ADVERTISEMENT

The #Édubrèves - September 13, 2022 edition

Here are your #Édubrèves. In this edition: climate change and education at the heart of Quebec youth's priorities, new teacher groups to inspire you on Facebook, a podcast on feedback, resources to discover, can we outsmart algorithms, and much more!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Here are your #Ébrèves. Feel free to share them or write me if you have news to share.

In this issue: climate change and education at the heart of Quebec youth's priorities, new teacher groups to inspire you on Facebook, a podcast on feedback, resources to discover, can we outsmart algorithms, and much more!

Good reading.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this news digest is for entertainment purposes only.


Climate change and education at the heart of the priorities of Quebec youth 

The Réseau des carrefours jeunesse-emploi du Québec (RCJEQ) unveiled last week the results of its national consultation campaign, MyVoiceCountsThe survey was conducted among 5,000 Quebecers between the ages of 15 and 35. The objective of the initiative is to allow young Quebecers to express themselves and propose concrete solutions on the province's political issues based on the 17 UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

One of the key findings of this consultation is the importance that youth place on actions to combat climate change. Nearly half (48 %) of respondents believe that addressing climate change is a priority sustainable development issue, followed closely by gender equality (45 %), access to quality education (42 %), and ending poverty (41 %).

Furthermore, education is omnipresent in the consultation and is proposed many times as a solution to several sustainable development issues, such as poverty, hunger, health, environment and justice.

"It is clear that young people place a very high value on education and its impact on building a sustainable and more equal society. However, they feel that the system lacks financial and material resources, and that academic support is uncertain. According to them, a profound change is necessary to adapt to the new societal realities that call for alternative modes of education and the implementation of programs with flexible schedules," explains Rudy Humbert.

Discover the complete results by consulting the report.


CEGEP André-Laurendeau raises the profile of AI in Quebec

Last spring, nearly 550 high school students across Quebec were able to experience the basics of AI thanks to the Project dista from Cégep André-Laurendeau. A tour stopped in more than ten high schools, including five schools in the Gaspé Peninsula. The dista project allows senior high school students to learn the basics of artificial intelligence, including computer vision.

"When the young people started using the microprocessors, I saw in their eyes that we had succeeded in piquing their curiosity. It was an incredible experience, everyone was so welcoming and warm," says Robin Mailhot, a 3rd year student in Robotics Engineering at the Université Sherbrooke and scientific animator for the Dista Project. 

Read the press release.


Discover it on Facebook

A few new things to report on Facebook:

  • The Innovative Teachers Group Community of sharing (ideas, questions, materials) for teachers who want to innovate in their practice.
  • The group GEG Quebec A place to exchange, share resources and ideas, and provide professional development opportunities to support the integration of Google tools for classrooms at all levels and in all disciplines.
  • The group ICT in education (not new, but still relevant): a place for positive exchange on the use of technology in the classroom, open to all French-speaking teachers and school stakeholders.
  • The page of the new Health and Physical Education Network: The REPS is an innovative project to share resources in order to improve and diversify the professional development of health and physical education teachers.

To watch or listen to

  • A Quebec math teacher makes his mark on TikTok (greetings to Sylvain Duclos, collaborator of École branchée).
  • The episode Spotlight on Feedback In this episode of Plein Phare, the podcast where teachers from the Centre de services scolaires des Phares are featured, we focus on feedback with teachers Isabelle Tremblay and Sandra St-Pierre (as a bonus, an intervention by Laurie Couture, pedagogical advisor at École branchée!)

Resources to have on hand

  • The online platform ODIL compiles the initiatives of French-speaking actors who are mobilizing around the world to disseminate projects and solutions to fight against disinformation. Created by the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, this platform allows you to discover media and information literacy initiatives from around the world, including those of the Centre québécois éducation aux médias et à l'information (CQÉMI).
  • The Philo Lab proposes "Memory and memories".Five free cartoons, paired with five cards for reflection and discussion with children. Themes of memory, the past and memories are addressed. 
  • The interactive timeline: discover all its applications An interactive timeline includes elements or buttons that can be interacted with. People can get additional information by clicking on these interactive elements or by hovering over them with the mouse. The Genial.ly website offers several templates and ideas.

To read 

  • Pascale Thériault and Stéphane Allaire, professors in the Department of Education at the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi and members of the FRQ-SC team on research-practice partnerships in education, recently published the book "Encouraging the pleasure of writing in primary school. This collective work, which brings together some fifteen authors from different backgrounds, presents a variety of teaching/learning devices, interventions and technological tools that can contribute to the development of writing skills. 
  • Can we outsmart the algorithms? Social networks were not designed to inform, but rather to socialize, as their name indicates. Some algorithms favor the popularity and virality of a content, rather than its validity and relevance. But rest assured, there are ways to thwart algorithms. This article from the Centre québécois en éducation aux médias et à l'information explains how.
  • 7 reasons to become an entrepreneur at school "The more young people learn to measure risk, to live in a state of imbalance, and to see that they learn best in these situations, the more competent they will become at appreciating change." 

