective communities.

Meanwhile, where is the use of technology in our classrooms? One item published last month by the american Benjamin herold begins as follows: “despite growing enthusiasm, elementary and secondary teachers remain skeptical that new technologies will transform public schools or increase teaching and learning potential. ". Herold and Education Week also conducted a survey of 700 American teachers who agree that their schools have adopted a variety of technologies over the past three years and, for me, two areas of concern are highlighted:

  1. Only 29 % of teachers surveyed believe that technologies can be a lever for pedagogical innovation and changes in professional practices in education;
  2. Teachers who use technology are mainly doing what they did before, but adding the technological ingredient to “spice up” their traditional approaches.

This is worrying, isn't it?

What conclusions can be drawn from all this new information?

In my opinion :

  1. We recognize the contribution of technology in health, in public transport, in forensic science and in a multitude of other fields, but not in education. In education, technology is a threat.
  2. Recall that, despite the scandal of the time, TNI arrived en masse in our classes from 2011 and the first iPads found themselves in the hands of students a little later. In the same vein, note that laptops in 1 to 1 mode have been in the hands of students since the end of the 20the century. Am I to understand that in 2019, we are still at the “substitution” stage of the SAMR model of Ruben Puentedura?
  3. Worse, we maintain prejudices about said technologies in relation to their impact on our students, a discourse widely taken up by the media, the political, which misleads parents who, in turn, fuel their mistrust of educational institutions and those who work there.

We are driving our own technological divide and worse, we are training our students in it. At the base, however, we all have an important double responsibility: to prepare our students for the challenges that await them and to ensure that the training they receive is in line with the social and cultural orientations of the society in which the school is located. 'school.

At least, there is something positive in all of this: I clearly notice that in the conferences, in the conferences with a more “pedagonumeric” vocation, there are more and more new faces. This is good news! Associations of educational professionals, for teachers, management, support staff, as well as unions, are increasingly bringing technology to the forefront in their meetings and in the training activities they provide. offer to their members. Another great news!

On a humorous note ...

It seems important to remember the wise words from the Quebec group Rock et Belles Oreilles dating from the 1980s: "the computer is our friend"!

Also, if satire appeals to you, read Rachel Klein's text, published a year ago in The New Yorker, titled " Limiting Your Child's Fire Time: A Guide for Concerned Paleolithic Parents ". Here is a text that I would have liked to have written 😉

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Numérique et santé mentale des jeunes : et si ce n’était pas exactement ce qu’on aime croire?

0

Voilà une nouvelle qui est passée sous le radar récemment. Un premier jalon scientifique a démontré que nos appréhensions concernant les jeunes et les médias sociaux étaient probablement exagérées.

La recherche, menée par le professeur Andrew Przybylski et la doctorante Amy Orben, tous deux rattachés à la prestigieuse Université Oxford, s’est échelonnée sur huit ans et a analysé plus de 12 500 réponses d’adolescents âgés de 10 à 15 ans.

Des impacts psychologiques négatifs mineurs

Essentiellement, la publication Social media’s enduring effect on adolescent life satisfaction démontre que la satisfaction des jeunes face à la vie est davantage axée sur le contexte familial, le cercle d’ami et tout l’aspect scolaire. Je vous rappelle que cela détonne de la conception largement diffusée par les médias et même par des chercheurs en éducation et en psychologie que les médias sociaux puissent causer, à moyen ou long terme, des dépendances, des maladies mentales et même des psychoses. Bien que cela n’est certainement exclu comme scénario, il n’en demeure pas moins que les jeunes semblent bien ancrés dans le présent et surtout, dans le réel. Justement, à cet égard, je me souviens de nos appréhensions, celles craignant que nos jeunes s’affranchissent du réel pour vivre une vie davantage fondée sur le virtuel.

Ce n’est pas tout : une autre étude des mêmes chercheurs publiée dans Nature, The association between adolescent well-being and digital technology use, remet en doute les impacts négatifs prétendus sur la psychologie de nos jeunes quant à l’utilisation des technologies numériques. Pour eux, il y a bel et bien des impacts négatifs, mais ils sont minimes, voire négligeables.

Temps d’écran et santé mentale?

Ce n’est pas tout encore! Przybylski et Orben remettent aussi en question dans Screens, Teens, and Psychological Well-Being: Evidence From Three Time-Use-Diary Studies la corrélation inéluctablement positive entre le temps d’écran et la détérioration de la santé mentale de nos adolescents. Après avoir sondé plus de 17 000 adolescents irlandais, britanniques et américains, ils en viennent à la conclusion que le discours public est alarmiste. Ils rectifient la situation en précisant qu’il y a une corrélation positive, mais elle est, une fois de plus, minime, surtout lors d’une utilisation pendant la journée. La corrélation positive « moins minime » est davantage perceptible lors d’une utilisation vers l’heure du dodo comme l’indiquent souvent les recherches sur la lumière bleue.

Alors, en tant qu’éducateurs et parents, aurions-nous pris peur et exagéré un peu la situation en ce qui concerne nos élèves?

Une question de fossé générationnel?

Ces préjugés qui sont véhiculés depuis des lunes ont révélé plusieurs choses qui me frappent :

  1. Nos appréhensions dictent notre vision d’un phénomène qui nous échappe, celui de l’intégration des technologies dans le quotidien des jeunes qui à plusieurs égards, pourrait nous donner des leçons d’équilibre;
  2. Nous sommes malheureusement décalés de la réalité de nos jeunes d’aujourd’hui. Pour nous, être un adolescent s’explique par les expériences que nous avons vécues « dans le temps », avec notre regard résolument nostalgique où « c’était mieux avant »;
  3. Le fossé se creuse depuis au moins une décennie et il continue de se creuser entre les générations que certains nomment les « natifs du numérique » et les « immigrants du numériques » (à ce sujet, lire Marc Prensky);
  4. Ce fossé, ce ne sont pas nos jeunes qui le creusent. Ce sont nous, les adultes, qui le creusons. Je crois que c’est important de le mentionner.

Je ne peux m’empêcher de lever mon chapeau à tous ceux qui ont embrassé la réalité des jeunes pour les aider à devenir des citoyens conscients de leur empreinte numérique, sachant faire preuve d’éthique dans leurs rapports réels ou virtuels avec les membres de leurs communautés respectives.

Pendant ce temps, où en est l’utilisation de la technologie dans nos classes? Un article publié le mois dernier par l’américain Benjamin Herold s’amorce de la façon suivante : « malgré un enthousiasme croissant, les enseignants du primaire et du secondaire demeurent sceptiques que les nouvelles technologies transformeront l’école publique ou qu’elles augmenteront le potentiel d’enseignement et d’apprentissage (traduction libre) ». Herold et Education Week ont également mené un sondage auprès de 700 enseignants américains qui reconnaissent que leurs écoles se sont dotées massivement de diverses technologies ces trois dernières années et, en ce qui me concerne, deux éléments préoccupants sont mis en relief :

  1. Seulement 29 % des enseignants sondés estiment que les technologies peuvent être un levier pour l’innovation pédagogique et les changements de pratiques professionnelles en éducation;
  2. Les enseignants qui utilisent les technologies font principalement ce qu’ils faisaient avant, mais en ajoutant l’ingrédient technologique pour « épicer » leurs approches traditionnelles.

Voilà qui est préoccupant, non?

Quelles conclusions tirer de toutes ces nouvelles informations?

À mon avis :

  1. Nous reconnaissons l’apport du technologique en santé, dans les transports publics, dans le médico-légal et dans une multitude d’autres domaines, mais pas en éducation. En éducation, le technologique, c’est une menace.
  2. Rappelons que, malgré le scandale de l’époque, les TNI sont arrivés massivement dans nos classes à partir de 2011 et les premiers iPads se sont retrouvés entre les mains des élèves un peu après. Dans le même sens, notons que des portables en mode 1 pour 1 sont entre les mains d’élèves depuis la fin du 20e siècle. Dois-je comprendre qu’en 2019, nous sommes toujours à l’étape de « substitution » du modèle SAMR de Ruben Puentedura?
  3. Pire, nous entretenons des préjugés au sujet desdites technologies en lien avec leur impact chez nos élèves, discours largement repris par les médias, le politique, lequel induit en erreur les parents qui, à son tour, alimentent leur méfiance envers les institutions scolaires et ceux qui y travaillent.

Nous creusons notre propre fossé technologique et pire, nous y entrainons nos élèves. À la base, nous avons pourtant tous une double responsabilité importante : préparer nos élèves pour les défis qui les attendent et faire en sorte que la formation qu’ils reçoivent est en adéquation avec les orientations sociales et culturelles de la société dans laquelle est implantée l’école.

Au moins, il y a du positif dans tout cela : je remarque clairement que dans les colloques, dans les congrès à vocation plus « pédagonumériques », il y a de plus en plus de nouveaux visages. Voilà une nouvelle réjouissante! Des associations de professionnels en éducation, pour les enseignants, la direction, le personnel de soutien, ainsi que des syndicats, mettent de plus en plus fréquemment la technologie à l’avant-plan dans leurs rencontres et dans les activités de formation qu’ils offrent à leurs membres. Une autre excellente nouvelle!

Sur une note humoristique…

Il semble important de se rappeler des paroles sages du groupe québécois Rock et Belles Oreilles datant des années 1980 : « l’ordinateur est notre ami »!

Aussi, si la satire vous amuse, lisez le texte de Rachel Klein, publié il y a un an dans The New Yorker, intitulé « Limiting Your Child’s Fire Time: A Guide for Concerned Paleolithic Parents ». Voilà un texte que j’aurais aimé avoir écrit 😉

Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction au Collège Durocher Saint-Lambert et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédago-numériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et a traduit quatre ouvrages en technologie de l'éducation chez le même éditeur. Il collabore également à L’École branchée et blogue (magirard.com) sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.