ADVERTISEMENT

Combining music with digital for Mother's Day

The school year is drawing to a close, and Mother's Day is approaching. Why not take this opportunity to carry out a stimulating project for your students while making use of digital technology?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Mother's Day (or Father's Day) is a great time to make gifts for parents at school. Why not take this opportunity to carry out a stimulating project for your students while making use of digital technology? This is what Ms. Brigitte-Louise Lessard, an elementary music teacher for more than twenty years and lecturer. Pedagogy and computer music delivered online via Laval University to future music teachers.

The École branchée had the opportunity to meet with this passionate about the integration of ICT in education around this project which is both creative and technological.

Tell us about the project you are carrying out with your students. What are the objectives and how do you integrate the school curricula?

Obviously, this project develops the transversal ICT skills (6) of the PFÉQ, however in music we do not assess the transversal skills. This does not prevent me from developing them throughout the 6 years of my primary school music program. This particular project had few instructions. Children had to record a message for their mother with Audacity. They had to say “dear mom”, say two things they like and then say “I love you”. On this first track, they had to find a bird sound on SoundBible (which allows downloading without having to use an account) and overlay it with their own voice.

This activity made it possible to work on the recognition of voice timbres. Indeed, no name appears on the Padlet, which gives students the opportunity to recognize the voices of their classmates and to share this same experience with their parents. Therefore, students should be skilled with Audacity (recording and sound manipulations), with navigation as well as with upstream and downstream uploading.

Is this the first time that you have integrated digital technology into your music lessons? What place does it occupy?

Children touch the computer world from their first year in my class. I find it an excellent way to vary my approach and especially to put them in charge of their learning. I am integrating more and more the iPad for learning parts (skill "interpret") via first generation iPads (which slept in a warehouse) using the space with tutorial videos that teach the part to play . For my other projects, they are more fixed moments in time, for example the creation of a Rondo on Soundtrap which is usually held in the computer lab in April. I continuously use ClassRoom to stay in touch with my students.

Why do you think it is important to vary the teaching approaches? What are the effects on motivation, engagement and student success in music lessons?

All means are good to keep students active in their learning. I use all the means at my disposal for this, whether digital or not. Also, when students are interested, discipline is much easier to maintain. Technological means allow me to "clone" myself, which gives me time to be more observant in addition to developing autonomy as well as peer learning, because in this project the children work in teams of three or more. four. Thus, the realization of the first student is a bit laborious, but the team has to redo it for all the members, so that they will repeat the same operations three or four times.

ERROR TESTS MUST BE ALLOWED AND ACCEPT RESULTS WITH A GRAIN OF SALT.

Tell us about the parents' participation in this project.

Parents are invited to visit the Padlet, to "find" their child's voice, to comment and "like". I receive real-time notifications on my cell phone to moderate parents' comments. So I can directly delete those that would be inappropriate, which happens very rarely.

What advice would you like to give to music teachers who would like to integrate digital projects? What resources do you offer them?

 The first element, essential in my opinion, is to keep the proportions small at the beginning. Small projects to experience success and gain confidence. The first times my students worked on Audacity, we don't save anything, we just play with the software. I avoid all the difficulties of collecting work, but the students learn anyway. Later I add steps.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane is the editor of the École branchée online news feed. She has a bachelor's degree in international relations from the University of British Columbia as well as a master's degree in intercultural mediation from the University of Sherbrooke. She also acts as a communications advisor for the organization Idée Éducation entrepreneuriale.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Marier la musique avec le numérique pour la fête des mères

L’année scolaire tire à sa fin, et la fête des mères approche. Pourquoi ne pas saisir cette opportunité pour réaliser un projet stimulant pour ses élèves tout en faisant usage du numérique?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

La fête des mères (ou la fête des pères) est une occasion de confectionner des cadeaux pour les parents à l’école. Pourquoi ne pas saisir cette opportunité pour réaliser un projet stimulant pour ses élèves tout en faisant usage du numérique? C’est ce qu’a fait Mme Brigitte-Louise Lessard, enseignante de musique au primaire depuis plus de vingt ans et chargée du cours Pédagogie et informatique musicale dispensé en ligne via l’Université Laval aux futurs enseignants de musique.

L’École branchée a eu l’opportunité de s’entretenir avec cette passionnée de l’intégration des TIC en éducation autour de ce projet à la fois créatif et technologique.

Parlez-nous du projet que vous réalisez avec vos élèves. Quels sont les objectifs et comment intégrez-vous les programmes scolaires?

Bien évidemment, ce projet développe la compétence transversale TIC (6) du PFÉQ, cependant en musique nous n’évaluons pas les compétences transversales. Ce qui ne m’empêche pas de les développer tout au long des 6 années de mon programme de musique au primaire. Ce projet particulier avait peu de consignes. Les enfants devaient enregistrer un message pour leur mère avec Audacity. Ils devaient dire « chère maman », dire deux choses qu’ils apprécient et ensuite dire « je t’aime ». Sur cette première piste, ils devaient trouver un son d’oiseau sur SoundBible (qui permet le téléchargement sans avoir recours à un compte) et le superposer avec leur propre voix.

Cette activité a permis de travailler la reconnaissance de timbres de voix. En effet, aucun nom n’apparaît sur le Padlet, ce qui donne la possibilité aux élèves de reconnaître la voix de leurs camarades de classe et de faire vivre cette même expérience à leurs parents. Par conséquent, les élèves doivent être habiles avec Audacity (enregistrement et manipulations sonores), avec la navigation ainsi qu’avec le téléversement en amont et en aval.

Est-ce la première fois que vous intégrez le numérique dans votre cours de musique? Quelle place est-ce que cela occupe?

Les enfants touchent au monde informatique dès leur première année dans ma classe. Je trouve que c’est un excellent moyen de varier mon approche et surtout de les mettre aux commandes de leurs apprentissages. J’intègre de plus en plus l’iPad pour l’apprentissage des pièces (compétence « interpréter ») via des iPads de première génération (qui dormaient dans un entrepôt) en utilisant l’espace avec des vidéos tutoriels qui enseignent la pièce à jouer. Pour mes autres projets, ce sont davantage des moments fixés dans le temps, par exemple la création d’un Rondo sur Soundtrap qui se tient habituellement au laboratoire informatique au mois d’avril. J’utilise en continu ClassRoom pour rester en contact avec mes élèves.

Pourquoi est-il important à votre avis de varier les approches pédagogiques? Quels sont les effets sur la motivation, l’engagement et la réussite des élèves dans le cours de musique?

Tous les moyens sont bons pour garder les élèves actifs dans leurs apprentissages. J’use de tous les moyens à ma disposition pour cela, que ce soit numérique ou non. De plus, quand les élèves sont intéressés, la discipline est beaucoup plus facile à maintenir. Les moyens technologiques me permettent de me « cloner », ce qui me donne du temps pour être davantage en observation en plus de développer l’autonomie ainsi que l’apprentissage par les pairs, car dans ce projet les enfants travaillent en équipe de trois ou quatre. Ainsi, la réalisation du premier élève est un peu laborieuse, mais l’équipe doit le refaire pour tous les membres, ce qui fait en sorte qu’ils referont les mêmes opérations trois ou quatre fois.

ON DOIT SE PERMETTRE DES ESSAIS ERREURS ET ACCEPTER LES RÉSULTATS AVEC UN GRAIN DE SEL.

Parlez-nous de la participation des parents dans ce projet.

Les parents sont invités à visiter le Padlet, à « trouver » la voix de leur enfant, à commenter et à « aimer ». Je reçois des notifications en temps réel sur mon cellulaire pour modérer les commentaires des parents. Ainsi, je peux supprimer directement ceux qui seraient inappropriés, ce qui ne survient que très rarement.

Quels conseils aimeriez-vous donner à des enseignant-e-s de musique qui aimeraient intégrer des projets numériques? Quelles ressources leur proposez-vous?

 Le premier élément, primordial à mon avis, est de garder de petites proportions au début. De petits projets pour vivre du succès et gagner en assurance. Les premières fois que mes élèves travaillent sur Audacity, on ne sauvegarde rien, on ne fait que jouer avec le logiciel. Je m’évite toutes les difficultés de collecte des travaux, mais les élèves apprennent quand même. Plus tard, j’ajoute des étapes.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane est rédactrice en chef du fil de nouvelles de l'École branchée en ligne. Elle possède un baccalauréat en relations internationales de l'Université de Colombie-Britannique ainsi qu'une maîtrise en médiation interculturelle de l'Université de Sherbrooke. Elle agit aussi comme conseillère en communication pour l'organisme Idée Éducation entrepreneuriale.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!