To put on the agenda

The 11e edition of the World Media and Information Literacy Week will take place from October 24 to 31 under the theme "Nurturing Trust: A Media and Information Literacy Imperative". Organized by UNESCO, the event celebrates the progress made year after year in improving media and information literacy.


The 20th edition of the My most beautiful story contest

The Fédération des syndicats de l'enseignement (FSE-CSQ), in collaboration with the Centrale des syndicats du Québec (CSQ), kicked off the 20e edition of the My most beautiful story writing contest for students in adult general education. Each year, students enrolled in a center on the territory of the FSE-CSQ are invited to write a text on a subject that inspires them. The contest is open to all educational services, including literacy and francization. At the end of a rigorous selection process, a rich collection of the 50 best texts received will be published.

New Logo - My best story (CNW Group/Fédération des syndicats de l'enseignement (FSE-CSQ))

In closing, remember that...

Spotted on the Facebook page Reiki Ingrid karro

If you want even more, you can (re)see last week's #Édubrèves.

See you soon! Don't hesitate to tag us on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so we can talk about your project/resource in an upcoming review of the week! Have a great week.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les #Édubrèves – édition du 13 septembre 2022

Voici vos #Édubrèves. Dans cette édition : les changements climatiques et l'éducation au cœur des priorités des jeunes du Québec, de nouveaux groupes d'enseignants pour vous inspirer sur Facebook, un balado sur la rétroaction, des ressources à découvrir, peut-on déjouer les algorithmes, et bien plus!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Voici vos #Édubrèves. N’hésitez pas à les partager ou à m’écrire si vous avez des nouvelles à faire circuler.

Dans cette édition : les changements climatiques et l’éducation au cœur des priorités des jeunes du Québec, de nouveaux groupes d’enseignants pour vous inspirer sur Facebook, un balado sur la rétroaction, des ressources à découvrir, peut-on déjouer les algorithmes, et bien plus!

Bonne lecture.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement.


Les changements climatiques et l’éducation au coeur des priorités des jeunes du Québec 

Le Réseau des carrefours jeunesse-emploi du Québec (RCJEQ) a dévoilé la semaine dernière les résultats de sa campagne de consultation nationale, MaVoixCompte, menée auprès de 5 000 Québécoises et Québécois âgés entre 15 et 35 ans. L’objectif de l’initiative est de permettre aux jeunes du Québec de s’exprimer et de proposer des solutions concrètes sur les enjeux politiques de la province en fonction des 17 objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU (ODD).

Un des principaux constats de cette consultation est l’importance qu’accordent les jeunes aux mesures visant à combattre les changements climatiques. Près de la moitié (48 %) des répondants estiment que la lutte contre les changements climatiques est un enjeu prioritaire en matière de développement durable, suivi de près par l’égalité entre les sexes (45 %), l’accès à l’éducation de qualité (42 %) et l’élimination de la pauvreté (41 %).

Par ailleurs, l’éducation est omniprésente dans la consultation et est proposée à de nombreuses reprises comme une solution à plusieurs enjeux de développement durable, comme celui de la pauvreté, de la faim, de la santé, de l’environnement et de la justice.

« Il est clair que les jeunes accordent une très grande importance à l’éducation et à son impact pour bâtir une société durable et plus égalitaire. Toutefois, ils estiment que le système manque de ressources financières et matérielles, et que le soutien scolaire est aléatoire. Selon eux, un changement en profondeur est nécessaire pour s’adapter aux nouvelles réalités sociétales qui commandent des modes d’enseignement alternatifs et la mise en place des programmes aux horaires flexibles », explique Rudy Humbert.

Découvrez les résultats complets en consultant le rapport.


Le cégep André-Laurendeau fait rayonner l’IA au Québec

Au printemps dernier, près de 550 jeunes du secondaire à travers le Québec ont pu expérimenter les bases de l’IA grâce au Projet dista du Cégep André-Laurendeau. Une tournée s’est arrêtée dans plus d’une dizaine d’écoles secondaires, dont cinq écoles de la péninsule gaspésienne. Le Projet dista permet aux jeunes du deuxième cycle du secondaire d’apprendre les notions de base sur l’intelligence artificielle, dont, entre autres, sur la vision par ordinateur.

« Quand les jeunes ont commencé à utiliser les microprocesseurs, j’ai vu dans leurs yeux qu’on avait réussi à piquer leur curiosité. C’était incroyable comme expérience, tout le monde était tellement accueillant et chaleureux » affirme, Robin Mailhot étudiant en 3e année en Génie robotique de l’Université Sherbrooke et animateur scientifique pour le Projet Dista. 

Lire le communiqué de presse.


À découvrir sur Facebook

Quelques nouveautés à signaler sur Facebook :

  • Le groupe Les profs innovants : Communauté de partage (idées, questions, matériel) pour les enseignants qui veulent innover dans leur pratique.
  • Le groupe GEG Québec : Un lieu d’échanges, de partages de ressources et d’idées et d’opportunités de développement professionnel afin de soutenir l’intégration des outils Google pour les classes de tous les niveaux et de toutes les disciplines.
  • Le groupe Les TIC en éducation (pas nouveau, mais toujours pertinent) : un lieu d’échange positif sur l’utilisation des technologies en classe, ouvert à tous les enseignants et intervenants scolaires francophones.
  • La page du nouveau Réseau en éducation physique et à la santé : le REPS est un projet innovant de mutualisation des ressources afin d’améliorer et de diversifier le développement professionnel des enseignants d’éducation physique et à la santé.

À regarder ou à écouter

  • Un prof de math québécois fait sa marque sur TikTok (salutations à Sylvain Duclos, collaborateur de l’École branchée).
  • L’épisode Plein Phare sur la rétroaction : Dans cet épisode de Plein Phare, le balado où les enseignantes et les enseignants du Centre de services scolaire des Phares sont à l’honneur, on met le phare sur la rétroaction avec les enseignantes Isabelle Tremblay et Sandra St-Pierre. (En prime, une intervention de Laurie Couture, conseillère pédagogique à l’École branchée!)

Des ressources à avoir sous la main

  • La plateforme en ligne ODIL compile les initiatives d’acteurs francophones qui se mobilisent à travers le monde pour diffuser des projets et des solutions pour lutter contre la désinformation. Créée par l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, cette plateforme permet de découvrir des initiatives en éducation aux médias et à l’information aux quatre coins du globle dont celles du Centre québécois éducation aux médias et à l’information (CQÉMI).
  • Le Labo philo propose « La mémoire et les souvenirs », cinq dessins animés gratuits, jumelés à cinq fiches pour réfléchir et discuter avec les enfants. Les thèmes de la mémoire, du passé et des souvenirs sont abordés. 
  • La frise chronologique interactive : découvrez toutes ses applications : Une ligne du temps interactive comprend des éléments ou des boutons avec lesquels il est possible d’interagir. Les gens peuvent obtenir des informations supplémentaires en cliquant sur ces éléments interactifs ou en les survolant avec la souris. Le site Genial.ly vous propose plusieurs modèles et idées.

À lire 

  • Pascale Thériault et Stéphane Allaire, professeurs au Département des sciences de l’éducation de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et membres de l’équipe FRQ-SC sur le partenariat recherche-pratique en éducation, ont récemment fait paraitre l’ouvrage « Susciter le plaisir d’écrire au primaire ». Cet ouvrage collectif, qui regroupe une quinzaine d’auteures et d’auteurs provenant de différents milieux, présente une variété de dispositifs d’enseignement-apprentissage, d’interventions et d’outils technologiques pouvant contribuer au plaisir dans le développement de la compétence à écrire. 
  • Peut-on déjouer les algorithmes? :  Les réseaux sociaux n’ont pas été conçus pour informer, mais plutôt pour socialiser, comme leur nom l’indique. Certains algorithmes favorisent ainsi la popularité et la viralité d’un contenu, plutôt que sa validité et sa pertinence. Mais rassurez-vous, il existe des façons de déjouer les algorithmes. Cet article du Centre québécois en éducation aux médias et à l’information vous explique comment.
  • 7 raisons pour faire de l’entrepreneuriat à l’école : «Plus les jeunes apprendront à mesurer les risques, à vivre en état de déséquilibre et à constater que c’est dans ces situations qu’ils apprennent le mieux, plus ils deviendront compétents à apprécier les changements.» 

À mettre à l’agenda

La 11e édition de la Semaine mondiale de l’éducation aux médias et à l’information aura lieu du 24 au 31 octobre prochains sous le thème « Nourrir la confiance : un impératif de l’éducation aux médias et à l’information ». Organisé par l’UNESCO, l’événement salue les progrès accomplis d’année en année pour une meilleure éducation aux médias et à l’information.


La 20e édition du concours Ma plus belle histoire

La Fédération des syndicats de l’enseignement (FSE-CSQ), en collaboration avec la Centrale des syndicats du Québec (CSQ), a donné la semaine dernière le coup d’envoi à la 20e édition du concours d’écriture Ma plus belle histoire destiné aux élèves de la formation générale des adultes. Chaque année, les élèves inscrits dans un centre sur le territoire de la FSE‑CSQ sont invités à rédiger un texte sur un sujet qui les inspire. Le concours est ouvert à tous les services d’enseignement, y compris l’alphabétisation ainsi que la francisation. Au terme d’un processus de sélection des plus rigoureux, un recueil riche des 50 meilleurs textes reçus sera publié.

Nouveau Logo – Ma plus belle histoire (Groupe CNW/Fédération des syndicats de l’enseignement (FSE-CSQ))

En terminant, rappelez-vous que…

Repéré sur la page Facebook Reiki Ingrid karro

Si vous en voulez encore plus, vous pouvez (re)voir les #Édubrèves de la semaine dernière.

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente semaine.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :