ADVERTISEMENT

The #Édubrèves - September 6, 2022 edition

Here are your #Édubrèves. In this edition: the company ChallengeU recognized for its social impact, Duolingo will help you learn math, create a board game in class, resources in virtual reality and augmented reality, the podcast La Notif on the place of failure in education, Academos has a contest for the fall, and much more!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Here are your #Ébrèves. Feel free to share them or write me if you have news to share.

In this edition: the ChallengeU company recognized for its social impact, Duolingo will help you learn math, create a board game in the classroom, virtual reality and augmented reality resources, the La Notif podcast on the place of failure in pedagogy, Academos has a back-to-school contest, and much more!

Good reading.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this news digest is for entertainment purposes only.


Quebec-based ChallengeU ranked in the Best for the Wordl 2022

ChallengeU, which provides a distance learning solution for school dropouts, was recognized as one of the B Corp Best for the World™ 2022 in the Customer Impact category.

ChallengeU has been identified as one of the companies that adds the most value by providing essential education services for its users and by being ethical in privacy, security, and marketing. ChallengeU's commitment to its users is to provide free educational services to a vulnerable clientele and make them accessible to as many hang-ups as possible by continuing to expand its educational offerings.

Read the press release.


Duolingo Math is born!

The fun language learning app now has a companion app that helps improve math skills: Duolingo Math. This novelty marks the company's first step outside of the language path. For now, the app offers a course designed for elementary school children as well as a component aimed at people aged 13 and up. Duolingo has makes the announcement at the end of August at its annual event.


Digital Education Day - November 4

The fourth edition of the Digital Day in Education will be held on November 4. This free event, which will take place in person and virtually, is primarily intended for teachers, educational consultants and managers of public and private networks, as well as those of Aboriginal organizations in education. The program will be available in the coming weeks.


News from RÉCIT in bulk

  • Last June, during the RÉCIT review, many of them shared, in a DigipadThis Digipad is available to everyone. This Digipad is available to all. Please feel free to consult it, comment on it and be inspired for the coming year.
  • Create a board game in history is a project that develops design thinking because students must, among other things, develop the concept for a game and develop a prototype. The addition of the Creative Lab to the project allows students to push the boundaries of their creativity by creating a unique final product with 3D modeling and printing of parts, laser cutting and physical construction of wooden parts (Outline for the creation of a serious game and Guide to planning a serious game accessible to all).
  • Two new RÉCIT national service items from the arts field: 

Your journey, your recipe!

Academos is marking the start of the school year with its "Your path, your recipe!" campaign, which aims to reduce the anxiety that young people feel about their career choices. On the menu, a mix of workshops (possibility of reaching the COSP requirements), podcasts and even a contest! 

You have until September 16 to participate by booking a virtual workshop for your students. This way, you have a chance to win some great equipment for your return to class!

All the details here


Resources to discover in bulk

  • A compilation of all the examples of projects, interventions, tutorials and articles on augmented reality and virtual reality of our Belgian collaborator, Laurent Di Pasquale. (re)Read our article "I made two virtual reality films against bullying with my students"which presents one of these projects. 
  • And while we're at it, we present the new podcast of our friend Laurent : The Notif about digital in pedagogy. What first episode with Bruno Humbeeck on the place of error in pedagogy.
  • Genially offers a teacher's kit to answer the question: How and why use Genially in the classroom? 
  • This database presents tools that require no account creation or login to use. This may come in handy when giving a training session to go quickly and avoid login problems. Bookmark this! 
  • Laura Marquié and Karine Pilotte are vice-principals in Francophone high schools in Manitoba. They have just published the book Today's Leaders for Tomorrow's School - 10 Must-Have Topics to Improve Your Skills. We have our copy and will be back to you shortly, but you can also get yours.

Valuing the Teaching Profession - ESF-QHC Unveils Teacher's Life

The Federation of Teachers' Unions (FSE-CSQ) has just announced the broadcast of a series of humorous video vignettes on the daily lives of Quebec teachers, entitled Vie de Prof.

Written and scripted by comedian, actor and host Pierre Hébert, the Vie de Prof series will be broadcast on the Facebook page of the campaign to promote the teaching profession Teacher, my pride! in the coming months. The first episodes of the series are also available on the platform ICI TOU.TV.


Reminder : Current registration : Program Budding voters

A provincial election will be held in Quebec on October 3. This is the perfect time to register your school for Elections Québec's Voters in the Making program. You have until September 16 to register in order to carry out an electoral simulation and introduce your students to the right to vote.

Details are here.


In closing, the 5 digital tips for back to school.

If you want even more, you can (re)see last week's #Édubrèves.

See you soon! Don't hesitate to tag us on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so we can talk about your project/resource in an upcoming review of the week! Have a great week.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les #Édubrèves – édition du 6 septembre 2022

Voici vos #Édubrèves. Dans cette édition : l'entreprise ChallengeU reconnue pour son impact social, Duolingo vous aidera à apprendre les mathématiques, créer un jeu de société en classe, des ressources en réalité virtuelle et réalité augmentée, le balado La Notif sur la place de l'échec en pédagogie, Academos a un concours pour la rentrée, et bien plus!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Voici vos #Édubrèves. N’hésitez pas à les partager ou à m’écrire si vous avez des nouvelles à faire circuler.

Dans cette édition : l’entreprise ChallengeU reconnue pour son impact social, Duolingo vous aidera à apprendre les mathématiques, créer un jeu de société en classe, des ressources en réalité virtuelle et réalité augmentée, le balado La Notif sur la place de l’échec en pédagogie, Academos a un concours pour la rentrée, et bien plus!

Bonne lecture.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement.


L’entreprise québécoise ChallengeU se classe dans le Best for the Wordl 2022

ChallengeU, qui offre une solution de formation à distance aux raccrocheurs du système scolaire,  a été reconnue comme l’une des entreprises B Corp Best for the World™ 2022 dans la catégorie Impact sur les client.e.s.

ChallengeU a été identifiée comme l’une des entreprises qui ajoute le plus de valeur en offrant des services d’éducation essentiels pour ses utilisateurs et en faisant preuve d’éthique en matière de protection de la vie privée, de sécurité et de marketing. L’engagement de ChallengeU auprès de ses utilisateurs consiste à offrir des services éducatifs gratuits à une clientèle vulnérable et à les rendre accessibles au plus grand nombre de raccrocheurs possible en continuant d’élargir son offre pédagogique.

Lire le communiqué de presse.


Duolingo Math est né!

L’application ludique d’apprentissage des langues a maintenant une appli complémentaire qui permet d’améliorer les capacités mathématiques : Duolingo Math. Cette nouveauté marque le premier pas de l’entreprise hors des sentiers linguistiques. Pour l’instant, l’application offre un cours conçu pour les enfants de l’école primaire ainsi qu’un volet destiné aux personnes âgées de 13 ans et plus. Duolingo en a fait l’annonce à la fin août lors de son événement annuel.


Journée du numérique en éducation – 4 novembre

La quatrième édition de la Journée du numérique en éducation se déroulera le 4 novembre prochain. Cet événement gratuit, qui se déroulera en présentiel et en virtuel, est principalement destiné aux enseignants, aux conseillers pédagogiques et aux gestionnaires des réseaux publics et privés, ainsi qu’à ceux des organisations autochtones en éducation. La programmation sera disponible dans les prochaines semaines.


Des nouvelles du RÉCIT en vrac

  • En juin dernier, lors du bilan du RÉCIT, ils ont été nombreux à partager, dans un Digipad, quelques réalisations vécues durant l’année 2021-2022. Ce Digipad est disponible à tous. N’hésitez pas à le consulter, à le commenter et à vous laisser inspirer pour l’année qui débute.
  • Créer un jeu de société en histoire est un projet qui permet de développer la pensée design parce que les élèves doivent, entre autres, élaborer le concept d’un jeu et développer un prototype. L’addition du Lab créatif au projet permet aux élèves de repousser les limites de leur créativité en créant un produit final unique avec la modélisation et l’impression de pièces 3D, la découpe au laser et la construction physique de pièces en bois. (Canevas pour la création d’un jeu sérieux et Guide de planification d’un jeu sérieux accessibles à tous).
  • Deux nouveautés du service national du RÉCIT du domaine des arts : 

Ton parcours, ta recette!

Academos souligne la rentrée scolaire avec sa campagne Ton parcours, ta recette! visant à réduire l’anxiété que les jeunes vivent face à leur choix de carrière. Au menu, un mélange d’ateliers (possibilité d’atteindre les exigences COSP), de podcast et même un concours! 

Vous avez jusqu’au 16 septembre pour participer, en réservant un atelier virtuel pour vos élèves. Ainsi, vous courez la chance de gagner de beaux équipements pour agrémenter votre retour en classe!

Tous les détails ici


Des ressources à découvrir en vrac


Valorisation de la profession enseignante – La FSE-CSQ dévoile Vie de Prof

La Fédération des syndicats de l’enseignement (FSE‑CSQ) vient d’annoncer la diffusion d’une série de capsules vidéo humoristiques portant sur le quotidien des enseignantes et enseignants du Québec, intitulée Vie de Prof.

Écrite et scénarisée par l’humoriste, comédien et animateur Pierre Hébert, la série Vie de Prof sera diffusée sur la page Facebook de la campagne de valorisation de la profession enseignante Prof, ma fierté! au cours des prochains mois. Les premiers épisodes de la série sont aussi disponibles sur la plateforme ICI TOU.TV.


En rappel : Inscription en cours : Programme Électeurs en herbe

Des élections provinciales se tiendront au Québec le 3 octobre. C’est le moment idéal pour inscrire votre école au programme Électeurs en herbe d’Élections Québec. Vous avez jusqu’au 16 septembre pour vous inscrire afin de réaliser une simulation électorale et d’initier vos élèves à l’exercice du droit de vote.

Les détails sont ici.


En terminant, les 5 conseils numériques de la rentrée.

Si vous en voulez encore plus, vous pouvez (re)voir les #Édubrèves de la semaine dernière.

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente semaine.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :