Reading for reward? Welcome to Les P'tits Bouquineurs!

Quebec - A young Montreal mother, unable to see her boys aged 8 and 9 spending their time watching TV and playing video games, imagines an exchange system: 1 minute of reading for 1 minute of TV. The concept has grown to become a social network for young people accessible on the Internet.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Quebec - A young Montreal mother, unable to watch her 8 and 9-year-old boys spend their time watching TV and playing video games, imagines an exchange system: 1 minute of reading for 1 minute of TV. The concept has grown to become a social network for young people accessible on the Internet.

By registering for free on the site www.ptits-bouquineurs.com, children can log their reading time and information about the books they read to receive bonus points, “PB”, allowing them to unlock small rewards, such as jokes, videos, mini-games. games, etc. They receive even more points if they additionally review and / or evaluate their books.

This idea won over many parents. The rewards system is very often “the necessary little help”. According to site founder Ms. Michelle Skamene, "Once the routine is set in and the kids find books they like, the rewards aren't even really necessary."

The basic concept is simple. Children connect to the site for free (www.ptits-bouquineurs.com), and write down information about their readings: when did they read, what did they read, for how long. An interface with databases Amazon makes it all easier. Parents then receive an email allowing them to validate this information. Parents can set up other rewards and thus manage their own reading programs. For example, 1 trip to the cinema for every 600 minutes of reading.

Teachers can also register and create reading groups for their classes. They can, if they wish, set goals and rewards for their students. When the kids join the group, they all share reading lists, book reviews, and more. This allows them to track their progress against goals and rewards. Excellent motivation!

The result? A fun and free social network for kids, focused on reading, which also includes great tools for teachers. This Montreal site is available in English and French.

In French: www.ptits-bouquineurs.com
In English : www.reading-rewards.com

Sources: communicated and website.

By Audrey Miller

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Lecture contre récompense? Bienvenue aux P’tits Bouquineurs!

Québec - Une jeune maman montréalaise, n’en pouvant plus de voir ses garçons âgés de 8 et 9 ans passer leur temps devant la télé et les jeux vidéos, imagine un système d’échange : 1 minute de lecture contre 1 minute de télé. Le concept a cheminé jusqu’à devenir un réseau social pour les jeunes accessibles sur Internet.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Québec – Une jeune maman montréalaise, n’en pouvant plus de voir ses garçons âgés de 8 et 9 ans passer leur temps devant la télé et les jeux vidéos, imagine un système d’échange : 1 minute de lecture contre 1 minute de télé. Le concept a cheminé jusqu’à devenir un réseau social pour les jeunes accessibles sur Internet.

En s’inscrivant gratuitement sur le site www.ptits-bouquineurs.com, les enfants peuvent consigner leur temps de lecture et de l’information sur les livres qu’ils lisent pour recevoir des points bonus, les « PB », leur permettant de débloquer des petites récompenses, comme des blagues, des vidéos, des mini-jeux, etc. Ils reçoivent encore plus de points s’ils font, en plus, des critiques et/ou évaluations de leurs livres.

Cette idée a séduit plusieurs parents. Le système de récompenses constitue bien souvent « le petit coup de pouce nécessaire ». Selon la fondatrice du site, Mme Michelle Skamene, « Une fois que la routine est bien installée et que les enfants ont trouvé des livres qui leur plaisaient, les récompenses ne sont même plus réellement nécessaires ».

Le concept de base est simple. Les enfants se connectent gratuitement au site (www.ptits-bouquineurs.com), et inscrivent des informations sur leurs lectures : quand ont-ils lu, qu’ont-ils lu, combien de temps. Une interface avec les bases de données Amazon facilite le tout. Les parents reçoivent ensuite un courriel leur permettant de valider ces informations. Les parents peuvent configurer d’autres récompenses et gérer ainsi leurs propres programmes de lecture. Par exemple, 1 sortie au cinéma pour chaque 600 minutes de lecture.

Les enseignants peuvent aussi s’inscrire et créer des groupes de lecture pour leurs classes. Ils peuvent, s’ils le désirent, établir des objectifs et récompenses pour leurs élèves. Quand les jeunes se joignent au groupe, ils partagent tous des listes de lecture, évaluations de livres, et plus. Ils peuvent ainsi suivre leurs progrès par rapport aux objectifs et récompenses. Une excellente motivation!

Le résultat? Un réseau social amusant et gratuit pour enfants, centré sur la lecture, qui comprend aussi des outils intéressants pour les enseignants. Ce site montréalais est disponible en anglais et en français.

En français : www.ptits-bouquineurs.com
En anglais : www.reading-rewards.com

Sources : communiqué et site Web.

Par Audrey Miller

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :