ADVERTISEMENT

November, Financial Literacy Month #MLF2015

November is Financial Literacy Month in Canada. On this occasion, we can take the opportunity to discover some interesting resources to talk about in class!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

November is Financial Literacy Month in Canada. On this occasion, we can take the opportunity to discover some interesting resources to talk about in class!

In collaboration with its partners, the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC) has developed several educational programs and materials to help Canadians increase their skills and knowledge in the area of budget management and personal finance. Two are aimed particularly at schools.

 

The Zone: an educational resource in financial matters

“11-module learning program that gives young people financial knowledge that they can put into practice throughout their lives. This program is for high school students and teachers. Some modules are specially adapted to the curriculum of each province. We can find out more in visiting the presentation page. Note that a online training guide is offered to teachers who would like to familiarize themselves with The Zone and learn how to use it in the classroom.

 

Make it count: A guide to financial management for young people

"An interactive mentoring program that provides parents and instructors with activities and information to help them make discussions about finances and money management part of their daily routine, turning common situations into educational experiences." It is aimed particularly at children of primary school age as well as their parents, but will undoubtedly be of interest to teachers of this kind as well. To find out more, we can visit the site here.

For other good ideas and resources, one can query the Canadian Financial Literacy Database. For example, you can specify that you want to consult the resources intended for educators and / or parents, in French, and obtain several interesting leads.

And you, what are your essential resources for talking about finances with your students?

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Novembre, mois de la littératie financière #MLF2015

Novembre est le mois de la littératie financière au Canada. À cette occasion, on peut en profiter pour découvrir quelques ressources intéressantes pour en parler en classe!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Novembre est le mois de la littératie financière au Canada. À cette occasion, on peut en profiter pour découvrir quelques ressources intéressantes pour en parler en classe!

En collaboration avec ses partenaires, l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada (ACFC) a élaboré plusieurs programmes et documents éducatifs pour aider les Canadiens à accroitre leurs compétences et leurs connaissances dans le domaine de la gestion budgétaire et des finances personnelles. Deux s’adressent particulièrement aux écoles.

 

La Zone : une ressource éducative en matière financière

« Programme d’apprentissage en 11 modules qui transmet aux jeunes des connaissances financières qu’ils pourront mettre en pratique tout au long de leur vie. » Ce programme s’adresse aux élèves et aux enseignants des écoles secondaires. Certains modules sont spécialement adaptés au curriculum de chaque province. On peut en savoir plus en visitant la page de présentation. Notons qu’un guide de formation en ligne est offert aux enseignants qui aimeraient se familiariser avec La Zone et apprendre comment s’en servir en salle de classe.

 

Faites que ça compte : Guide de la gestion financière chez les jeunes

« Programme de mentorat interactif qui offre aux parents et aux instructeurs des activités et de l’information pour les aider à intégrer des discussions sur les finances et la gestion de l’argent à leur routine quotidienne, transformant ainsi des situations courantes en expériences éducatives. » Il s’adresse particulièrement aux enfants en âge d’aller à l’école primaire ainsi qu’à leurs parents, mais intéressera aussi sans doute les enseignants de cet ordre. Pour en savoir plus, on peut visiter le site par ici.

Pour d’autres bonnes idées et ressources, on peut interroger la Base de données canadienne sur la littératie financière. On peut, par exemple, préciser qu’on veut consulter les ressources destinées aux éducateurs et/ou aux parents, en langue française, et obtenir plusieurs pistes intéressantes.

Et vous, quelles sont vos ressources incontournables pour parler de finances avec vos élèves?

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :