ADVERTISEMENT

Schools invited to propose innovative projects for distance education

The Quebec Ministry of Education (MEQ) invites school service centers to set up projects to continue experimentation with distance education in different contexts. Schools will be able to propose projects throughout the year.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

The Quebec Ministry of Education (MEQ) invites school service centers to set up projects to continue experimentation with distance education in different contexts. Schools will be able to propose projects throughout the year.

During the last year, distance education was exceptionally authorized by the government of Quebec due to the health emergency measures in force in the province. However, the Education Act (article 459.5.3) does not allow this in “normal” times. At the time of this writing, the emergency measures are still in effect. On the other hand, it is expected that they will be lifted by the start of the next September, since a return to class of all students is planned.

Distance education, which was already very present in college and university education, made its way into elementary and secondary schools during the pandemic. It is now a practice that some establishments may wish to continue and put in place in a more sustainable manner.

It can be particularly useful for students who have chronic health problems, who are convalescing at home for long periods, for student-athletes who must be absent from school frequently, etc. It can also allow schools to offer a variety of course choices to their students or to experiment with new collaborative teaching practices.

In order to allow school service centers that so desire to continue to offer distance training in certain contexts, the MEQ invites the submission of pilot projects. These could take place between 2021 and 2024. They could then be extended by two years.

The MEQ's call for innovative projects is accompanied by a budgetary measure (50 764) which makes it possible to finance the acquisition of the technological equipment and software necessary for the realization. Training in the use of equipment or the implementation of new practices will be covered by another budget measure already in place (15084).

The projects submitted must meet certain standards:

  • The student is at another location (sports complex, home, etc.) or in another educational institution than the teacher offering the course;
  • The education provided allows students to continue their learning at a distance and promotes their academic success;
  • The chosen teaching method has been shown to meet the needs of the participating students;
  • School personnel are actively involved in a process to document the project;
  • An annual experimentation report is sent to the MEQ;
  • The establishment itself offers distance training;
  • The express consent of school personnel and each student or parent, if applicable, must be obtained unless otherwise provided for by emergency health measures.

A measure stemming from the digital action plan (PAN)

This desire to experiment and innovate in distance training for general training for young people was already present at the MEQ before the pandemic. In fact, it is Measure 19 of the Digital education action plan - Promote the deployment of distance education in primary and secondary education. 

It is in this context that the national service of STORY in distance learning (RÉCIT FAD) was created in 2018 to support distance education in primary and secondary education (in the youth sector, in the adult sector and in vocational training).

Since February 2021, seven school service centers were already experimenting with technological equipment facilitating distance learning. Equipment has also been deployed in primary and secondary schools to enable so-called commodal education (both for students in class and at a distance). 

To find out more about the MEQ's call for projects, schools that have not already received the forms are invited to write to: projetfad@education.gouv.qc.ca 

The MEQ also held a information webinar on May 28 on pedagogical approaches in the context of distance education. 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les écoles invitées à proposer des projets innovants pour l’enseignement à distance

Le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec (MEQ) invite les centres de services scolaires à mettre en place des projets afin de poursuivre l’expérimentation de l’enseignement à distance dans différents contextes. Les établissements scolaires pourront proposer des projets tout au long de l’année.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec (MEQ) invite les centres de services scolaires à mettre en place des projets afin de poursuivre l’expérimentation de l’enseignement à distance dans différents contextes. Les établissements scolaires pourront proposer des projets tout au long de l’année.

Au cours de la dernière année, l’enseignement à distance a été exceptionnellement autorisé par le gouvernement du Québec en raison des mesures d’urgence sanitaire en vigueur dans la province. Cependant, la Loi sur l’instruction publique (article 459.5.3) ne le permet pas en temps « normal ». Au moment d’écrire ces lignes, les mesures d’urgence sont encore en vigueur. Par contre, il est prévu qu’elles soient levées d’ici la rentrée de septembre prochain, puisqu’un retour en classe de tous les élèves est prévu.

La formation à distance, qui était déjà très présente en enseignement collégial et universitaire, a fait son chemin dans les écoles primaires et secondaires pendant la pandémie. Il s’agit maintenant d’une pratique que certains établissements pourraient vouloir poursuivre et mettre en place de façon plus pérenne.

Elle peut notamment être utile pour des élèves qui ont des problèmes de santé chronique, qui sont en convalescence à la maison pour de longues périodes, pour les élèves-athlètes qui doivent s’absenter fréquemment de l’école, etc. Elle peut aussi permettre à des écoles d’offrir une diversité de choix de cours à leurs élèves ou d’expérimenter des nouvelles pratiques pédagogiques collaboratives.

Afin de permettre aux centres de services scolaires qui le désirent de continuer d’offrir de la formation à distance dans certains contextes, le MEQ invite à soumettre des projets-pilotes. Ceux-ci pourront se dérouler entre 2021 et 2024. Ils pourraient ensuite être prolongés de deux ans.

L’appel à projets innovants du MEQ s’accompagne d’une mesure budgétaire (50764) qui permet de financer l’acquisition des équipements technologiques et des logiciels nécessaires à la réalisation. La formation à l’utilisation du matériel ou à la mise en place de nouvelles pratiques sera quant à elle couverte par une autre mesure budgétaire déjà en place (la 15084).

Les projets soumis doivent répondre à certaines normes :

  • L’élève se trouve à un autre endroit (complexe sportif, domicile, etc.) ou dans un autre établissement d’enseignement que l’enseignant qui offre le cours;
  • L’enseignement prévu permet à l’élève de poursuivre ses apprentissages à distance et favorise sa réussite scolaire;
  • Il est démontré que la modalité d’enseignement choisie répond aux besoins des élèves participants;
  • Le personnel scolaire s’engage activement dans une démarche pour documenter le projet;
  • Un rapport annuel d’expérimentation est transmis au MEQ;
  • L’établissement offre lui-même la formation à distance;
  • Le consentement express du personnel scolaire et de chaque élève ou de son parent, le cas échéant, doit être obtenu à moins d’une exception prévue par les mesures d’urgence sanitaire.

Une mesure découlant du plan d’action numérique (PAN)

Cette volonté d’expérimenter et d’innover en matière de formation à distance à la formation générale des jeunes était déjà présente au MEQ avant la pandémie. De fait, il s’agit de la Mesure 19 du Plan d’action numérique en éducation – Favoriser le déploiement de la formation à distance à l’enseignement primaire et secondaire. 

C’est d’ailleurs dans ce contexte que le service national du RÉCIT en formation à distance (RÉCIT FAD) avait été créé en 2018, afin de soutenir la formation à distance à l’enseignement primaire et secondaire (au secteur des jeunes, à celui des adultes et à la formation professionnelle).

Depuis février 2021, sept centres de services scolaires expérimentaient déjà du matériel technologique facilitant l’enseignement à distance. Du matériel a aussi été déployé dans les écoles primaires et secondaires afin de permettre un enseignement dit commodal (à la fois pour des élèves en classe et à distance). 

Pour en savoir plus sur l’appel de projets du MEQ, les écoles qui n’ont pas déjà reçu les formulaires sont invitées à écrire à l’adresse : projetfad@education.gouv.qc.ca 

Le MEQ a aussi tenu un webinaire d’information le 28 mai dernier sur les approches pédagogiques en contexte d’enseignement à distance. 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Nos prochaines formations en direct