ADVERTISEMENT

Digital literacy initiatives are growing for youth... and they need it!

"We think young people are used to technology and we give them a lot of credit in that sense. Yes, they are mostly able to use certain applications. For the rest, they need support. They also need to be shown that technology is not just a hobby, it can also become a career," says Jonathan Le Prof, a social studies teacher and spokesperson for the first edition of Youth Digital Month.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

"We think young people are used to technology and we give them a lot of credit in that sense. Yes, they are mostly able to use certain applications. For the rest, they need support. They also need to be shown that technology is not just a hobby, it can also become a career," says Jonathan Le Prof, a social studies teacher at the Centre de services scolaires de Rouyn-Noranda, who is very active on social media.

Jonathan was the spokesperson for the first edition of Youth Digital Month, which ended on March 6. During an online lunchtime event, which included members of the Québec Digital Literacy TableHe discussed with them.

When we think of digital skills for young people, we quickly think of spotting fake news online or choosing what to publish or not, but it's also how to write and send an email, how to use a spreadsheet, file digital documents, etc. In short, it's a whole range of skills that are very different from each other.

Jonathan recognized that teachers themselves sometimes need to acquire certain knowledge in order to then pass it on to their students. "How to be ethical in your use of the web, how to develop good practices... With that background in hand, it's possible to be more aware of the importance of digital issues and discuss them with students."

Digital literacy activities and resources

The meeting of the members of the Table de concertation en littératie numérique du Québec, which is coordinated by the organization Printemps numérique, also provided an opportunity to share various resources available to youth and teachers.

  • With the support of CIRA (Canadian Internet Registration Authority), TechnoCulture Club has started the development of the It's just onlinein partnership with the Bibliothèques de Laval. This project aims to provide teens (12-18 years old) with access to tools, resources and support that will enable them to become empowered digital citizens by helping them understand cyber-violence and stay safe online.
  • The Carrefour jeunesse-emploi Vaudreuil-Soulanges offers the following workshops Cultivate your Webwhich allows young people to create the website of social economy enterprises in their region.

The burden of protecting one's privacy

In addition, just prior to the Table de concertation meeting, a Facebook Live event was organized as part of Youth Digital Month, with digital media specialist Nellie Brière.

She spoke about transparency (or rather the lack of it) in several digital platforms. Do you really read the terms of use? Do you know how your data will be used? What is the motivation of a platform when it collects this or that of your data?

"To understand these issues, it requires a minimal level of digital literacy. It also requires insight and concern for one's privacy," she says. "Digital platforms have been built by putting the individual burden on users to protect their privacy, but still, you have to be aware of it and know how to do it."

"On the other hand, do we really want to leave it to the companies to explain? Aren't we better off educating ourselves to understand?" According to her, every citizen today has a duty to seek a better understanding of how digital platforms work and to educate themselves to better control their personal data.

She gave two examples of transparency:

  • The Facebook Ads Librarywhich allows you to see who buys advertising on the platform, including political parties.
  • Our Facebook Supervisory BoardThis is a recently established body that can give its opinion and decide on issues related to content moderation.

The resources of the Youth digital month will remain available throughout the year on the website.

École branchée is a member of the Table de concertation en littératie numérique du Québec and the Youth Digital Month programming committee.

In addition :

  • A meeting by Jonathan Le Prof on the morning show Salut Bonjour! about the importance of educating youth about digital opportunities.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les initiatives en littératie numérique se multiplient pour les jeunes… et ils en ont besoin!

« On pense que les jeunes sont habitués aux technologies et on leur donne beaucoup de crédit en ce sens. Oui, ils sont surtout capables d’utiliser certaines applications. Pour le reste, ils ont besoin d’accompagnement. Ils ont aussi besoin qu’on leur montre que la techno, ce n’est pas juste des passe-temps, cela peut aussi devenir une carrière », affirme Jonathan Le Prof, enseignant d’univers social, porte-parole de la première édition du Mois numérique jeunesse.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

« On pense que les jeunes sont habitués aux technologies et on leur donne beaucoup de crédit en ce sens. Oui, ils sont surtout capables d’utiliser certaines applications. Pour le reste, ils ont besoin d’accompagnement. Ils ont aussi besoin qu’on leur montre que la techno, ce n’est pas juste des passe-temps, cela peut aussi devenir une carrière », affirme Jonathan Le Prof, enseignant d’univers social au Centre de services scolaire de Rouyn-Noranda, très actif sur les médias sociaux.

Jonathan était porte-parole de la première édition du Mois numérique jeunesse, qui s’est terminée le 6 mars. À l’occasion d’un midi d’activités en ligne, qui a notamment réuni les membres de la Table de concertation en littératie numérique du Québec, il a discuté avec ceux-ci.

Lorsqu’on pense aux compétences numériques des jeunes, on pense rapidement à repérer les fausses nouvelles en ligne ou à choisir ce qu’on publie ou non, mais c’est aussi comment rédiger et envoyer un courriel, comment utiliser un chiffrier électronique, classer des documents numériques, etc. Bref, tout un éventail de compétences très différentes les unes des autres.

Jonathan a reconnu que les enseignants eux-mêmes ont parfois besoin d’acquérir certaines connaissances afin de pouvoir ensuite les transmettre à leurs élèves. « Comment être éthique dans son utilisation du Web, comment développer de bonnes pratiques… Avec ce bagage en main, il est possible d’être plus conscient de l’importance des enjeux numériques et d’en discuter avec les élèves. »

Des activités et ressources en littératie numérique

La rencontre des membres de la Table de concertation en littératie numérique du Québec, qui est coordonnée par l’organisme Printemps numérique, a également permis de partager différentes ressources accessibles pour les jeunes et les enseignants.

  • Grâce au soutien de CIRA (Canadian Internet Registration Authority), TechnoCulture Club a débuté le développement du projet C’est juste en ligne, en partenariat avec les Bibliothèques de Laval. Ce projet vise à offrir aux adolescent(e)s (12 à 18 ans) l’accès à des outils, des ressources et un soutien qui leur permettront de devenir des citoyen(ne)s numériques autonomes en les aidant à comprendre la cyberviolence et à demeurer en sécurité en ligne.
  • Le Carrefour jeunesse-emploi Vaudreuil-Soulanges propose les ateliers Cultive ton Web, qui permettent à des jeunes de créer le site Web d’entreprises d’économie sociale de leur région.

Le fardeau de protéger sa vie privée

Par ailleurs, juste avant la rencontre de la Table de concertation, un événement Facebook Live avait été organisé dans le cadre du Mois numérique jeunesse, avec la spécialiste en médias numériques Nellie Brière.

Elle a parlé de transparence (ou plutôt du manque de transparence) dans plusieurs plateformes numériques. Lisez-vous vraiment les conditions d’utilisation? Connaissez-vous l’usage qui sera fait de vos données? Quelle est la motivation d’une plateforme quand elle collecte telle ou telle autre de vos données?

« Pour comprendre ces enjeux, cela demande un niveau minimal de littératie numérique. Cela demande aussi d’être perspicace et de se préoccuper de sa vie privée », dit-elle. « Les plateformes numériques se sont construites en remettant aux utilisateurs le fardeau individuel de protéger leur vie privée, mais encore faut-il en être conscient et savoir comment faire. »

« Par ailleurs, voulons-nous vraiment laisser le soin aux entreprises de nous expliquer? Ne sommes-nous pas mieux de nous former pour comprendre? » Selon elle, chaque citoyen a aujourd’hui le devoir de chercher à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement des plateformes numériques et de s’informer pour mieux contrôler ses données personnelles.

Elle a donné deux exemples de transparence :

Les ressources du Mois numérique jeunesse demeureront accessibles tout au long de l’année sur le site Web.

L’École branchée est membre de la Table de concertation en littératie numérique du Québec et du comité de programmation du Mois numérique jeunesse.

En complément :

  • Une entrevue de Jonathan Le Prof à l’émission matinale Salut Bonjour!, au sujet de l’importance de sensibiliser les jeunes aux possibilités du numérique.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :